vade

Carpenter To Recommend?

I'm looking for a carpenter to do some simple carpentry work in my house. Any good and reliable carpenter to recommend? Thanks.

[interested can directly deal with carpentry, Mr.Lau from Metal & Wood General Contractor, (9742 5965)....

eventhough it's a minor job..i believe that Mr.Lau will be able to meet your requirements...he is doing the carpentry works, quite experience as well..can drop by at his workplace at NorthLink,,,

I have recently renovated my house. Quite like my carpentry work done. My carpenter is not a ID, design wise you have to tell him specifically. However, the workmanship is good. He is patient and accomodative. In terms of the charges, I find it very cheap. My sister after seeing my house also decide to let him do. You may call Mr Kok @ 97680883 or Perlyn @ 90080883. Just tell them is recommended by Mr Tan.

I'm new here. Just like to find out how to examine the quality of the carpentry woods? Cos Ive been to Zhi seng and their sample ply wood is very light compared to others. And they said this kind of wood is more expensive, better and durable than those normal plywood. Just wonder how true is it. Cos it seems like those cheaper kind of wood to me though.

Hi tplittey

can i know if u only engage Mr Kok for your carpentary work? How abt the rest of the reno? Cos i'm looking at ala carte my reno works.

Thanks ya!

• Sad 1

Dear Cherie,

Yes, I only engage him to do the carpentry work. I have a friend who is a developer, he went to my house last weekend. He also think that the carpentry work is well done and very cheap.

My sister has also engaged Mr Kok to renovation her house including knocking down the wall and hacker of floors and much more.

She will starts the renovation on 13th Nov. I was told the quote was very good.

Hi Blursss, I have not taken any photo so far as I have not shifted in yet. For wardrobe, I think they are charging S$ 190 to S$195 per sq ft. It might not be the lowest but in terms of the workmanship and quality, I think is good lor. The door is 18mm thick one and not those 12mm thick. They allow you to choose any laminate. What is more important, there is no hidden cost. For mine case, they even do extra for me like clearing my unwanted wardrobe, hang pictures etc etc.

Wow, there are many carpenter here !

Hi Wei_renovation,

I think what you are trying to imply is that I am a carpenter ???

Too bad, I am not. I have been benefited from this forum when doing my renovation work. I have gotten a contact for curtain from Malaysia and have a saving of about S$2000+. I have also managed to get a lower price for my lighting after comparing what was posted in the forum.

My carpenter was recommended by someone. In fact, I have received 4 quotes ranging from S$30,000 to S$60,000. After using them, I am very happy. So in returns, I posted their contacts on the forum and hope that someone can benefit from there.

You can choose not to believe me as I have nothing to loose. By the way, this is the design of my staircase. As the ceiling height is too high, I don't know how to take a good picture.

stairdt2.jpg

Edited by tplittey

Hi Wei_renovation,

I think what you are trying to imply is that I am a carpenter ???

Too bad, I am not. I have been benefited from this forum when doing my renovation work. I have gotten a contact for curtain from Malaysia and have a saving of about S$2000+. I have also managed to get a lower price for my lighting after comparing what was posted in the forum.

My carpenter was recommended by someone. In fact, I have received 4 quotes ranging from S$30,000 to S$60,000. After using them, I am very happy. So in returns, I posted their contacts on the forum and hope that someone can benefit from there.

You can choose not to believe me as I have nothing to loose. By the way, this is the design of my staircase. As the ceiling height is too high, I don't know how to take a good picture.

stairdt2.jpg

Hi mind share with me the quotes n the contacts thanks.

Hi Simpleguy80,

My carpenter is Mr Kok @ 97680883 or Perlyn @ 90080883.

For wardrobe, he is charging me S$195 per sq ft.

For this staircase, he is charging me around S$4000.

There are many other items like study room tables and cabinet, kitchen cabinet, pantry area etc which is hard to tell you.

Wow, so many 'Newbies' forumers used Mr Kok or Perlyn hor...

I've seen many new posts by those new RenoTalk members recommending this 2 carpenters leh...

So AMAZING leh...

Wow, so many 'Newbies' forumers used Mr Kok or Perlyn hor...

I've seen many new posts by those new RenoTalk members recommending this 2 carpenters leh...

So AMAZING leh...

Are they specialise in Kitchen cabinets as well? I need a quote for Kitchen cabinets and wardrobe as well but on tight budget. Heard that is better if i go direct eg. Seng Kwong who is specialise in Carpentry rather then going thru other contractor which will also later sub out to other carpenter right?

I quite like the German Innotech system on the hinges they provided which is anti slam but i know many others also offer that right?

Is Seng Kwong reputation good? Appreciate any comments and do you also have other recommendation or alternative for me to compare?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.