Tri5tan

Need Advice On Quotation. Thanks All.

Hi all, my friend had referred me a contractor that is currently doing a reno for his house. After meeting about 6 of IDs/Contractors, we had shortlisted him and 2 others to do the reno for our 5rm BTO flat.

Below is the quotation that he gave me and said the price is still negotiable. Is there any problem with the quotation and whether the price is reasonable? Thanks for the help.

Description

Preliminaries

To apply HDB renovation Permit

FOC

Space planning and project management

FOc

Kitchen/Service Yard

To construct 2" Kitchen Cabinet base; top plaster cement side matching HDB tiles included

To construct 2" Fridge base; top & side matching HDB tiles included

To construct 2" washing machine base at Service Yard; top & side matching HDB tiles included

To fabricate and install Top & Bottom Kitchen cabinet in laminate finish (max 2-tones), internal white PVC finish; Max - $65 for choice of laminate - Total Top + Bottom carpentry = 33 ft

To supply and install Solid Surface Kitchen Top for Kitchen bottom cabinet - Total = 10 ft

To supply and install iQuartz Kitchen Top for Kitchen bottom cabinet - Total = 10 ft

To supply and install Top closing 1 unit with internal Stainless Steel Dish rack

FOC

To install Kitchen sink in-outlet PVC pipe & install Kitchen sink tap

Sliding window at service yard area

To hack half height wall 10ft btw kitchen and dining

To make good hacked wall corners with plaster cement & tiles

To supply and install half height clear tempered glass (10ft long)

Kitchen/Service Yard Subtotal:

Living/Dining/All Bedrooms

To supply and install custom Cove lighting/L-box/False ceiling works ****/Dining Room (Rounded cove)

To supply and install custom Cove lighting/L-box/False ceiling works at Master Bedroom

To fabricate and install 2.5ft full height shoe cabinet

To conceal dining area bomb shelter door using tic tac door, storage cabinet 14.5ft

To fabricate and install 10 ft TV console in laminate finish (max 2-tones)

To fabricate and install 10 ft TV feature wall in laminate finish (max 2-tones)

To fabricate and install 6 ft Full Height casement casement door Wardrobe in laminate finish (max 2-tones) at Master Bedroom $1560

To fabricate and install 5.5 ft Full Height casement casement door Wardrobe in laminate finish (max 2-tones) at Bedroom2 $1560

To fabricate and install 5 ft Full Height casement casement door Wardrobe in laminate finish (max 2-tones) at Bedroom3 $1560

Living/Dining/All Bedrooms Subtotal:

All Toilets (Excludes sanitary wares)

Master toilet to construct 2" tiled shower kerb x 2

Master and toilet to install fixed panel tempered glass shower panel

To fabricate and install 1 sets vanity table with solid surface top (2.5ft)

To fabricate and install 2 sets mirror cabinet (2.5ft + 2.5ft)

Plumber to install misc toilet accessories

Plumber to install 2 sets wash basin with tap

Plumber to install 2 sets bidet spray

Plumber to install 1 set storage heater

All Toilets Subtotal:

Miscellaneous

To paint whole unit Ceiling and wall using Nippon Paint (Ceiling = Matex White, Wall color range = Vinilex 5000, Max. 5 choices of colors including Matex White)

To supply and lay paper board protection

Whole house door frame & service yard PVC pipe to oil paint

Whole house floor tiles & wall tiles to acid wash

Haulage Charges (HDB haulage contractor)

TBA

Misc. Subtotal:

Grand Total:

Optional Works:

Whole unit window grilles

Aircon System 3 Mitsubishi starmex inverter brand inverter 21000BTU

hi tri5tan,

its abit high, plumbling, tv console, feature wall, wardrobe, kitchgen cabinet(any soft hinges, blum,?), all higher.

mirror cabinet - $1400 crazy man! vanity top solid surface all ex leh only $80/pfr. total $200 but he charge u 550! ... thats y can nego more.

if its a contractor, should not be this price. my contractor also not this price.

but if u have the chemistry with him, then its ok lah.

all d best!

Hi Jimmya,

He only mentioned about soft closing hinges. We are thinking of taking out the mirror cabinet, buy from outside and install cheaper right?

hmm..seems like his quotation is quite high....

hi tristan,

mirror cabinet only $375 for 2.5ft...... so 2 is 750 only.

thats why when i see ur quote and mine its very ex....

it is a ID firm right, not a contractor?

Hi Tristan, er... Ceiling I dunno, coz I never do ceiling. Bomb shelter so sorry I also really dunno.

But the rest is overpriced la.

Thanks for the advice, Jimmya. Indeed the price seems to be close to what other ID firm had quoted me although this is from a contractor.

Hopefully other pros here can also help to advice on this quotation. Thanks.

consultation 0

kitchen base 250

fridge base 80

washing machine base 80

kitchen cabinet 33 x 110 = 3630

solid top 10 x 80 = 800

disk rack 0

install kitchen sink 100

sliding window at yard 600

hack half wall 50pfr 10 x 50 = 500

make good 150

tempered glass 10 x 80 = 800

dining false ceiling 1200

master l box 400

shoe cabinet 2.5 x 225 = 562.5

tic tac feature wall = 14.5 x 8 x 25 =2900

10ft tv console 10 x 120 = 1200

10ft feature wall 10 x 130 = 1300

6ft casement wardrobe 6 x 200 = 1200

6ft casement wardrobe 5 x 200 = 1000

master kerb 85

master fixed panel 350

master vanity 480-550

mirror cabinet 150 x 5 = 750

plumbing accessories 10 each

install basin 60 x 2 = 120

install bidet 30 x 2 = 60

install storage heater 120

painting for 5rm 1200

lay protection 180

paint oil paint per set 30

washing 150

haulage 500 max I think

grill 1k enough cause I done my resale for 890

5rm

airoon gain city cheapest with warranty less than 3k

total 24637.5 all in issit cheaper? but I give compare with my quote only.

all included like your aircon, grill etc

sliding window 680 ??? should be range from 450 to max 500 . painting 1450 ??? should be max 1250 I guess . just this 2 items but seriously tink twice on your carpentry :no: :no: :no:

Guest Vicki Goh

It's a contractor...how abt the false ceilings and bomb shelter? overpriced?

My Id quote me false ceiling for Living room/dinning area/foyer = S$1300

If your is contractor...what kind of design he give you?

As for bomb shelter.. i do shoe cabinet with glass mirror and sliding wooden panel = 1900

but mine most is 8.5ft L ... as your is 14.5ft L..maybe ask him what design he proposed to you?

As for what i know as long your design is complicated and fanciful, cost will be higher..

However if very simple and direct .. not much design it will be alot cheaper...

As for Aircon .. too expensive..i get daikin system 3 with upgrades is S$2838 and if i did not rem wrongly starmex system 3 is S$2788 with upgrades as well.

Edited by Vicki Goh