11eleventh

Kena Kicked Out ?

2 singles, each has his and her own Hdb flats.

If both marry each other, can each continue to

own the flat ? Or will Hdb ask them to

surrender one of the flats ( as both have form a

family unit ).

When 2 singles such as the ones above, marry,

wiil HDB automatically know abt this ? Or do they

have to be informed ?

( don't ask, don't tell scenario... )

2 singles, each has his and her own Hdb flats.

If both marry each other, can each continue to

own the flat ? Or will Hdb ask them to

surrender one of the flats ( as both have form a

family unit ).

When 2 singles such as the ones above, marry,

wiil HDB automatically know abt this ? Or do they

have to be informed ?

( don't ask, don't tell scenario... )

Why should hdb cares abt the marriage, so long as they don't apply for another flat under fiance scheme.

Single >= 35, doesn't mean forever remain "single" or "bachelor". Imagine if one >=35 and has a flat and get married some yrs later with one who does own a flat, no problem right?.

He/she can always rent out one and both stay at another one.

May be hdb should seriously consider to raise the age to 40yr or even higher for this scheme. Hope I'm right.

I am sure u got to sell one of ur flats once u are married...a couple only allowed to own 1 flat not 2....u should just check with HDB if in doubt..but i remember my friend end up selling one of their flats once they got married last time.... :dancingqueen:

Thanks bepgof. Thanks tofu123

To tofu123, i was very much thinking the same way...

Owning an hdb unit makes u ineligible to be the

essential occupier of another unit....

technicality aside, when i first pen the first question

i was just thinking of all the possible 'lobangs' there

is left....living in one flat while having another flat

out for rental seems like a cool idea...

no doubt the law is very clearly against the above

But i really want to know, if 2 persons, each side own a

house ( hdb ) and get married, how fast will hdb know about this,

to the point that this family starts to get hdb letter

requesting that either one of them surrender his/her house.

Or is it something that this family has to declare the 2

house ownerships ?

I think only HDB can answer your question.

Not many of us come across this scenario.

My friend has 1 HDB unit and her husband has one HDB unit when they are single.

But she sold away her HDB and use the $ to pay back the HDB loan belong to her husband unit when her husband want to add her name in.

marriage is no concern to HDB. It is a private matter withino the 2 singles themselves.

Say i have one hdb

old gf have one hdb

we married QUIETLY and tactically ..heheheh

i just go over to "gf" house to stay or vice versa.

The other party must not rent out whole flat as it will raise suspicious. Therefore sublet some rooms which makes the single status as renting out room.

Say one day found out - will sell the flat but on market rate (but u can take your time to sell - as they are no court judgement enforcement)

marriage is no concern to HDB. It is a private matter withino the 2 singles themselves.

Say i have one hdb

old gf have one hdb

we married QUIETLY and tactically ..heheheh

i just go over to "gf" house to stay or vice versa.

The other party must not rent out whole flat as it will raise suspicious. Therefore sublet some rooms which makes the single status as renting out room.

Say one day found out - will sell the flat but on market rate (but u can take your time to sell - as they are no court judgement enforcement)

Sound more logical.

Imagine 2 pair of couples(A &B), each pair has an unit under fiance scheme. Some time later, A's husband died & B's wife died, each wife & husband in respective units become soly owner. Some time later, this A & B married. A stays at B's plac, IC address remains at A. A needs to sell away the unit meh? Remember, fiance scheme hor.

Like that, I will divorce my wife so that she can buy another unit.... :notti: I think some ppl are doing that quietly....

How to quietly?

Unless marry oversea.

I agree with therat.

As long as you are legally married in Singapore, I'm pretty sure that the HDB will find out eventually. I believe that their records are tied to the ICA's Registry of Births and Deaths, as well as the MOM's Registry of Marriages. Because, when I went to buy my new flat, the HDB knew that I have two young daughters, who they listed as "occupants of the flat", even though that was not something that I had told them about.

But if you chose to undergo a customary union (i.e. one that is not legally recognised in Singapore) or if you simply moved in with your girlfriend / boyfriend (and do not legally marry), then it doesn't matter what you choose to do.