Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

hi a_star! my ID tries to work within my budget and concept. think these 2 points are stepping stone to know what you want for your hse reno. after knowing what concept you like, he can more or less draft out and quote to suit your budget.

and its impt that he breakdowns the quotation or itemised everything for you. the quotation will be more organised and will be easy for you to compare with others, or take out items that you dun want. this will more or less minimise the hidden cost. also ask for which type of material, grade, price range the ID will be providing base on his quotation.

if can, try not to let the ID know your maximum budget, have some allowance, say ard 5k. ultimately, you must feel comfortable enough to trust him, maybe have to trust a bit of your instinct. hehe! at least that's what i feel abt my ID at the moment and he did what i mention above. :)

All the best for you in looking for an ID~! :good:

Hi shay_d! Thanks for the tips, will bear that in mind.

Hi everyone, would it be possible to kaypoh and have a look at your unit when u visit the new hse? We can exchange contacts via PM. :no:

Hi Neighbours,

Your advice is very much needed here.

Just went to 2 aircon contractors in IMM and I was informed by them that it is not possible to fit 2 aircon compressors onto the aircon ledge. If that is the case, it will mean that I will not be able to have System 3 + 1 aircon in our house.

Did any of you get the system 3+1 aircon? How do you manage to fit 2 aircon compressors onto the ledge?

Hi Neighbours,

Your advice is very much needed here.

Just went to 2 aircon contractors in IMM and I was informed by them that it is not possible to fit 2 aircon compressors onto the aircon ledge. If that is the case, it will mean that I will not be able to have System 3 + 1 aircon in our house.

Did any of you get the system 3+1 aircon? How do you manage to fit 2 aircon compressors onto the ledge?

Hi M&M,

I thought you've been to my place before? Remember I have two air-con compressors installed on the ledge right...one on top of the other (top one on wall-mounted brackets) :P Mine is a 3+2 :notti:

wow, that's good news! now, i'm having a problem with my fridge location....i can't open the fridge door more than 90 degrees....sianz.....

hmm.....its a good idea to place it in the bathroom. already hoping that we can install it in the bathroom. but i tot since the piping has already done up, it can only be install in the kitchen. but alister, if we are getting joven storage heater, the exterior is not stainless cover le. install in bathroom, the exterior might rust due to the moist in the near future.

what time are you going to your new hse today?? :P:notti:

Juz an update. Me ask ID liao. He said not gd idea. Need to rerun pipes. If remain in kitchen, all already laid by HDB.

Hi M&M,

I thought you've been to my place before? Remember I have two air-con compressors installed on the ledge right...one on top of the other (top one on wall-mounted brackets) :P Mine is a 3+2 :notti:

hey gadgetman, sorry..forgot to reply ur sms. :notti: was busy kpkp in strawberry_pear's hse when u replied. hehe! cos shay_d and i chose a colour that seems similar to urs..asked leonard in the afternoon but he couldn't recall..he mentioned you guys took quite long to conclude for that colour right..and it turned out :notti:

BTW neighbours, if you are looking for LCD TV and other electircal appliances...look no further than Toa Payoh :P:notti::notti: !

Just got some great deals from Tai Sin Radio and Electrical Service located near the popular Lee hwa cosmetic shop at Blk 183.

Star buy No. 1: Hitachi 32" IPS Panel LCD TV with 10,000: 1 contrast (Panel made in Japan, body assembled in Thailand) = $1059 (inclusive of GST and delivery)

I have so far not come across a deal for a decent 32in LCD TV deal that is around $1000! The closest I've seen is a Philips model going for $999, but this is the most basic model that cannot compare with the Hitachi's specs!

Star Buy No. 2: Fisher and Paykal ED56 Dryer = $458 (inclusive of GST and delivery, $50 more for wall mounting installation)

Was originally eyeing the manual model, there is currently a special November promotion and Best Denki is only selling for $408 (down from the original $550). I thought that was the best deal already until I saw this same shop selling the exact model for only $378!:notti: What's more the electronic model is even a better bargain at the above price. Sorry Best Denki and Courts, this is an offer I cannot resist!

Very happy today :~:~:good:

So you might ask if I am getting anything out of this...right? Well, who cares? Go and check around the prices and decide for youself! :good::bow::bow:

hey gadgetman, sorry..forgot to reply ur sms. :P was busy kpkp in strawberry_pear's hse when u replied. hehe! cos shay_d and i chose a colour that seems similar to urs..asked leonard in the afternoon but he couldn't recall..he mentioned you guys took quite long to conclude for that colour right..and it turned out :good:

That's right! We originally wanted to have a lime green color for that room, but we just could not find the right shade. There was a long debate that went on....But there is one thing we would not do which is to paint the room blue! Boy = Blue...How unimaginative! That was when Leonard showed us the turquiose/cyan shade and we thought that this should go very well...and it did! I am sure that color will be good for your house too :good::good::good:

:P was busy kpkp in strawberry_pear's hse when u replied.

Oh yes, I was just driving down Lorong 5 around 9.30pm when I saw Strawberry Pear and her hubby strolling home together....hand-in-hand! Must be after the KpKp session that you are talking about, right?

I went to my place earlier but was very dissapointed that nothing had been done for the past few days :(

Also went to her place to KpKp around 6.30pm and saw that the carpentry guys were just starting to install more of her bomb shelter feature wall...So exciting! I just cannot wait to see how the completed project will be like!! :P

BTW neighbours, if you are looking for LCD TV and other electircal appliances...look no further than Toa Payoh :P:notti::notti: !

Just got some great deals from Tai Sin Radio and Electrical Service located near the popular Lee hwa cosmetic shop at Blk 183.

Star buy No. 1: Hitachi 32" IPS Panel LCD TV with 10,000: 1 contrast (Panel made in Japan, body assembled in Thailand) = $1059 (inclusive of GST and delivery)

I have so far not come across a deal for a decent 32in LCD TV deal that is around $1000! The closest I've seen is a Philips model going for $999, but this is the most basic model that cannot compare with the Hitachi's specs!

Star Buy No. 2: Fisher and Paykal ED56 Dryer = $458 (inclusive of GST and delivery, $50 more for wall mounting installation)

Was originally eyeing the manual model, there is currently a special November promotion and Best Denki is only selling for $408 (down from the original $550). I thought that was the best deal already until I saw this same shop selling the exact model for only $378!:notti: What's more the electronic model is even a better bargain at the above price. Sorry Best Denki and Courts, this is an offer I cannot resist!

Very happy today :good::bow::bow:

Hi gadgetman

Is your LCD 32LD9000TA2 ? I bought this model in June 07 for $1,199 from megastore @ Novena. This will be my mbr TV. I will drop by megastore to carryout some comparison soon.

I am olso looking at F&P ED56 dryer. Seems like u got a very gd pricing. I will check out the TPY store as well. Thanks for the intro. But what happen to electrolux dryer ?

Very happy today :P:P:(

So you might ask if I am getting anything out of this...right? Well, who cares? Go and check around the prices and decide for youself! :bow::~:~

gadgetman, u sound like a small boy who has just gotten his early x'mas presents of a remote controlled car and power rangers suit! :P i believe everyone can feel your joy and excitement of this good bargain! we shall check it out~:good: :good:

Oh yes, I was just driving down Lorong 5 around 9.30pm when I saw Strawberry Pear and her hubby strolling home together....hand-in-hand! Must be after the KpKp session that you are talking about, right?

I went to my place earlier but was very dissapointed that nothing had been done for the past few days :(

Also went to her place to KpKp around 6.30pm and saw that the carpentry guys were just starting to install more of her bomb shelter feature wall...So exciting! I just cannot wait to see how the completed project will be like!! :P

we certainly hope so..though eesy doesn't quite want us to have the same colour..he fancies "cool, neutral, black and 'loves to lives on air' (suspended for everything!!)" might change the colour...see how 1st! hahaha!! :good::good::good:

wah...u highlight the "hand-in-hand! "...hahaha!! ya, we just departed from the coffee shop after some light-hearted chat on how our partners found each other... shared some :bow: info too... :lol:

Hi gadgetman

Is your LCD 32LD9000TA2 ? I bought this model in June 07 for $1,199 from megastore @ Novena. This will be my mbr TV. I will drop by megastore to carryout some comparison soon.

I am olso looking at F&P ED56 dryer. Seems like u got a very gd pricing. I will check out the TPY store as well. Thanks for the intro. But what happen to electrolux dryer ?

Yup, it's the same exact model! I will be using this for the MBR too! I have got a similar 40" Samsung R81 model as Ms white for the living room. Understand that this model is still retailing at $3599 with lots of (usually useless) freebies! Really liked this model but I definitely won't pay $3599 for it! Luckily for me I bought a display clearance from Best Denki for a more affordable $2339!

On the subject of the dryer:

I realised that the sales person at Taka Best Denki may have over exaggerated the benefits of the Electrolux model and the weakness of the F&P model. I kept thinking to myself, how can getting a trusted brand like F&P be so wrong and how could the engineers there screw up so bad to come up with such a lousy design?? There is just no logic to it.

But still the worry of hot and moist air venting towards the kitchen cabinets (and spoiling it) is a real concern and only the Electrolux model seem to have the answer through its front-venting system. My answer finally came last Sunday at Great World City Best Denki. The salesgirl showed me a crtitical accessory of the F&P Dryer that I have not yet seen....a simple piece of metal that is know as the DEFLECTOR!

Then everything fell into place! the F&P dryer does not just vent hot air straight out of its back like what Taka Electrolux promoter want me to believe, the metal device can basically channel the hot air sidewards! With this new info on hand, I asked the salesgirl to shown me the location of the back vent - it is located at the bottom left side. Now, if I mount the dryer upside down, the vent will then move to...the upper right corner and more importantly...NEXT TO MY WINDOW!!! Problem solved! No need to use tubes or front vent system, the deflector will take care of everything!

But do take note, my kitchen layout is such that the windows open to the right, that's why the solution will work for my unit. But if your kitchen window open to the left, you may still need to attach a tube or consider the front venting system to better manage the flow of the hot air!

Edited by gadgetman

Yup, it's the same exact model! I will be using this for the MBR too! I have got a similar 40" Samsung R81 model as Ms white for the living room.

we've changed to 37R81 cos 40 for our living room is too big...plus we're sitting quite close to the tv. dun thing we'll have enough time to complete watching the entire screen before it moves to the next scene! :notti:

our prev purchase was 40R71BAX..but R81 got Movie Plus! Good for me when watching SOCCER..... !!

Hi shay_d! Thanks for the tips, will bear that in mind.

Hi everyone, would it be possible to kaypoh and have a look at your unit when u visit the new hse? We can exchange contacts via PM. :notti:

sure! just let me know. we're there almost everyday now...hahaha!! weekend is most ideal lah. :notti:

Juz an update. Me ask ID liao. He said not gd idea. Need to rerun pipes. If remain in kitchen, all already laid by HDB.

oh ok. will just stick with the original plan then...hehe! thanks!

Hi howlupjac

I'm at #38-XX :notti: Is urs a 75sqm unit too?

Hi Tris,

Yup 75sqm. Facing HDB

hi howlupjac,

i am also unit #34-XX. i am frm blk E, u which blk? !!

Hi Chrispy,

I am at blk A. :notti:

As an IT person, my advice to all in future, backup all your data into a portable HDD. But don't relied solely on the portable HDD as it is more prone to crashes as well.

Mapleleaf, there might be a way to salvage your data, get a new laptop HDD and install with windows OS. Then buy a casing for the crashed HDD and see if you still can access it.

Yeah, better back-up your info. My hard-disk confirmed damaged.

Photos including those of blk 79 that I have been taking since 2005 are all gone. sob sob.

Anybody who has good contacts / close buddies who can help me recover the data at a nominal fee? Pleeease pm me.

Edited by Mapleleaf

Photos including those of blk 79 that I have been taking since 2005 are all gone. sob sob.

Anybody who has good contacts / close buddies who can help me recover the data at a nominal fee? Pleeease pm me.

Hi Mapleleaf

That's bad news. Pass it to me, I will carry out the above test to see whether I can help. No promises.

There is another way but very costly, dun think you want to do that unless it's super precious. Send to a company that specialise in recovery damage hdd. Cost is above $1k.

Yup, it's the same exact model! I will be using this for the MBR too! I have got a similar 40" Samsung R81 model as Ms white for the living room. Understand that this model is still retailing at $3599 with lots of (usually useless) freebies! Really liked this model but I definitely won't pay $3599 for it! Luckily for me I bought a display clearance from Best Denki for a more affordable $2339!

On the subject of the dryer:

I realised that the sales person at Taka Best Denki may have over exaggerated the benefits of the Electrolux model and the weakness of the F&P model. I kept thinking to myself, how can getting a trusted brand like F&P be so wrong and how could the engineers there screw up so bad to come up with such a lousy design?? There is just no logic to it.

But still the worry of hot and moist air venting towards the kitchen cabinets (and spoiling it) is a real concern and only the Electrolux model seem to have the answer through its front-venting system. My answer finally came last Sunday at Great World City Best Denki. The salesgirl showed me a crtitical accessory of the F&P Dryer that I have not yet seen....a simple piece of metal that is know as the DEFLECTOR!

Then everything fell into place! the F&P dryer does not just vent hot air straight out of its back like what Taka Electrolux promoter want me to believe, the metal device can basically channel the hot air sidewards! With this new info on hand, I asked the salesgirl to shown me the location of the back vent - it is located at the bottom left side. Now, if I mount the dryer upside down, the vent will then move to...the upper right corner and more importantly...NEXT TO MY WINDOW!:notti: Problem solved! No need to use tubes or front vent system, the deflector will take care of everything!

But do take note, my kitchen layout is such that the windows open to the right, that's why the solution will work for my unit. But if your kitchen window open to the left, you may still need to attach a tube or consider the front venting system to better manage the flow of the hot air!

Bad Taka salesman. :notti: .

Thanks for the detail explanation. My window is on the left. !! Dun tell me must get electrolux ? More $$ fly liao.

Tat is very sad !! ...I remember u kept a lot of photos since the construction of Blk 79...

I still tot of getting u to burn a copy of the photos for me...

A lesson learnt for me...backup all my data...