clockwork

Affordable Switches

My husband got these light switches at kelantan lane.

I've always thought these switches are expensive, like ard $15 each.

So was rather surprised that they are actually really cheap ! :bangwall:

Address is Joo Hong Electrical trading Co.

Blk 29, kelantan Rd,#01-113 Tel : 62972115

copyoffluorescence6ko9yg8.jpg

My husband got these light switches at kelantan lane.

I've always thought these switches are expensive, like ard $15 each.

So was rather surprised that they are actually really cheap ! :notti:

Address is Joo Hong Electrical trading Co.

Blk 29, kelantan Rd,#01-113 Tel : 62972115

copyoffluorescence6ko9yg8.jpg

do you know what material are they ??? and is it in matt finished?

If staying north, can try this light shop along Sembawang Road, 'Tuas Hardware Kaxxxx', beside the under renovation Sembawang Shopping Center. . This shop I bought my lights from also selling this type of big rocker switches, brand is 'Hager' if I remember correctly. Price is about the same $4.50 - $5 for those simple ones. For those 3 gang 2 way can't remember the price. Plus the SA say buy more she gives better rate. :P

Are thsse switches certified by PSB ? If yes, then cheap lor..

Yup, They're all certified by PSB

As for material, I think its PLASTIC RESIN.

And It's semi-matt finish.

They have switces in stainless steel as well

Not too sure about the cost tho !

Edited by clockwork

Wow, I'm interested. However, you think it is easy to DIY to change?

Is all the size standard ones to fit most HDB?

Wow, I'm interested. However, you think it is easy to DIY to change?

Is all the size standard ones to fit most HDB?

To just change the plate is easy if you know a little of electric stuff, ie. ensure the wire goes back to the same connection point on the new face plate, especially those two way lighting switch.

VERY IMPORTANT!!! Make sure you OFF the main electrical supply to your house before doing for your own safety. If not sure, better get someone else to help as electricity can KILL....

As for the size, there are small and big, just measure your existing switch plate and get the right size.

Edited by Brainstorm

alright, sounds simple. Should be able to manage it. Better still, get my hubby to standby in case I get electrocuted.....heheheh :(

alright, sounds simple. Should be able to manage it. Better still, get my hubby to standby in case I get electrocuted.....heheheh :jawdrop:

hee hee...

Wear rubber gloves so you won't get electrocuted ! :good:

Better to be safe then sorry !!

As for me, my hubby's a technical officer, he re-wired the whole hse himself.

I just stand and watch :jammin:

ummm the first one below got a little red plastic

does it mean when we switch off the light the red thing will glow?

went down to check out several shops

found that Legrand is selling the one gang at $4.5

how come got so many different prices?

really dun understand how this works :P

maybe i should just get my contractor to get for me...

ummm the first one below got a little red plastic

does it mean when we switch off the light the red thing will glow?

went down to check out several shops

found that Legrand is selling the one gang at $4.5

how come got so many different prices?

really dun understand how this works :P

maybe i should just get my contractor to get for me...

Its for the water heater, when you on, the red light glow. Its to remind you to off it after you bath....

Looks like most brands are selling around the same price starting from 1 gang at $4.50....

ohhh i see, really blur leh

this is one part that i didn't do any research at all

so how, should i ask my contractor to get for me or get myself?

how about the brand? which one is good?

Not sure which brand better, just choose the best design and cheap one will do. He He.

If you really not very sure, just check the price and get your contractor to quote you for the job. Safer this way. If too ex, tell him the material price you get and he earn so much!! Better lower his price. !!