redbottle

Concrete Wall For Bottom Cabinet

first, i'm not talking abt the 5cm thick cement base, but concrete walls abt the height of the bottom cabinet...

while visiting a flat under renovation, i noticed that the workers had built a few concrete walls first before putting in the cabinet carpentry and the worktop... the concrete walls will sort-of support the base cabinet and kitchen sink...

is this the usual procedure???

hmm is that a concrete sink support you are talking about?

something like this?

IMG_1707.jpg

hi applefreak!

yes, exactly!:jawdrop::deal:

so it support the sink?? can the concrete thing be done for undermounting of sink??

izzit the usual procedure??? or do i have to state clearly in the quotation that i want this thing???

thanks!:P:help:

Edited by redbottle

just have to let them know you want a concrete sink support

with the sink undermounted

of course your sink must be those that can be undermounted lah

the salesperson can enlighten you on this

more pix

undermounted sink without countertop

IMG_1775.jpg

finished product

IMG_0003-4.jpg

My opinion hor ...

Concrete sink support makes a kitchen adopt a old school look. It's a question of theme. But if the household got a zhu cha chef, then no choice. Normal wooden cabinet cannot tahan the chopper and running tap lifestyle.

But I wish to add that the base of the concrete support, should ideally be set in about 200mm, cos when a person stands in front of the sink, waist touching the sink.. normally the toes protrudes into the sink underneath, so the 200mm addresses this issue. If dun have.. then is like a leaning forward kind of standing position.

Hm.. set in by 8inches to the base..

Never thought of that, so that is why my helper always end up getting

wet on her T shirt near her waist, cos she have to lean against it.

But, in that case, the door would have to be set in too, right.

So, its like "boh swee" leh.

Well.. casement door dun have to touch the base mah.

Leave a gap between the base and the door also good for ventilation.

If use aluminium sliding then got problem lor. Also.. aluminium door will face another problem.. if set in too big.. then the top track will also hit the bottom of the sink bowl.

Well.. casement door dun have to touch the base mah.

Leave a gap between the base and the door also good for ventilation.

If use aluminium sliding then got problem lor. Also.. aluminium door will face another problem.. if set in too big.. then the top track will also hit the bottom of the sink bowl.

So des ne, Got the picture! Thats why I see some of those new lower cabinets

are mount set up to like 1 feet up, with wooden base (no concrete base)

Hi bullet,

Perhaps if you are planning for water purifing system, may wanna cater that

before completing the cabinet.

just have to let them know you want a concrete sink support

with the sink undermounted

of course your sink must be those that can be undermounted lah

the salesperson can enlighten you on this

more pix

undermounted sink without countertop

IMG_1775.jpg

finished product

IMG_0003-4.jpg

the salesman at Sim Siang Choon says even sinks meant for overmounting can be undermounted... just tell the contractor and the contractor will know what to do... overmounted sinks got more varieties... undermounted sink only a few choices...

i see that u're using a square base sink... must be v exp rite?? :)

hi redbottle, not ALL sinks can be undermounted

though most of those in singapore can :)

like my dream sink cannot undermount loh, but it's really nice

too bad WAY out of my budget

my sink is a composite sink, composing of at least 80% granite

it's blanco metra9, retailing at $399 permanently at Ho Kee

so dun get suckered by the 'today-only' sales talk :deal:

as for setting in the 200mm

guess didn't do it due to

1. dun think it'll look nice coz me not doing door

2. me will still need to bend coz the sink is set at a 'standard' height, currently i sit on a chair to use the sink area :)

I prefer this sink and stove support.

THis is the point I did not miss when telling the contractor.

Cos' I dont know whether the cabinet can withstand it for at least 10 over years or not.

So, it is better to have concrete support.

How you think?

i prefer concrete support coz heard of problems with smell when the sink is mounted on a wooden cabinet

also, not sure if the wooden cabinet can withstand the combined weight of the sink and the cutting in the long run :sport-smiley-004:

i prefer concrete support coz heard of problems with smell when the sink is mounted on a wooden cabinet

also, not sure if the wooden cabinet can withstand the combined weight of the sink and the cutting in the long run :dunno:

hahahah...if APPLE use to chop chicken and meat....chop chop chop!!!!

Actually I also scare that it might give way in long run....

hehehe, i like to cook so sometimes will buy ribs and whole duck

or mince the meat myself coz it just taste better

sure got to chop lah, somemore use two chopper kind of chop !! :dunno:

hehehe, i like to cook so sometimes will buy ribs and whole duck

or mince the meat myself coz it just taste better

sure got to chop lah, somemore use two chopper kind of chop :D;)

wow, use 2 chopper!:lol:

Then I think only solution is to chop it on the floor!:lol:

You know, sometimes, working stressful, use meat as a punching bag and 2 chopper, and chop chop chop chop with all your strength.......suddently cabinet give way. hahahahaha

Ok sorry for the joke.

Personally I feel safe to have sink and stove support.

But dont know whether it cost extra to built those concrete stand.