Kesmond

Aircon Problems Or Wiring Problem?

I have just bought a resale flat in jurong. There are currently 3 aircons in my house (Daikin Inverter), 1 in the living room and 2 in my rooms. I have decided to remove the living room aircon and install it in the room.

I have engaged a aircon serviceman to do the relocation and servicing of my 3 aircons. However when he turn on the 3 aircons, after a while the power will trip. He told me that he had check all e 3 aircons and is working fine and suspected is the electrical wiring problems and/or insulator problems.

I spoke to my electrician and he went down to clear up those unwanted wiring, etc. But however when he turn on the 3 aircons, the power does not trip. But after around 15 mins, when the compressor starts to kick in, the power will trip again. And he suspect that the compressor IC board or the motor got problems that cause this problems.

Now i in a dilema, who to believe? E aircon man say no problem with the aircons but is due to electrical wire problem and my electrician say that it is the compressor problem.

So i really dun know what to do? E aircon man want to charge me $300 for the rewiring of my room, but i already engage my electrician to do my house. So how do i go about it and test who is at fault? thanks

Its very easy, engage another air con specialist to do a thorough check on the compressor + blowers... Ur air-con man ain't professional at all...

(U should test the air-con as its usually in the "valuation" cost, who knows if tis had aldy happened b4 u took over...)

I 100% agree wif ur electrician, bcs if its the wiring prob, the air-con sure cant on aldy...

if i not wrong for old hdb got some limit. if your living hall is the bigger unit example 18 000 btu plus your 2 small bedroom which is 9000btu each it sure over the limit that set by hdb

1st is your air con swtiches normal 3pin plug or standard 20mA isolator?

test run your air :

1st 2 bedroom on air con for 15min working fine cold?

now off the 2air con and test run the living hall only. fine?

only strip when all air con run cause over the limil that set by hdb

or the swtiches is 3 pin plug.

what the model for ur daikin interver?

Flat Type Max. Total Running Current Allowed AirCon Condensing Unit Max. Weight Allowed

½-room 5 Amps 80kg

3/4/5-room/

Multi-Generation 8.5 Amps 80kg

Exec Apt (with 4 bedrooms) 8.5 Amps 80kg

Exec Apt (with 5 bedrooms in converted block) 11 Amps 80kg

My air con keep giving me problems and i am rather frustrated. So need some advises here.

First it started with the same leaking problems at the same spot over and over again. Haiz...last year when it occured, we call back the installater (cos we have 3 years installation warranty)...and these people told us tat need to change the whole trunking cos the water cannot drain out properly due to the thickness and the pipe is lay flat..not slope due to the place i install my aircon!Then they olso told us about condesation problem..i dun understand by what they mean by that lei..i have air con for so many years at my parents place..we do not have such problems. Only occassionally leaking due to poor maintaince.but after servicing it works fine liao. But now....!!!! Haiz...maybe i shld take a pics and post here. See if there's any design fault where i install my air con? and olso why they never advise us before hand?

I feel rather cheated as we paid $168 workmanship to have the whole trunking changed..& for less than a year time..it starts leaking again at the same spot....then worse of all...it cause the main power to trip.

May i know how come the power will trip???!! now my hsuband say want to ask them to come back to check for us again and demand them to re do properly for us for free!! But i thought of maybe asking other service man to get a second opinion..

So i really need some expert advise from you guys what is better way for us?

My air con keep giving me problems and i am rather frustrated. So need some advises here.

First it started with the same leaking problems at the same spot over and over again. Haiz...last year when it occured, we call back the installater (cos we have 3 years installation warranty)...and these people told us tat need to change the whole trunking cos the water cannot drain out properly due to the thickness and the pipe is lay flat..not slope due to the place i install my aircon!Then they olso told us about condesation problem..i dun understand by what they mean by that lei..i have air con for so many years at my parents place..we do not have such problems. Only occassionally leaking due to poor maintaince.but after servicing it works fine liao. But now....!!!! Haiz...maybe i shld take a pics and post here. See if there's any design fault where i install my air con? and olso why they never advise us before hand?

I feel rather cheated as we paid $168 workmanship to have the whole trunking changed..& for less than a year time..it starts leaking again at the same spot....then worse of all...it cause the main power to trip.

May i know how come the power will trip???!! now my hsuband say want to ask them to come back to check for us again and demand them to re do properly for us for free!! But i thought of maybe asking other service man to get a second opinion..

So i really need some expert advise from you guys what is better way for us?

Here is some my opinion ,For the Red colour section. At first, if they are specialist in aircond, once the the place was blocked up by your house design, they should comfirm with you whether those poor water flow in drainage pipe might effect in future. if for profesional aircondman, they will suggest u better solution if anything not correct. And regarding the condensation problem, i am suspecting the drainage line is at poor flowing and the insulation was using lower quality when installation, need to check just able to comfirm it.

2nd, about the power trip, i believe there is the connection between middle of those wires. The proper way they shall use 1 length wire but not connect two wire for thier saving propose. Due to your poor water flowing and cause leaking in middle trunking, water will stay inside and might effect the connection between wires and that will cause tripped in your house.

My final advise, since it still under warranty, call them back and fixed it completely for you. Hehe... if can find some expert to comfirm full view of your problems first, then only u able to talk with them... hehe....good luck....

Edited by allstar

Haiz, my aircon has the same problems too. Mine is a 3 in 1 unit, and after installation, the aircon in my master bedroom is not cold after a few days. Then we called the installer back again, but he says that the problems might lies with the aircon unit. So we called the P****** company, and they sent their technicians down and do so test but the problems is still there. Then the piping started leaking water, so we called the installer down, and he changed the piping but the problems remain, so used newspaper to insert into the casing and claimed that the leaking is due to the condensation. Then newspaper does not work again, he had no choice but to use spray into the casing, but it still does not solve the problem. After that, whenever I called him, he just dun answer my call.

Till now, I am already so pissed off with that problems. I can't paint my walls becos of the stains marks of the leaking water from the pipings. And I could not even put my bed or TV near to the walls too.

Haiz, my aircon has the same problems too. Mine is a 3 in 1 unit, and after installation, the aircon in my master bedroom is not cold after a few days. Then we called the installer back again, but he says that the problems might lies with the aircon unit. So we called the P****** company, and they sent their technicians down and do so test but the problems is still there. Then the piping started leaking water, so we called the installer down, and he changed the piping but the problems remain, so used newspaper to insert into the casing and claimed that the leaking is due to the condensation. Then newspaper does not work again, he had no choice but to use spray into the casing, but it still does not solve the problem. After that, whenever I called him, he just dun answer my call.

Till now, I am already so pissed off with that problems. I can't paint my walls becos of the stains marks of the leaking water from the pipings. And I could not even put my bed or TV near to the walls too.

i believe i can help u with that, can u take some photo to show me the water mark is? on the casting? i believe u run system 3 = 6 copper pipes squeeze in the casting, cause the inslulation press again each other then condensation

http://www.bencoolservices.com.sg

I have just bought a resale flat in jurong. There are currently 3 aircons in my house (Daikin Inverter), 1 in the living room and 2 in my rooms. I have decided to remove the living room aircon and install it in the room.

I have engaged a aircon serviceman to do the relocation and servicing of my 3 aircons. However when he turn on the 3 aircons, after a while the power will trip. He told me that he had check all e 3 aircons and is working fine and suspected is the electrical wiring problems and/or insulator problems.

I spoke to my electrician and he went down to clear up those unwanted wiring, etc. But however when he turn on the 3 aircons, the power does not trip. But after around 15 mins, when the compressor starts to kick in, the power will trip again. And he suspect that the compressor IC board or the motor got problems that cause this problems.

Now i in a dilema, who to believe? E aircon man say no problem with the aircons but is due to electrical wire problem and my electrician say that it is the compressor problem.

So i really dun know what to do? E aircon man want to charge me $300 for the rewiring of my room, but i already engage my electrician to do my house. So how do i go about it and test who is at fault? thanks

wah... you really have a big problem.. it really cost you alot to settle is problem..

ic board, wiring, or compressor either one also will cause trip.

only when on all three air con then cause trip?

how about you on one by one.....?

on 1st a/c wait 15min after cooling, if no trip then switch off

now try on 2nd a/c wait 15min after cooling if no trip then switch off

then on 3rd a/c wait 15min after cooling if no trip then switch off

if tested one by one no trip then wiring should be safe.

now left with PCB or compressor ?

compressor over amp or shorts Earth also trip..

you need to check compressor amp and mutli meter to test.

wat your daikin model? 3mk75 or 4mk75?

on on 2nd