noobhouse

Is My Kitchen Quote Expensive?

hi all, I went to get a quote today for kitchen cabinet. pls help me see if I kena carrot head?

floorplan of house in this link

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tempvault/4588887947/

1. to supply & install kitchen cabinet top & bottom, L shape, 51 ft, $4,998

[51 ft seems a bit funny cause 1 of u gave me a sample of yr quote it's only 30.5ft leh & yr kitchen is U shape somemore]

2. as above but only 1 instead of 2 top cabinet, L shape, 39.5ft, $3,871

3. to supply & install kitchen solid surface work top, 24.5ft $1,715

4. to supply & install kitchen sink inlet & outlet stainless steel pipe $150

5. to construct kitchen cabinet base top cement surface side $350

6. backsplash at hob area, stainless steel/tampered glass, $250 *optional

7. to install bathroom/kitchen accessories $30 each set

8. cleaning of whole house (normal not chemical) $150 *optional

the blum like device to close slowly is FOC included inside.

e uncle also commented stainless steel sinks better than granite as granite sink are thinner & easier to get damage as thinner & over time they get rougher. :bow:

i called up the same guy. he say it's only estimation & floorplan & actual will vary, but if not right he'll requote. I went to another coy just for a quote, this is a blacklisted coy but i just want to take their pricing & measurement. does this look more reasonable? but why each coy measure differently??

1. Fabricate 39ft (top & bottom) casement door cabinet $3,900

2. supply labour to install 19.5 ft solid top $1,560

3. cabinet base $150

4. washer base $130

5. 3 ft stainless steel backing $180

6. 3 ft tempered glass backing $280

7. acid wash for whole house $190 :o

i called up the same guy. he say it's only estimation & floorplan & actual will vary, but if not right he'll requote. I went to another coy just for a quote, this is a blacklisted coy but i just want to take their pricing & measurement. does this look more reasonable? but why each coy measure differently??

1. Fabricate 39ft (top & bottom) casement door cabinet $3,900

2. supply labour to install 19.5 ft solid top $1,560

3. cabinet base $150

4. washer base $130

5. 3 ft stainless steel backing $180

6. 3 ft tempered glass backing $280

7. acid wash for whole house $190

:o

Why do you need base for cabinet or washing machine ?

Will you really splash water big time to wash kitchen floor?

If not, ask the carpenter to sit the bottom run cabinets on legs and create piece of laminated wood to clip on each leg - you save $150 + $130.

I was also quoted $180 for 3 feet stainless steel backing. $180 also for glass.

Only disadvantage is that glass is thicker at the side as it has to be first mounted on wood.

My acid wash is free....which I am sure it's hidden somewhere already.

For my kitchen:

I do not intend to have top run cabinets on the left side of my kitchen.

For bottom run, I was quoted $90 pfr.

I have 11 feet, with a total of 8 deep drawers (4 top, 4 bottom), no casement.

They will come with fully extendable drawer track but they are wooden drawers, not the BLUM system which I am ok with.

Another contractor wanted to charge me $1300 as I wanted only drawers.

But this contractor did not charge extra on his pfr even after learning I only wanted drawers.

I have a 2 feet tall cabinet on my right side of the kitchen. I was quoted $450.

Then I asked for the tall cabinet to come with 4 wooden pull-out trays inbuilt so that I do not spend money to buy stainless steel trays :P

No extra charge for that. :)

I also will have a 4 feet mobile island to increase my work space as I do not intend to store my microwave convection oven, rice cooker, kettle, etc into the tall cabinet.

Mobile because it will come with 2 stoppable wheels and 2 free wheels.

I can also bring this to the living room if I have guests to put food and drinks.

It comes with a glass top.

I was quoted $380.

Edited by strawberry8

Why do you need base for cabinet or washing machine ?

Will you really splash water big time to wash kitchen floor?

If not, ask the carpenter to sit the bottom run cabinets on legs and create piece of laminated wood to clip on each leg - you save $150 + $130.

I was also quoted $180 for 3 feet stainless steel backing. $180 also for glass.

Only disadvantage is that glass is thicker at the side as it has to be first mounted on wood.

My acid wash is free....which I am sure it's hidden somewhere already.

For my kitchen:

I do not intend to have top run cabinets on the left side of my kitchen.

For bottom run, I was quoted $90 pfr.

I have 11 feet, with a total of 8 deep drawers (4 top, 4 bottom), no casement.

They will come with fully extendable drawer track but they are wooden drawers, not the BLUM system which I am ok with.

Another contractor wanted to charge me $1300 as I wanted only drawers.

But this contractor did not charge extra on his pfr even after learning I only wanted drawers.

I have a 2 feet tall cabinet on my right side of the kitchen. I was quoted $450.

Then I asked for the tall cabinet to come with 4 wooden pull-out trays inbuilt so that I do not spend money to buy stainless steel trays :P

No extra charge for that. :)

I also will have a 4 feet mobile island to increase my work space as I do not intend to store my microwave convection oven, rice cooker, kettle, etc into the tall cabinet.

Mobile because it will come with 2 stoppable wheels and 2 free wheels.

I can also bring this to the living room if I have guests to put food and drinks.

It comes with a glass top.

I was quoted $380.

dun intend to have fridge base, but washing machine in service yard & just concern if water splash in during rain or when machine discharge water during washing will corrode it? Unsure actually if I should make base. hmm yr mobile island concept quite unique leh, but if let say u dun use it it just sit in kitchen? won't spoil e tiles? glass top is tampered? sorry er u've any pic to see? :bow:

The mobile will be holding my rice cooker, kettle.

Got wheels so wont spoil floor tiles.

Glass top need not be tampered ba ?

I dont know how to insert a file here....

Essentially the mobile is a small letter n written in a squarish way (cross-section).

It has no drawers or shelves. just a clean letter 'n'.