lohwl2000

William & Jovin New Home

Hi Everyone,

Sorry for the late update, as busy with renovation and work, as my reno suffer some setback here and there.

Attached is the latest update of my progress, really pray hard that we can complete the last lag of the reno before Dec 09.

Here it come our New Home:

Pictures:

MBR View:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture076.jpg

Sunset View from living room:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture059.jpg

Nite Fall:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture058.jpg

Living Room with false ceiling & Feature wall:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture089.jpg

Feature Wall & TV Console:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture082.jpg

Cove Light:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture083.jpg

Kitchen Cabinet view 1:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture084.jpg

Kitchen Cabinet View 2:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture085.jpg

Kitchen Window:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...00/Window-1.jpg

Parent's Room painting:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture065.jpg

MBR painting:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture066.jpg

Laminate Flooring:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture056.jpg

MBR wardrobe:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture088.jpg

Common Toilet:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture052.jpg

MBR toilet:

http://i889.photobucket.com/albums/ac94/lo...dpicture034.jpg

Hope all of you enjoy my renovation journey updates! Still pending quite alot of stuffs need to touch up. Please stay tune for more updates and photos!

Merry christmas and Happy New Year to all renotalk forummers! Thank you Bro Rondy, Simon, Momo, Jamie, Jaskal, Newyew, Rdnest and many many more kind souls who help in giving me suggestions and help in my reno! I wish from my bottom of heart a big Thank you for your kind support!!!

Looking forward to throw a big house warming party!

William & Jovin!

Edited by lohwl2000

Hi Everyone,

Sorry for the late update, as busy with renovation and work, as my reno suffer some setback here and there.

Attached is the latest update of my progress, really pray hard that we can complete the last lag of the reno before Dec 09.

Hope all of you enjoy my renovation journey updates! Still pending quite alot of stuffs need to touch up. Please stay tune for more updates and photos!

Merry christmas and Happy New Year to all renotalk forummers! Thank you Bro Rondy, Simon, Momo, Jamie, Jaskal, Newyew, Rdnest and many many more kind souls who help in giving me suggestions and help in my reno! I wish from my bottom of heart a big Thank you for your kind support!!!

Looking forward to throw a big house warming party!

William & Jovin!

Great to hear and see that ur reno is completing soon.. :)

hey think we have the same color combi for kitchen leh...urs is the EDL range right? mine is the mandarin with piano white

Edited by momo13

Great to hear and see that ur reno is completing soon.. :)

hey think we have the same color combi for kitchen leh...urs is the EDL range right?

Hi Momo,

I think so ...but got one thing to note the color i chose is not white is milky color with a bit of yellowish....when view from the sample is white but when see the real thing is turn out to be milky color....

How about your progress and color combination?

William

Hi Momo,

I think so ...but got one thing to note the color i chose is not white is milky color with a bit of yellowish....when view from the sample is white but when see the real thing is turn out to be milky color....

How about your progress and color combination?

William

thought of that when choosing our laminates..

just completed the false ceiling and L box and clearing of debris.. think yesterday was the chemical washing (yet to inspect)

was told that painting will be on sat,left only (est.) kitchen cabinets and grilles and other misc stuffs will be installed next yr.. :)

Hi William...good that your reno is gg to be completed soon. I see that your MBR toilet uses two different tiles color: White and brown. I am curious to find out when buying tiles how much tiles do you roughly need for each color? I will be renovating my 3NG mid 2010 so checking out this forum to find out more before deciding on anything.

Can anyone pls advise if theres any pros and cons in using bigger tiles than smaller tilts for the wall or floor?

renowedpicture084.jpg

Ha ... look like mine .... ha .... At 1st look I really tot it's red and white .... ha

Nice :)

Thanks Bro Simon for the compliment, in reality we choose Henry also because we like your kitchen design. We tried to change the overall layout and color combination but the outlook will still look the same as it is produce by the same group of capenters..i think.

What a coincidence that Momo also chose the same color combination :P orange and white....seen like we have the same taste...

hi!i think i can answer for u...currently the trend is bigger tiles!the bigger it is the better,of course more expensive!

smaller tiles looks like getting less popular...

As for the different tiles matching for the toilet,just leave it to the contractor/ID and they will know how many tiles they need for each colour when ordering base on their experience.

Usually they will order more,as for the extra,they will give it to u for future in case any tiles need replacement over the years.

Hi Home Sweet Home,

I glad Rondy is here to share his thoughts and opinion since he is a very experienced forummer who active in this forum for sometime he able to give you sound advice.

For me I prefer price over the trend since my quotation available for me limits me to this tile size I have to choose within the range. As for the color combination, the tile shop will provide matching tiles on the sample walls. Why I chose the chocolate and white is also matching pattern with color contrast since I can't affordable radiant mosaic tiles for my toilets I have to choose other options. If you are more daring you can choose tiles that are very bright colors it will definitely bring out the trendy look without burning a big hole in your reno cost.

Number of tiles as rondy has said the contract will know how much to order based on your floor plan...so no worry about this. Hope this advice will help and wish you have a wonderful journey in renovating our dream home.

William

i think your sink is under mount right?

better in this way.

I think so too . if I’m not wrong , Henry wouldn't recommend pp to do top mount .

Rem I ask him abt this under mount thing then that time he reply

"of cos must do under mount . top mount will .... etc etc ... that time got 1 customer insist want to do top mount then etc etc etc .... "

ha .... details I forget liao ... lol

i think your sink is under mount right?

better in this way.

Hi Rondy,

Yes, undermount suggest by capenter and rubber coating or waterproofing around the edge before the granite top is placed on top of the sink...but others has complain that the silicon will turn greenish and algae will grow from the edge with undermount than top mount....???

William

hi!i think i can answer for u...currently the trend is bigger tiles!the bigger it is the better,of course more expensive!

smaller tiles looks like getting less popular...

As for the different tiles matching for the toilet,just leave it to the contractor/ID and they will know how many tiles they need for each colour when ordering base on their experience.

Usually they will order more,as for the extra,they will give it to u for future in case any tiles need replacement over the years.

hi rondy, thanks for replying to my questions. I guess bigger tiles would be more expensive cos 1 big tile can cover the area of 3-4 small tiles.

I heard forumers mentioning not to get the contractor to go with you to see the tile as they will get commission from the sales thus making the cost of tiles more expensive. Is this true? I intended to go down to buy the tiles myself then get the contractor to install up the tiles for me.

Can the sales people know how much floor tile to purchase if i tell them the tiles are needed for a 3NG toilet? I am on budget renovation so dont want to kana too much carrot :) thks rondy :)

Hi Home Sweet Home,

I glad Rondy is here to share his thoughts and opinion since he is a very experienced forummer who active in this forum for sometime he able to give you sound advice.

For me I prefer price over the trend since my quotation available for me limits me to this tile size I have to choose within the range. As for the color combination, the tile shop will provide matching tiles on the sample walls. Why I chose the chocolate and white is also matching pattern with color contrast since I can't affordable radiant mosaic tiles for my toilets I have to choose other options. If you are more daring you can choose tiles that are very bright colors it will definitely bring out the trendy look without burning a big hole in your reno cost.

Number of tiles as rondy has said the contract will know how much to order based on your floor plan...so no worry about this. Hope this advice will help and wish you have a wonderful journey in renovating our dream home.

William

bro william, thank for sharing your tiles selection with me. Your miky and red kitchen cabinet looks nice. How many feet cabinet is that? Can share with me on the price? if not convenience to post here, can pm me...thk u thk u :)

bro no more update ah :)

Hi Bro,

Pai seh....pictures still in my camera....workplace cannot upload and will post more pictures for everyone once I have transfer to laptop.

Currently, left acidwash...installation of TV onto feature wall, all electrical appliances like fridge, washing machine and others....

Reno works still left shower screen, kitchen glass sliding door and main top and curtains....

Furnitures must be in before Feb as I need to "An Zua" ....will not move in until complete my custom marriage which will pass CNY liao....

How abt you? Completed your big day and move in liao??? I saw your christmas tree very nice!

William