mint

Short Circuit - How?

i got my ID to wire and install all lightning pts in my living room, master bed room, and dining area, and afterthat do false ceiling.

strangely, after the false ceiling is up, and they install all the lights n switches, when i turn on all the lights in my home (means i turn on all the living room, and dining room lights), and if i further on my master bedroom lights, short circuit happens..! the circuit breaker will break!

what does this mean?

is it the electricain short-ct and never do a proper job? i think so.. i think he is lazy, and probably link too mnay wires to one pt, that's why too much power, so circuit will break, is it? im not too sure.. any one can advise?

how to rectify this problem?

When short circuit what happened?

The ELCB (the one with the push test button) trip?

One of the small MCB (row of small switches) trip? If yes, what is the number on it? how many amps (A)?

Did the MCB box feel hot?

It's the small MCB - the first one trip. But I din rem to see the no. on it. Not sure if its hot.. I need to check again.

So what does this mean??

Meanwhile, I go and see again..

Edited by mint

Small one simply means overload.

There are many ratings, 9A, 20A, 32A etc.

Normally for lighting is 9A, while AC is normally 20A or 32A.

This MCB is sized according to the wiring from the MCB to the load, and is suppose to trip before the wire actually overloads and becomes hot and melt and fire.

If that trips.. sometimes.. the electrician will simply change to a higher rating. But it means the wires may not be sufficiently protected against overloading lor.

Think u need to calculate what is the total load for that circuit. Simply add up all the watts for that circuit and divide by 230V.. shd give u the ampre. If lighting circuit trip MCB.. u must have a very bright home or the wire/MCB is about to fail liao.

I did not see 9A. Instead I see 9B, and the other buttons are 20B, and 32B.

Brand is Hager

OK, lets count..

Living & Dining 18w x 2 x 12 = 432W

Living - 12 PLL x 40W = 480W

Dining Hanging Light - Not yet installed (5 halogen)

Foyer 13w x2 x3 = 78W

MBR 18W x2 + 13w x2 x 6 = 192W

Total : 1182W + possible W for dining hanging light = assume 1,400

So is it 1,400W/230v = 6A (sounds ok what - its below 9A?)

My ID says no need to rewire.. he say maybe change the bulbs, cos the bulb too high w, must check first..

I did not see 9A. Instead I see 9B, and the other buttons are 20B, and 32B.

Brand is Hager

OK, lets count..

Living & Dining 18w x 2 x 12 = 432W

Living - 12 PLL x 40W = 480W

Dining Hanging Light - Not yet installed (5 halogen)

Foyer 13w x2 x3 = 78W

MBR 18W x2 + 13w x2 x 6 = 192W

Total : 1182W + possible W for dining hanging light = assume 1,400

So is it 1,400W/230v = 6A (sounds ok what - its below 9A?)

My ID says no need to rewire.. he say maybe change the bulbs, cos the bulb too high w, must check first..

think should aviod such IDs.... where got such explanation as change bulbs one?????

wiring not done properly, the grounding.

I agree with you. Suay lor.. Sianzz.

I dunno what reasons/ excuses he will use.

By the way, is patching up false ceiling (a whole of 5-8cm) a big problem? If patched already, will it be nice or ugly?

My ID forgot to shift my cable, and in the end, I need to break a hole in the false ceiling to shift the cable.

think should aviod such IDs.... where got such explanation as change bulbs one?????

wiring not done properly, the grounding.

Eh... I also think so, where got bulb problem.

Had one of these standing lamps ($350)

Wire are concealed in the stand type.

CB trip whenever turn on. Try many method, still trip.

Even took out the wire to check for broken wire.

Use the current meter to check, swee swee leh.

Finally change the bulb, boh tai chee liao..

I also amazed, until now. Must be those cheap bulb.

I agree with you. Suay lor.. Sianzz.

I dunno what reasons/ excuses he will use.

By the way, is patching up false ceiling (a whole of 5-8cm) a big problem? If patched already, will it be nice or ugly?

My ID forgot to shift my cable, and in the end, I need to break a hole in the false ceiling to shift the cable.

btw, you got TOO MANY lightings wired to a single circuitbreaker???

try this -

switch on all your lights alternatively - like MBR lights ON first, then livingroom...etc

somewhere somehow - something is not connected properly, try to isolate the fault area.

btw, you got TOO MANY lightings wired to a single circuitbreaker???

try this -

switch on all your lights alternatively - like MBR lights ON first, then livingroom...etc

somewhere somehow - something is not connected properly, try to isolate the fault area.

my thoughts - maybe the electrician shld have wired the :

1) living room to a 9A

2) dining room to a 9A

3) mBR to a 9A

then no tripping will occur right?

rather than all wired to a 9A?

btw, im also installing speakers.. will this impact the trpping at the 9A circuit breaker?

may I ask how much is it to change from a 20A to 13A - ID charge me $40?(change from aircon pt to 13A pt)

how much to change from a single socket to double socket?

how many to install a socket for the dryer - is it a 13A socket?

btw, im also installing speakers.. will this impact the trpping at the 9A circuit breaker?

speaker wire got nothing to do with electricity. infact if your speaker wires and electrical wires are together in the same casing - the elctrical wires will cause noise in your sound.

how much to change from a single socket to double socket?

how many to install a socket for the dryer - is it a 13A socket?

change EXISTING single socket to double socket?

legrand box -$1.00

legrand double socket - $4-$5.00

but make sure your mcb can take the load.

dryer i dont know.

MY ID checked, and we realised the lights will go off after on the light switch for 5min.

My ID say the siwtch box 1st button is spoilt, change it will solve the problem. He say will ask the electrician to go n buy the switch..

*Scratch head* hmm..

Ehh also dunno. I nvr met the electrician when he came to do work. Just that the issue is settled after he came. Think my ID said to replace the first button.