strychnine

Stry & Meek's Projekt Residential

Hehe ...

3k more on the renovation but i think i avoided the problem with HDB.

MLR if you are not rushing to move in , make sure you squeeze the best coz from the way i see it ... you might have to move in after hungry ghost .

Really Whack them hard .

Call the techincal officer ... i spoken to him once abt the workmanship

All the best bro ...

Ya loh Lex shown me his tiles ... i tot better to avoid the hassle

Dun worry lah ... you are the last among us to get keys one ... so slowly

this type of thing better not to rush ...

rush end up you never do a nice thing one

for your information ...

my first appt with Danny ( ideal house was way back in dec ) april 2nd week then i cfm him ...

i made him go up to my flat and explain the measurement of the things i am doing ... before i confirmed him

hehe

Hi Felix, I m in a rush to move, cos I had already delay once, my landlord is very nice, but i don't want to push my luck. My son's childcare has also been arranged, etc... :(

Yeah Stry

Better not to rush, especially with the hdb, cos u won't know how they will do the rectifications when u push them too hard...really at their mercy. Take the time to go thru the details and make a reno planner, it helps me wif my effort to save $ and running around to get stuff on my own, rather than to jus rely on renovator (forgive me :bow: , i m not the trusting type).

Thanks MLR, L3x, Felix for the sound advices.

Not really in the hurry la..but anxious thats all. Hee..

Im really hoping to have the reno completed by our wedding date in Aug.

But if its not ready by then its ok la i guess, since we will be living in my parents place first

but gosh, i din noe there's so much probs with hdb contractors !

Edited by strychnine

Thanks MLR, L3x, Felix for the sound advices.

Not really in the hurry la..but anxious thats all. Hee..

Im really hoping to have the reno completed by our wedding date in Aug.

But if its not ready by then its ok la i guess, since we will be living in my parents place first

but gosh, i din noe there's so much probs with hdb contractors !

Contractors free of charge one sometimes we got to see our luck

Hi Stry

How r u doing? hdb done wif the rectifications? My jus done wif tilings, waiting for them to fix the toilet doors and sanitary works.

Hi Stry,

Hows ur reno going on??

No updates for ur blog..

Still having problems wif HDB contractors huh??

Regards,

L3x

We’re back! Sorry for the long hiatus.

Work, preparation for the wedding followed by the chasing of HDB officers & bank officers took a huge chunk of our time and energy that we barely had any time to do anything else.

Our defective bi-fold doors and shelter door have been replaced by HDB. Now currently waiting for the cement screeding and hacking of walls to start. By this week, reno should officially commence …finally !

These are the 3D concepts of our dining area where the bookshelf and tic tac feature will be. A huge portion of our reno $$$ goes to this so we have forewarned the ID that the design better be worth it !

1st Draft *Rejected*

dr_No.jpg

We rejected the initial design as the colours and themes were nothing like the one we had in mind.

We wanted dark flooring and white carpentry as we had wanted to use vivid hues and primary palettes on our furnishings.

2nd Draft

dr_Yes.jpg

The 2nd draft design was better although laminate colours will have to be changed.

The one he presented to us was in bright neon (?!) green which was pretty yucks. So we requested for white frame (or what you call...carcass ?) with alternate coloured laminates on the shelvings. We have yet to decide on the colours of the shelvings though. Oh well, design first, colours later.

kitchen-1.jpg

Glossy wood grained laminates on the bottom and white on the topThe black glass backsplash will be extended to cover the full area throughout the cabinet length.

Realised that it’s a pretty commonly used laminate combo in RT …

Wardrobe

mbr.jpg

Nothing much to say here as its pretty basic. Dark wood grain laminates with white tempered glass at the centre portion.

Edited by strychnine

I created digital mood boards so we can have a better visual idea of how we want our rooms to look like.

It encompasses the theme colours, tiles, even down to the furnishings. Of course, it ends up that I created multiple mood boards just for a room as my whims & fancies were ever-changing.

Its generally down to these 2 themes though.

Common Toilet

guess_toilet.jpg

livingroom.jpg

Don’t really know if it will actually end up looking exactly like that or a regurgitated version of it.

But I still want that Noguchi table.

..And I’ll be buying this wallpaper online as well.

wallpaper.jpg

Edited by strychnine

Hi Stry

I was wondering wat happened... was even thinking dat u may hv given up :fire: especially wif those hdb pple.

Cool designs.... especially your living area. Pretty avant garde deco too..... Can't wait for your updates wif more pics.

the wallpaper is textured?

looks really good :dribble: :dribble:

Yeapss.. :D

I believe they call these types 'flock wallpaper'..

Hi Stry

I was wondering wat happened... was even thinking dat u may hv given up :fire: especially wif those hdb pple.

Cool designs.... especially your living area. Pretty avant garde deco too..... Can't wait for your updates wif more pics.

Hey MLR, thanks :P

You're not too far off...we spent close to a month chasing all these people that we did almost gave up

Edited by strychnine

Yeapss.. :D

I believe they call these types 'flock wallpaper'..

Hey MLR, thanks :P

You're not too far off...we spent close to a month chasing all these people that we did almost gave up

Wah ... very special concept :) nice :dribble:

2nd Draft

dr_Yes.jpg

The 2nd draft design was better although laminate colours will have to be changed.

The one he presented to us was in bright neon (?!) green which was pretty yucks. So we requested for white frame (or what you call...carcass ?) with alternate coloured laminates on the shelvings. We have yet to decide on the colours of the shelvings though. Oh well, design first, colours later.

kitchen-1.jpg

Glossy wood grained laminates on the bottom and white on the topThe black glass backsplash will be extended to cover the full area throughout the cabinet length.

Realised that it’s a pretty commonly used laminate combo in RT …

Hi there, the dark laminate/ parquet flooring will give your house a whole different look and white carpentry will definitely look stunning.

Hey, will you be doing that bookshelf? Do you mind sharing how much did they quote you for it? :deal:

Hello! Your place is a RP or new "older" flats 'cos I see those small trunking casing here and there in the living room but most of the rooms including living room have no flooring that why im asking.

Edited by BunBun

Wah ... very special concept :) nice :dribble:

Thanks !

Hi there, the dark laminate/ parquet flooring will give your house a whole different look and white carpentry will definitely look stunning.

Hey, will you be doing that bookshelf? Do you mind sharing how much did they quote you for it? :deal:

Hee..PM-ed you. Its a massive damage to our wallet :bangwall:

Hello! Your place is a RP or new "older" flats 'cos I see those small trunking casing here and there in the living room but most of the rooms including living room have no flooring that why im asking.

Its a new 'older' flat. 6years old but never been occupied cept for the 4rm units :D

Edited by strychnine

We're now into the 3rd week of our renovation and it has been both a nightmare and a dream.

We encountered a couple of problems which caused for major headaches and anxiety attacks.

Week 1 : HDB came to do cement screeding.

Hacking of MBR wall to make way for wardrobe.

Partial laying of bathroom tiles.

Week 2 : Air-con specialist came to install the air-con and lay trunking.

Bathroom tiles were completed

Reno contractors started on feature wall

Laminates specialist came to install laminates

First problem occured on week 2. Initially we were pretty happy that the reno has been progressing well. We went up to check every two days and so far everything was going fine. We were excited to find out that the laying of laminates for the entire house were completed within only 2.5 days UNTIL we found out that the laminates were NOT the ones we chosen !! We selected dark wood for the living area and american teak for the bedrooms. Instead, we had oriental teak installed for the entire house !!!

Called the ID and made so much of noise. ID did a check and realised that the laminates company delivered the wrong batches. Everything had to be dismantled and re-layed again.

So basically, week 3 was spent on dismantling and relaying of the flooring. Such a waste of time! Even so, they still left out the rooms.

We did a check again yesterday and found out that the 2nd laminates workmanship was not as good as the first. Gaps were bigger than the first and the level were higher than the norm. The main door literally scratches the floor when we opened/closed it.

Informed the id, and he told that will get them to trim the door. Now my main worry...will they do it properly this time ?

Having learned our lesson, we realise that its important that we check the materials before letting the contractors proceed with the work. Its definately not safe to rely 100% on the id , even if most of the time he's pretty reliable.

Angst and frustruations aside, we were pretty happy with the rest of works.

Here are some pics

Balcony Tiles

balcony.jpg

Bathroom Tiles

bathroom1.jpg

bathroom2.jpg

Bathroom Tiles - Close Up

tiles_closeup.jpg

Wrong Laminates

wrongflooring.jpg

The correct One (taken with h/p)

rightflooring.jpg

Feature wall @ Living Area

featurewall.jpg

SO BLUR !

Wanted publish a new post in the tblog but didnt realised i clicked on New Topic instead !

How embarassing..! So now i had unknowingly started 2 new topics !

Now waiting for the mods to delete them..

Sorry everyone .. :wacko:

Edited by strychnine