louis

Inverter Or Non Inverter Aircon

jus bot a 4rm resale flat, planning to get aircon but dnt knw system 3 inverter or non inverter better? currently, only staying in my wife thus most of the time only will turn on MBR aircon, guestrooms should be occasionally turn on if there is visitors. In my case, inverter or non inverter? read a article of the inverter, so sibei confused?

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/S...0422-61154.html

So in my case, most of the time i only turning on my MBR that is only partial load so does it mean it will be better to buy a inverter aircon considering the nature of the non inverter aircon?

It better to get a inverter air-con in the long run as it save electricity. Even though it cost more. Which brand u getting ? Have to go to the shops to ask for the prices ?

jus bot a 4rm resale flat, planning to get aircon but dnt knw system 3 inverter or non inverter better? currently, only staying in my wife thus most of the time only will turn on MBR aircon, guestrooms should be occasionally turn on if there is visitors. In my case, inverter or non inverter? read a article of the inverter, so sibei confused?

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/S...0422-61154.html

So in my case, most of the time i only turning on my MBR that is only partial load so does it mean it will be better to buy a inverter aircon considering the nature of the non inverter aircon?

It better to get a inverter air-con in the long run as it save electricity. Even though it cost more. Which brand u getting ? Have to go to the shops to ask for the prices ?

afterall, most of the contractor is suggesting non inverterer after hearing their explanation it sounds logical..thus i going with non inverter...I bot the panasonic CS20EKH, older model but nicer...

never get an inverter, the savings in electricity will take you yrs to just break even.

Assuming u use $50 worth of air con every month and assuming it saves like 30% electricity so it is $15 saved every month.

But the inverter cost nearly $1.5k more than non inverter model! it will take u 100 months = 8.3 yrs to just break even the extra cost for inverter model!

100month is assuming u use air con every day of the yr!

but can the air con survive 8.3 yrs if u use it everyday???

Wan to be smart never buy inverter air con, unless u buy into quieter reasoning but to me my non inverter toshiba is very quiet already. Sales person will also push to u what make him most margin. :D

never get an inverter, the savings in electricity will take you yrs to just break even.

Assuming u use $50 worth of air con every month and assuming it saves like 30% electricity so it is $15 saved every month.

But the inverter cost nearly $1.5k more than non inverter model! it will take u 100 months = 8.3 yrs to just break even the extra cost for inverter model!

Wan to be smart never buy inverter air con, unless u buy into quieter reasoning but to me my non inverter toshiba is very quiet already. Sales person will also push to u what make him most margin. :D

Unless you are like me who on my living room aircon frequently on Sat and Sun, 10-12 hours..LOL! I feel non invertors are ok if you dont on them frequently.

wow, not until 1.5K extra, maybe about 800-900 lah..

dont scare people leh

wow, not until 1.5K extra, maybe about 800-900 lah..

dont scare people leh

even at $900, if u save $15 a month from $50 of air con usage a illustrated above, u will still need 5 yrs to break even the extra cost!

i am sure there are months of the yr where u dun on the aircon like now. so it will take u even longer to break even.

This is the take from the aircon guy whom I'm engaging to install my aircon.

From his experience, the compressors and circuit boards for inverter aircons spoils more easily than non-inverters. The reason he gave was that the very feature of inverter aircons make it work harder than non-inverter compressors. As a result, inverter aircon compressor and circuit boards will likely work twice as hard as non-inverters, if not more.

He added that he is not dissuading me from getting inverter aircons, but just that he has seen a lot more failures with invertor aircons. He says it is a gamble, if you are lucky to get a "good" unit, it won't spoil so easily, but more likely than not the opposite is the case.

So on top of the long period before you recoup the extra spent on inverter aircons, you might also have to contend with the high maintenance cost after the parts warranty runs out.

From his experience, the compressors and circuit boards for inverter aircons spoils more easily than non-inverters. The reason he gave was that the very feature of inverter aircons make it work harder than non-inverter compressors. As a result, inverter aircon compressor and circuit boards will likely work twice as hard as non-inverters, if not more.

He added that he is not dissuading me from getting inverter aircons, but just that he has seen a lot more failures with invertor aircons. He says it is a gamble, if you are lucky to get a "good" unit, it won't spoil so easily, but more likely than not the opposite is the case.

So on top of the long period before you recoup the extra spent on inverter aircons, you might also have to contend with the high maintenance cost after the parts warranty runs out.

This is the first time I heard such thing. I have spoken to many air-con specialists and sales persons but no one mentioned this problem before. I will ask the person if I encountered such question. I will ask him what if the inverter air-con has no problem for 10 years, how much is my savings?? If I get a non-inverter air-con and unluckily to get a "bad" unit, my loss will be worse? Cos I have to repair the unit and in the long run, incur higher electrical costs?? Better to seek more opinions..

even at $900, if u save $15 a month from $50 of air con usage a illustrated above, u will still need 5 yrs to break even the extra cost!

i am sure there are months of the yr where u dun on the aircon like now. so it will take u even longer to break even.

Based on $50 elect. cost, you can use about 2 hrs a night if you are using non-inverter. But if you use the inverter air-con, you can use it for about 5 hours a night . I have 2 friends with 1 using non inverter and the other using inverter. The one using non-inverter dare not consume the air-con and use for another 3 hrs a night. However the other using inverter use for the whole night and sometimes she will on the air-con in the living room in the day time. At the end of the month, the one using the inverter is slightly higher tthan the other like about $20-$30. If I am not wrong, when you use the inverter, only part of the compressor is working unlike non-inverter 100% of the compressor is working regardless how many air-con is switched on.

imo, the choice between inverter and non inverter is not so much about $ savings but about my personal carbon footprint in general. if the price difference is not overly ridiculous, i will go for the energy saving option

This is the most ridiculous nonsense I heard before. The older inverter may have more problems bec they were new 5-6yrs ago.

Anyway use inverter, it saves u more money from fridge to aircon. I have Mitsubishi and I must say it is a very well design unit. The compressor just hums as it will run in very light load when the room is cooled. As for the Pany, I had experience it in my previous house and it roars non stop till morning.... the compressor runs under heavy load all the way...

Unless really on budget don't save that few hundred.... esp for those who need to turn on aircon every now and then for a few rooms. My bill drop from $500 to $250+...... after I change fridge and aircon to inverter....

Edited by voxy