Latio25

Helps & Advises Sincerely Appreciated...thks.

To all bro and sis, :help::help::help:

i have just purchase a unit at Punggol central Blk 165B, about 95spm. Kind of small but me and Wife love it. Having a headache :dancingqueen: in whether to engage a ID or just go out and find contractor of different field.

I need to change/ build:

1) 1 x new glass door for the toilet's door not the bathing door for MBR.

2) 2 x toilet bowl,

3) 2 x the basin and cabinet below the basin.

4) 2 x new shower head,

5) shoe cabinet. floor to ceiling.

6) existing kitchen change the whole cabinet and new kitchen basin.

7) currently got a folding door for the kitchen, want to change to glass one.

8) MBR, cabinet to change the colour of the door, new "SKIN"

9) 2nd bedroom, new cabinet.

10) new bench cum storage below by the living room.

11) new design back board for the living room wall.

12) new tv console.

13 shelf by the living room floor to ceiling.

14) dressing table for wife.

15) 2 x ceiling fan

16) window grill for all window.

Thats the things i need to do, pls give me some advise on ID or contractor... I am able and had already locate some nice design from the mag. and through this site. I ahd some contacts in carpentry, false ceiling, painting, electric. thats all. how?

2ndly, My whole hse is Parquet flooring and it is 5yrs old. well maintain and very nice colour, thickness is abt 3", owner claim it is the 2nd best grading off the European one. The whole hse is Parquet flooring expect both toilet and kitchen and store. Do advise, if it is good to leave it and live on with it or should i change it, actually both of us like modern concept and we dunno whether the parquet will make it look abit off. And at the same time we felt that the flooring look nice as well.... Do share some thoughts, especially for owners that currently owns it...

Much appreciate for any comments, Sincerely thank you.

Regards

Alvin

There is 3 ways you can do it:

1) Get IDs bao everything

2) Get ID do design only and use your own contractors

3) Do your own design, explain and draw for contractors to execute.

Still I would recommend you visit some IDs first and study a bit more about the design you want before you decide.

Let me know, if you need the rest of the suppliers/contractors contacts for option 3.

Edited by rendell

My house has parquet in 3 rooms, and timber strips in the living. It feels nice because the floor never feels cold. It also has a vey warm and cosy look. Will clash with ultra modern looks using a lot of gloss, metal and glass. Parquet tend to lend itself to a more natural environment look. Because of the heavy colour on the floor, if you are using wood finish on your furniture, you have to be careful what colours you choose to blend/contrast well with the parquet flooring. Also, because parquet has quite a distinct design, it can look very busy if you have a lot of small pieces of furniture siting around on the floor. My living area had just 1 sofa set & 1 TV cabinet. Recently, I added a small dark wood coffee table. Immediately, the space looked very cramped. I'm sure it would have looked fine if it was white tiled floor.

Many people use laminates instead of tiles these days to achieve a wood flooring look, and what you have is far better than laminates, so why waste it? But parquet needs care. Place carpets & rugs over high traffic areas, never drag furniture on the floor. Keep the floor dry at all times. Use special cleaners and wood conditioners to maintain the wood. It is far more work than laminates or tiles.

However, parquet in the dining area seems a little odd, because dining areas are high traffic area, and generally require more cleaning.

2ndly, My whole hse is Parquet flooring and it is 5yrs old. well maintain and very nice colour, thickness is abt 3", owner claim it is the 2nd best grading off the European one. The whole hse is Parquet flooring expect both toilet and kitchen and store. Do advise, if it is good to leave it and live on with it or should i change it, actually both of us like modern concept and we dunno whether the parquet will make it look abit off. And at the same time we felt that the flooring look nice as well.... Do share some thoughts, especially for owners that currently owns it...

Much appreciate for any comments, Sincerely thank you.

Regards

Alvin

If you are considering refurbishment (restoration) of your current parquet flooring, I can provide recommendation which you can save some money by working directly with the wood flooring specialist (reduce middle man markup).

If you are interest, you can email me at alfred.cheong@live.com

My house has parquet in 3 rooms, and timber strips in the living. It feels nice because the floor never feels cold. It also has a vey warm and cosy look. Will clash with ultra modern looks using a lot of gloss, metal and glass. Parquet tend to lend itself to a more natural environment look. Because of the heavy colour on the floor, if you are using wood finish on your furniture, you have to be careful what colours you choose to blend/contrast well with the parquet flooring. Also, because parquet has quite a distinct design, it can look very busy if you have a lot of small pieces of furniture siting around on the floor. My living area had just 1 sofa set & 1 TV cabinet. Recently, I added a small dark wood coffee table. Immediately, the space looked very cramped. I'm sure it would have looked fine if it was white tiled floor.

Many people use laminates instead of tiles these days to achieve a wood flooring look, and what you have is far better than laminates, so why waste it? But parquet needs care. Place carpets & rugs over high traffic areas, never drag furniture on the floor. Keep the floor dry at all times. Use special cleaners and wood conditioners to maintain the wood. It is far more work than laminates or tiles.

However, parquet in the dining area seems a little odd, because dining areas are high traffic area, and generally require more cleaning.

Hi Asianms, thk you so muck for your advise, sincerely appreciate your knowledge pass on. Because of my whole living area and the dinning area are kind of small and they are side by side each other, that is why i have never though of removing the parquet at the dinning area. And i will definitely take extra care when choosing my additional furniture. Then may i know wht have you done o your coffee table... dun tell me you throw liao.

My coffee table quite cute, is this model, but two-seater. coffeetable_bench.jpg

Need to keep it to provide more seating when I have frens over. So boh-bian, keep lor.

My wooden living space DSCF0894.jpg

Dining space with ceramic tiles DSCF0906.jpg

Wha... asianms, your hse very similar to wht i have man... expect the lay out of the hse and the size too. i mean the colour combination and flooring. having big time headache currently.

1. Father in law is a retire Carpenter, knows how to do all the furniture. But i scare, what if the end product is not nice and need to change this and that might just offend him and later he angry then KPKB... i sure die one... No doubt it will definitely help me save up about 20 - 30%. Kitchen, rooms wardrobe x 2, toilet cabinet. living room fixture wall... all these will come up with some saving form my in law... but the problems... dunno worth it or not...

2. If those things done by my in law then the rest such as toilet bowl and basin and common toilet wall tile, ceiling fan... Some of these stuff he dunno how to do want... then whom should i look for?

Thank you.Hope that you can give me some advise.

Regards

Alvin

tricky when doing bizness w relatives :P

carpentry is v high cost, so good if u can save some $ there. But if u really scared, then get a reno contractor who can 'bao ka liao', and tell your father-in-law u r getting a good deal for it. but if u go through the number of blogs describing disatisfactory work, u may not find that a good idea either.

you can get individual contractors in to do separate jobs if you have the time to jaga and coordinate. You look like you need someone to do bathrooms & kitchen, carpentry, grills, and an electrician. Possibly, a painter? that's not a lot. You don't need an ID, cut out the middleman cost. Why don u start a blog in the renoblog forum, can get lots of advice there.

My reno shifu can do electrical & painting; he's a jack of all trades, but no quality control, so must be quite chin-chye type to accept his work quality. Can giv u his contact if u want.

I ddn't have a lot of prob w colour & furnishing, cos I don't go for hi-gloss/metalic/glass look anyway. Most of the furniture are existing stuff that I brought over from previous home. With wood, you either go for a more tropical look, or a clean spartan look.