ussername

Diy Renovation (do-it-yourslf)

Hi there.. anybody tried to DIY your renovation works?

Not too sure if someone has started similar thread before but i did try to search but can't find any thing..

The reason think of DIY renovation works is because:

Save money?

Going to stay in the house for many years.. good to see your own work again and again..

Can choose and customise your own design

Can do the work with your FH/FW together

Some of the things that i can think of is

Painting.

laying of floor tiles

Cabling works

Maybe you can add on to the list?

There are many links on the web about DIY reno if you do a search on google..

so anyone done that before?

Hi there.. anybody tried to DIY your renovation works?

Not too sure if someone has started similar thread before but i did try to search but can't find any thing..

The reason think of DIY renovation works is because:

Save money?

Going to stay in the house for many years.. good to see your own work again and again..

Can choose and customise your own design

Can do the work with your FH/FW together

Painting.

laying of floor tiles

Cabling works

Maybe you can add on to the list?

There are many links on the web about DIY reno if you do a search on google..

so anyone done that before?

i did my own painting...save around $600... thinking of making some small furnitures like shoe cabinets

pros is cheap cons is may not be as nice as professionals lor

hi there sunboi..

i think making own furniture is good. although not as professional looking.. it's still your own sweat and blood, so maybe will appreciate it better ? :)

hi there sunboi..

i think making own furniture is good. although not as professional looking.. it's still your own sweat and blood, so maybe will appreciate it better ? :)

the sense of acomplishment is ther..simple and small ones can lah but big big ones i think cannot leh... if everyone can DiY furnitures then i think no need carpenter liao lor ... haha... but it's hard work though...all the sawing, nailing,screwing etc...

Painting.

laying of floor tiles

Cabling works

I would prefer to leave the tiles/flooring and electrical cabling works to the professional. Tiles when not laid properly might "pop" up later. Electrical works for safety reasons.

hmm. good point there TYM!

Of coz for DIY the goal is to save money. so we have to be realistic on the results. (at least if it's done not too good or pop out or watever, u know it's your fault got no one to blame!)

Either u take the risk to save money.. or end up forking more to retify the works... or if done nicely it will look good??

Before DIY, i think we should read up extensively or go take a look at how the contractor do the things? for eg. lay their tiles?? install toilet bowl?? ahaha.. ask some questions etc to get an idea of what to expect.

So anyone have any more idea of wat other things can be DIY??