chubbyman

Advice On Budget For Resale Condo

Hello all,

We recently purchased a resale condominium. The unit is 1313 square feet and has 3 bed rooms and no balcony. The previous owner (we are the third owner) did some their renovations about 2.5 years ago, so the general stuff still looks okay.

So this is what we don't need:

- hacking of floor tiles( it is is marble!!!)

- no need to redo floors of rooms (it is parquet!!!)

- no need false ceiling (at least in the living room)

- no need to redo the kitchen

These are the major things we are looking at:

- Overhaul of toilets (master and guest)

- Carpentry work for master, guest rooms, living room

- Painting of whole house

theme: modern, contemporary,

- white base, with some splash of color to make the place look bright and inviting

What's the budget that i should work with?

Feel free to share your inputs and also things that i may have missed out.

Many thanks for your inputs!

Ben

Hi Bro,

i have also recently confirm a resale condo. unit is 1250Square and also 3 bedroom without balcony. we are also the third owner. such a concidence.

i have just manage to get my floorplan and will asking for quotes from a few contractor soon.

i will be doing the following reno:

- to reconstruct 2 bath room including hacking of all tiles, flooring and install new accessories

- to hack away the wet kitchen

- polishing of marble flooring and waxing of parquet for 3 bedrooms

- to change all the power sockets in the house and also the lightning control switch

- painting of house

- to change door of utility and kitchen to sliding doors (Total 3 doors)

maybe we can share resources and hopefully one of us found a good and economical one.

Hello all,

We recently purchased a resale condominium. The unit is 1313 square feet and has 3 bed rooms and no balcony. The previous owner (we are the third owner) did some their renovations about 2.5 years ago, so the general stuff still looks okay.

- white base, with some splash of color to make the place look bright and inviting

Ben

Just had a quote from one ID, they didn't really listen to what i wanted.

So they quoted to overhaul 2 toilets and the kitchen, quote came back with a whopping $30k ... that sounds a little on the high side .... took out the componets for the kitchen and the quote was still at 17K !

that's a lot isn't ???

Siong, maybe i should just move in haha or i should pray to Heaven "boh-bee" me, let me strike Toto haha :dribble:

tat's mean har... you maybe need to

-change wall and floor tiles in both toilets,

-maybe change master bath door into glass door?

-maybe disposal old shower screen and install new one,

-disposal old sanitary ware and install new one,

-design a vanity counter with solid surface top oso and mirror lah,

-water proof in both toilets...

-change original bath door?

and master bedroom

-bedhead feature wall,

-bedframe,

-side table,

-wardrobe,

-maybe a study/or dressing table( if still has some space),

-maybe a small tv console?

guest room

-bedhead feature wall,

-bedframe

-side table,

-wardrobe?

living room

-tv console,

-tv feature wall?

like thats? :D

Edited by Ireneyaw

Hi Bro,

i have also recently confirm a resale condo. unit is 1250Square and also 3 bedroom without balcony. we are also the third owner. such a concidence.

i have just manage to get my floorplan and will asking for quotes from a few contractor soon.

- to reconstruct 2 bath room including hacking of all tiles, flooring and install new accessories

- to change all the power sockets in the house and also the lightning control switch

- painting of house

maybe we can share resources and hopefully one of us found a good and economical one.

Good morning,

you wan to hack away the wet kitchen concrete wall, or hack away wall tiles and lay new tiles? :D

the wet kitchen is jus a basin and a piece of concrete support that needed to be hack away. no tiles on the wall as its painted. no reason to do any new tiling as the flooring is still in good condition.

more concern over the toilet overhaul. its so expensive to overhaul the toilets.

Good morning,

you wan to hack away the wet kitchen concrete wall, or hack away wall tiles and lay new tiles? :D

Hi Irene,

Thanks for sharing your comments. Did the amendments on the list you listed below:

tat's mean har... you maybe need to

-change wall and floor tiles in both toilets, --> Yes

-maybe change master bath door into glass door? Yes

-maybe disposal old shower screen and install new one, Yes

-disposal old sanitary ware and install new one, Yes

-design a vanity counter with solid surface top oso and mirror lah, Yes

-water proof in both toilets...Yes

-change original bath door? Yes

and master bedroom

-bedhead feature wall, I think wall paper can liao

-bedframe,

-side table,

-wardrobe,

-maybe a study/or dressing table( if still has some space),

-maybe a small tv console?no need tv in room ..

guest room

-bedhead feature wall,

-bedframe

-side table,

-wardrobe?

-maybe work table plus cabinets

living room

-tv console, Yes

-tv feature wall?Yes

like thats? :D

I just signed with a contractor today, their quotes so far is the best and I think they quite honest contractors, pm me if u need a quote

hey Roger,

thanks for posting! Can you share your contractor contact?

Tried to PM you but i think your inbox is full :)

Hi roger,

I'm also looking for contractor.

Appreciate if u could share contact.

quote name='chubbyman' timestamp='1335184320' post='711483']

hey Roger,

thanks for posting! Can you share your contractor contact?

Tried to PM you but i think your inbox is full :)

can go thru my experience as well as tips

just click on my signature threads!

I just signed with a contractor today, their quotes so far is the best and I think they quite honest contractors, pm me if u need a quote

Hi, Can PM me your contractor's contacts?

Hello all,

Ben

Hi Bro,

- painting of house

Hi there,

have u guys finalised on the ID/contractors? can share?

i had also recently confirmed a resale condo. unit is 1216Square, 3 +1 bedrooms with a small planter balcony. third owner as well.