dyns119

Engaging Different Companies Per Reno Work

My hubby and I have started scouting for IDs/contractors for our

recently bought 5-rm resale flat. However, most of them are slow

in sending their quotations despite a very detailed checklist with photos we have

provided them.

Thus, we thought of engaging different companies for the major works

we plan to do with the flat.

The major reno works will be focused on the following:

1. Laminated flooring in all 3 bedrooms

2. Major Reno in 2 toilets

3. Carpentry Works in Master's Bedroom

4. Installation of 3-in-1 split type aircon

5. Repainting of whole house

6. Relocation of some power/electrical outlets

So far, since we have visited the Gracious Homes exhibition

in Expo on the Hari Raya Day itself, we got a very good deal

for the laminated flooring. It's Tarkett brand (made in Germany)

for all our 3 bedrooms. We can't help but seal the deal with them

because they have given us all the FOC items they can offer.

So now, we are thinking also if we can just engage a separate company

to do all the carpentry works.

Do u think this is better than engaging a contractor firm to do all the

renovation works?

Kindly advice since we are first time home-owners. We have no idea if

we are on the right track.

Thanks in advance.

My hubby and I have started scouting for IDs/contractors for our

recently bought 5-rm resale flat. However, most of them are slow

in sending their quotations despite a very detailed checklist with photos we have

provided them.

Thus, we thought of engaging different companies for the major works

we plan to do with the flat.

The major reno works will be focused on the following:

1. Laminated flooring in all 3 bedrooms

2. Major Reno in 2 toilets

3. Carpentry Works in Master's Bedroom

4. Installation of 3-in-1 split type aircon

5. Repainting of whole house

6. Relocation of some power/electrical outlets

So far, since we have visited the Gracious Homes exhibition

in Expo on the Hari Raya Day itself, we got a very good deal

for the laminated flooring. It's Tarkett brand (made in Germany)

for all our 3 bedrooms. We can't help but seal the deal with them

because they have given us all the FOC items they can offer.

So now, we are thinking also if we can just engage a separate company

to do all the carpentry works.

Do u think this is better than engaging a contractor firm to do all the

renovation works?

Kindly advice since we are first time home-owners. We have no idea if

we are on the right track.

Thanks in advance.

if u have the time n effort to coordinate the work urself, definitely go ahead. it'll be cheaper this way :notti:

tnx for ur tip.

but I have a bad feeling that most companies I approach with few reno works

for them to do, are not that attentive or interested in the project...

also, when i mention our budget of SGD 10k to 15k budget, I think

they consider it as small project, thus they would rather go for

bigger projects...

do u think our set budget based on the list of reno works

i have mentioned seem to be realistic or too idealistic?

Fully agreed!! mine was done this way... :P

I am definitely getting more encouragement as I

receive your replies.

Do you have any recommendations of contractors for me?

You may PM me if you're not comfortable posting

their names here.

So far, these are the companies I have requested quotations from:

1. -

2. Wonderhouse

3. Summit Design

4 *****

5. Plush Living

6. Ideal Homes

7. Om-space

8. Art & Design

9. Creative Interior

10. D'Esprit

I just realize my list is getting longer.. My colleague said I am a bit kiasu for doing this as early as now...

Hahaha... Don't you think it's just normal for me to compare and research before signing up any contract

with these companies?

Do you think these companies can just extend contractor's services, and no ID involvement at all?

Hi dyns119,

I have also just secure a deal with tarkett (evorich holdings) at expo today. They also told me that I have got the best deal. May I know how much do they code you for the laminating per square feet?

I just realize my list is getting longer.. My colleague said I am a bit kiasu for doing this as early as now...

Hahaha... Don't you think it's just normal for me to compare and research before signing up any contract

with these companies?

Do you think these companies can just extend contractor's services, and no ID involvement at all?

dun worry. i was oso like u. my first appt was in end aug, but i started my ID search way back to early july, n finally settled for one in mid jul. from then on, we started communicating our design for the house, i got ample time to come up with de 3d drawings that i m satisfied with.

now's i've finally gotten my keys after my 2nd appt. juz waiting for my ID to get to hdb on de permit, cos there were some mistakes on de floorplan, n de wall i wanted to hack is actually a rc column, so now after checking that it's a rc column, we are making some changes to de wall we r going to hack n let hdb approve de reno permit. estimated to start wk end of this wk :dancingqueen:

dun worry. i was oso like u. my first appt was in end aug, but i started my ID search way back to early july, n finally settled for one in mid jul. from then on, we started communicating our design for the house, i got ample time to come up with de 3d drawings that i m satisfied with.

now's i've finally gotten my keys after my 2nd appt. juz waiting for my ID to get to hdb on de permit, cos there were some mistakes on de floorplan, n de wall i wanted to hack is actually a rc column, so now after checking that it's a rc column, we are making some changes to de wall we r going to hack n let hdb approve de reno permit. estimated to start wk end of this wk :dancingqueen:

How many times did you make changes to the perspectives?

It may be a good idea to have different contractors doing your renovation if 1 contractor is not able to provide all you need. However, I foresee some drawbacks:

1/ The quotations added up may end up higher than a big package deal.

2/ No party wants to take responsibility if something goes wrong. They may push the responsibility to other parties. It's very hard to draw a clear line of responsibilities.

3/ Your project may get less attention (as you already know, since the project is too small).

Anyway, you have a lot of time to do research. Take your time eh? :sport-smiley-003:

How many times did you make changes to the perspectives?

abt 4-5times. cos sometimes wat we communicated is not perceived correctly by de ID :notti: so sometimes it's good to have more time on hand

For me at times i'm not sure wat i feel is the right feel and had quite a no. of changes.. seems my ID not happy with me le.. :(

lol. dun think too much. if u know wat u want, he wun be needed