Clementi_PR

Clementi 3 Rm Renovation

Halo guys,

New noob here joining the T-blog to renovate 1 kitchen + 2 bathroom.

Will get my key on mid march.

Still looking for id or contractor to do the make over.

Interested on one id because their location (near clementi) and the pricing.

Also they got a good portfolio.

Might need some advices from Reno Expert regarding the quotation and design.

Lets start with the quotation:

Can i bargain on the price quoted on the quotation?

I find some price is higher compare to other company,

can i mention this to the designer and ask for price revision?

Here is my quotation:

Hacking Work

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall tiles @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing stove @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing kitchen cabinet @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ master bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall tiles @ master bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ common bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall tiles @ common bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall between Kitchen & Living room

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ Living Area

Total : 2,150.00$

Masonry Work (Max tiles range @ $2.80)

Supply labour & material to lay homogeneous tiles @ 2 step ladder 200.00$

Living Area

Supply labour & material to lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneous floor tiles 2,380.00$ (include leveling the floor)

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 600mm homogeneous wall tiles @ kitchen 3,440.00$

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 300mm homogeneous floor tiles @ Kitchen 1,610.00$

Supply labour & material to apply water proof membrane 150.00$

Supply labour & material to construct kitchen cabinet base 120.00$

Supply labour & material to construct fridge base 80.00$

Master bathroom & common bathroom

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 600mm homogeneous wall tiles @ 2 bathroom 2,880.00$

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 300mm homogeneous floor tiles @ 2 Bathroom 800.00$

Supply labour & material to apply water proof membrane 200.00$

Plumbing Works

KITCHEN AREA

Supply labour & material to install new stainless steel pipe for Kitchen

Supply labour & material to installl inlet stainless steel pipe for kitchen sink

Supply labour & material to install outlet PVC pipe for kitchen sink

Supply labour & material to install inlet stainless steel pipe for washing machine

Supply labour & material to install outlet PVC pipe for washing machine

Supply labour only to install kitchen sink & sink tap

MASTER BEDROOM & COMMON BATHROOM

Supply labour & material to install inlet stainless steel pipe for wash basin

Supply labour & material to install outlet PVC pipe for wash basin

Supply labour only to install toilet bowl

Supply labour only to install wash basin & wash basin tap

Supply labour only to install instant water heater

Supply labour only to install standard bathroom accessories

Total 1,380.00$

Painting Work

Supply labour & material to paint whole house internal wall

Supply labour & material to paint whole house ceiling

Supply labour & material to paint kitchen & 2 bathrooms piping.

Supply labour & material to paint Door & Door frame

Total 1,100.00$

Carpentry Works

Design , fabricate & install top kitchen cabinet 14ft 1,540.00$

Design , fabricate & install bottom kitchen cabinet 17ft 2,210.00$

Supply labour & material to install solid surface for kitchen cabinet 17ft 1,105.00$

Aluminium , Glass & Door Works

Supply labour & material to install Bi-fold door @ 2 bathroom FOC

Supply labour & material to install toilet louver @ 2 bathroom 320.00$

Supply labour & material to install 3 classic door 600.00$

Supply labour & material to install Veneer main door (include normal lock set) 660.00$

Electrical Works

Rewiring whole house (HDB original standard ) 1,300.00$

Other Works

Supply haulage & delivery of goods to site. FOC

Clearing of debris for the above mentioned works. 150.00$

Provide acid washing for the above mentioned area of works. 180.00$

Provide general cleaning for the above mentioned area of works. 150.00$

Application of Renovation Permit. FOC

Supply labour & material to overlay laminated flooring @ 2 bedroom 1,320.00$

===edited==

Special discount @2,525 (was $1,000)

Total $22,500 (was $25,025.00)

===end==

Any comment?

TIA

Edited by Clementi_PR

Halo ossify,

I thought that is a little bit bellow standard :(

Because some other id and contractor even give higher.

Can you pin point which item is a bit high? (so i can ask my id to give me more discount :P)

Halo ossify,

I thought that is a little bit bellow standard :(

Because some other id and contractor even give higher.

Can you pin point which item is a bit high? (so i can ask my id to give me more discount :P)

Welcome Clementi_PR. U shouldn't compare with Ossify. He did everything himself. My opinion is: It doesn't matter how much u pay. It is a matter of whether the price u are going to pay for the work is worth the price.

Halo Mickey M,

Thanks for your info, i just run through ossify blog, now in page 12 only.

I am thinking of hiring ossify as my contractor :P

25k (mine) - 15K (ossify) = 10 k

I pay ossify 20% of 10 k = 2 k

save 10k - 2k = 8 k

Wawwww that's the profit that ID gets

kekeke

Welcome to Renotalk!

Err... wow... that's really quite a big amount for just the kitchen and the bathrooms. You might want to get a few more quotes from contractors to see if they can give you a better price as well. Cheers.

Halo yuene,

Actually i did got another 4 quotation.

Although not all are same item, but seem this one is quite reasonable.

The price comes with living room flooring, laminating 2 bedrooms, 3 room doors and 1 main door.

Is that still sounds waw?

I was thinking that the cleaning part and the steps in the main entrance should be foc :P

TIA

Hacking Work

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall tiles @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing stove @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing kitchen cabinet @ kitchen

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ master bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall tiles @ master bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ common bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall tiles @ common bathroom

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing wall between Kitchen & Living room

Supply labour & equipment to hack off existing floor tiles @ Living Area

Total : 2,150.00$

should be $1000-$1500

Masonry Work (Max tiles range @ $2.80)

Supply labour & material to lay homogeneous tiles @ 2 step ladder 200.00$

Living Area

Supply labour & material to lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneous floor tiles 2,380.00$ (include leveling the floor)

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 600mm homogeneous wall tiles @ kitchen 3,440.00$

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 300mm homogeneous floor tiles @ Kitchen 1,610.00$

Supply labour & material to apply water proof membrane 150.00$

Supply labour & material to construct kitchen cabinet base 120.00$

Supply labour & material to construct fridge base 80.00$

Master bathroom & common bathroom

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 600mm homogeneous wall tiles @ 2 bathroom 2,880.00$

Supply labour & material to lay 300mm x 300mm homogeneous floor tiles @ 2 Bathroom 800.00$

Supply labour & material to apply water proof membrane 200.00$

Total 11860

depends on the price of your tiles but if you go for normal ones at $2.8 psf, you can expect to pay about 3-4k for tiles, should add up to 5k inclusive of labour

Plumbing Works

KITCHEN AREA

Supply labour & material to install new stainless steel pipe for Kitchen

Supply labour & material to installl inlet stainless steel pipe for kitchen sink

Supply labour & material to install outlet PVC pipe for kitchen sink

Supply labour & material to install inlet stainless steel pipe for washing machine

Supply labour & material to install outlet PVC pipe for washing machine

Supply labour only to install kitchen sink & sink tap

MASTER BEDROOM & COMMON BATHROOM

Supply labour & material to install inlet stainless steel pipe for wash basin

Supply labour & material to install outlet PVC pipe for wash basin

Supply labour only to install toilet bowl

Supply labour only to install wash basin & wash basin tap

Supply labour only to install instant water heater

Supply labour only to install standard bathroom accessories

Total 1,380.00$

my plumber quoted me $780 for all your items minus 1 wc

Painting Work

Supply labour & material to paint whole house internal wall

Supply labour & material to paint whole house ceiling

Supply labour & material to paint kitchen & 2 bathrooms piping.

Supply labour & material to paint Door & Door frame

Total 1,100.00$

$500 is more than enough for good paint, labour about $300 should be enough, max $800

Carpentry Works

Design , fabricate & install top kitchen cabinet 14ft 1,540.00$

Design , fabricate & install bottom kitchen cabinet 17ft 2,210.00$

Supply labour & material to install solid surface for kitchen cabinet 17ft 1,105.00$

my carpentry is from ikea but i have good carpenter to recommend

Aluminium , Glass & Door Works

Supply labour & material to install Bi-fold door @ 2 bathroom FOC

Supply labour & material to install toilet louver @ 2 bathroom 320.00$

Supply labour & material to install 3 classic door 600.00$

Supply labour & material to install Veneer main door (include normal lock set) 660.00$

think any alum/door company should be able to give you better prices

Electrical Works

Rewiring whole house (HDB original standard ) 1,300.00$

what is this HDB original standard? 1 light and 1 power point in each room? :D my electrical works cost 2000, i was quoted 2000 to 3000. either you are underquoted or many optional things not included in your quote

Other Works

Supply haulage & delivery of goods to site. FOC

Clearing of debris for the above mentioned works. 150.00$

Provide acid washing for the above mentioned area of works. 180.00$

Provide general cleaning for the above mentioned area of works. 150.00$

Application of Renovation Permit. FOC

Supply labour & material to overlay laminated flooring @ 2 bedroom 1,320.00$

what brand laminates? please don't go for cheap ones which scratches easily and water penetrates easily and have to replace in 2-3 years time. i can recommend a better yet cheaper alternative :D

Special discount 1,000$

Total 25,025.00 $

Any comment?

TIA

ya, can save at least $8k if you bypass contractor, and yet have better materials

Edited by ossify

Halo ossify,

Thanks for your pricing.

Will try to ask for more discount and clarification for "hdb standard".

Is that mean, you are going to be my contractor :P

I will do my best :D

I got a spare 600x460mm basin too if you want. Sell you at $100 if you hire me :thumbs up:

600by460basini.jpg

Edited by ossify

Halo yuene,

Actually i did got another 4 quotation.

Although not all are same item, but seem this one is quite reasonable.

The price comes with living room flooring, laminating 2 bedrooms, 3 room doors and 1 main door.

Is that still sounds waw?

I was thinking that the cleaning part and the steps in the main entrance should be foc :P

TIA

Hmmm... well I'm also intending to do up my place, also Clementi 3-room, I'm doing everything except one bathroom (including hacking off all current fixtures, tiles and a couple of walls and rebuilding them, rewiring and change piping etc), and that came up to about $27K. So honestly, it does still look a bit expensive to me, especially the tiles bit. I guess it does depend on what kind of tiles you're intending to use though.

Halo ossify,

Thanks for your pricing.

Will try to ask for more discount and clarification for "hdb standard".

Is that mean, you are going to be my contractor :P

I will do my best :D

I got a spare 600x460mm basin too if you want. Sell you at $100 if you hire me :thumbs up:

Hey Clementi,

Congrates to your new hse and getting ossify as your contractor....... :good: ...good deal and trust you will be in very safe hands.....

Hi Ossify, keep up your great work bro.. :good: ..cheers!

wow .... ossify upgrade to contractor liao wor ... hahaha

Anyway welcome to RT-blog clementi :) but hor the initial 25k quote look expensive wor ... I do whole house my contractor only charge me 21k nia :)