redbottle

Hdb's Sers

After 4 years' of waiting, we'll soon be moving to our replacement flat at Jalan Membina!

Have been surfing RenoTalk for almost a year, and have learnt a lot.

Hope to receive from and share info with all forumers!

see also my blog at http://membina.blogspot.com

Edited by redbottle

Congrats! that is very hard to get location!

i walk past this location quite often... heehee

Got buses to alot of location.

and got lots of good food around here too...

Near to my current house which i will be moving away from.. hahaha

Enjoy ur renovations :(

OH, and Spam Chop x 2. kekeke

Edited by eR1c

Hi redbottle, :)

Welcome to Renotalk T-blog, hope to see more of your renovation photos posted here. :P

We are also in the process of renovation, so trying to learn more from this forum and the experienced forumers. :)

By the way, did you get your air-con from COOLSERVE? We are quoted 2.3K for Mitsubishi Non-Invertor System 3 by our contractor but they are offering 2K inclusive of installation, so wondering if there are any hidden charges? If you got your air-con from them, any comments on their service and workmanship? :)

All the best for your renovation works! :P

Edited by tim_chenie

learning how to post photos here... :)

construction in progress...

17 Dec 2006

DSC008.jpg

DSC013.jpg

13 Jan 2007

3by4_P1090162.JPG

seems to be working :P

Edited by redbottle

Welcome to Renotalk T-blog, hope to see more of your renovation photos posted here. :)

We are also in the process of renovation, so trying to learn more from this forum and the experienced forumers. :)

By the way, did you get your air-con from COOLSERVE? We are quoted 2.3K for Mitsubishi Non-Invertor System 3 by our contractor but they are offering 2K inclusive of installation, so wondering if there are any hidden charges? If you got your air-con from them, any comments on their service and workmanship? ;)

All the best for your renovation works! :)

hi tim_chenie,

i haven't bought aircon yet.... i just surfed CoolServe website to know what's the market prices like...

Mitsubishi Electric has two types of system 3 non-inverter... one is R410A type and the other is R22 type... CoolServe quotes $2047 for the R410A one... the R22 one should be cheaper... ... R410A aircon is more environment-friendly :P all prices inclusive of installation...

which type is ur contractor quoting you???

maybe can try getting a few more quotations, say from Hong Tar, Gain City etc?? Just to be sure the contractor is giving an honest price... :P

Edited by redbottle

If u like to always on ur air-con, or switch on for a period of time, then i would suggest getting an Inverter System if ur budget allows. coz in long run, it will help u safe money from low electric usage.

my air-con is FOC from my renovator.

Mitsubishi Electric Inverter System 3 (3x9K) not sure the exact model,

but saw it Audio House that this air-con is $2.6K.

here's a list of the things I plan to do for reno... feel free to comment! :)

**for reno contractor to do:

floor:

living-dining room and bedrooms: supreme AC3 8mm

foyer and HHS: homogeneous tiles (not sure what brand yet)

ceiling:

45 cm width L-box for living-dining room

kitchen:

cement base for kitchen cabinets, fridge and wm

100 cm long tall cabinet with slot-in door for middle shelf, which will be used to put microwave, airpot and rice cooker.

230 cm long base cabinet fitted with Ikea's Rationell series of drawers and wire baskets.

230 cm long top cabinet

230 cm of samsung's staron solid surface worktop

tempered glass splashback

sliding door between kitchen and living-dining room: bottom half wood or aluminum, top half tempered glass

living-dining room:

250 cm long wall-mounted L-shape TV console

MBR:

210 cm long build-in wardrobe

electrical and plumbing:

10 downlights in living-dining room

10 ceiling lights altogether for kitchen, bedrooms, foyer, toilets and HHS

1 ceiling fan

other essential electrical plumbing works

window grill:

aluminum bronze-anodized, to cover middle section of window only i.e. don't cover the top-hung part

paint:

Nippon easy-wash paint (4 colors)

ICI Pentalite Mouldgard for ceilings of kitchen and bathrooms

front gate:

80cm tall plastic sheet to cover bottom part of gate

~~Things to buy

appliances:

tv: samsung 42" plasma

sound system: ??

media streamer: ?? (sim lim square)

fridge: panasonic magic top 300L

wm: samsung 800rpm 6.5 kg

dryer: Fisher & Paykel AD56 5 kg manual

ceiling fan for living-dining room: Crestar 56" aluminum blade with remote control

aircon: system 3 or 4 non-inverter (either Daikin MA56 or ME)

kitchen appliances:

cooker hob: 80 cm long 2-burner (Rinnai? Aerogaz?)

cooker hood: 90 cm long (not sure chimney or slim type yet)

sink: 60 cm long, 25 cm deep single-bowl (poh joo? universal union?)

furniture:

dining table: tempered glass top (Ikea? vhive?)

sofa: Ikea's Sater 2 m long half leather sofa

wardrobe: Ikea's Antonius series?

shoe cabinet: Ikea

shelves for HHS: Ikea

~~

that's all i can think of now... will update again... :yamseng:

If u like to always on ur air-con, or switch on for a period of time, then i would suggest getting an Inverter System if ur budget allows. coz in long run, it will help u safe money from low electric usage.

my air-con is FOC from my renovator.

Mitsubishi Electric Inverter System 3 (3x9K) not sure the exact model,

but saw it Audio House that this air-con is $2.6K.

hi eric!

ya, have been considering whether inverter is more worth it in the long run...

but we seldom use aircon unless it is super hot and humid...

furthermore, our flat is on high floor, so should be quite windy...

also, i use fan and aircon together cos this way aircon dun need to set very low temp, about 27 or 28 deg celcius already very comfy with the fan blowing... :deal:

so in the end, still think non-inverter is more economical... :good:

thanks for ur suggestion... really appreciate it! :yamseng:

Edited by redbottle

hi eric!

ya, have been considering whether inverter is more worth it in the long run...

but we seldom use aircon unless it is super hot and humid...

furthermore, our flat is on high floor, so should be quite windy...

also, i use fan and aircon together cos this way aircon dun need to set very low temp, about 27 or 28 deg celcius already very comfy with the fan blowing... :yamseng:

so in the end, still think non-inverter is more economical... :yamseng:

thanks for ur suggestion... really appreciate it! :)

oh, since u wouldn't be using the air-con so frequent, then non-inverter air-con will suit u just nice.

The cost of most non-inverter air-con should be less than $2K nowadays.

Look for ur ID/Contractor first and maybe they can get better pricing for u.

So when are u collecting the keys? u got the floor plan oredi?

btw, the flat with the famous $720K is at Kim Tian Place, not road. :deal:

which type is ur contractor quoting you???

maybe can try getting a few more quotations, say from Hong Tar, Gain City etc?? Just to be sure the contractor is giving an honest price... :yamseng:

Do you happen to have the contact for Hong Tar? :) Can you pm us the number and address?

Well, we are just really novice at this renovation, so trying to absorb as much information from this forum because we have no much people to consult. :deal:

Maybe will consider invertor, like what recommended by eR1C, but need to consult our budget again. :good:

P.S.: Tall HDB apartment you got there, how many storeys is that? :yamseng:

oh, since u wouldn't be using the air-con so frequent, then non-inverter air-con will suit u just nice.

The cost of most non-inverter air-con should be less than $2K nowadays.

Look for ur ID/Contractor first and maybe they can get better pricing for u.

So when are u collecting the keys? u got the floor plan oredi?

btw, the flat with the famous $720K is at Kim Tian Place, not road. :)

oops, thanks! have corrected the blog entry... :yamseng:

here's the floor plan...

not%20scaled%20floorplan.jpg

hdb says end of july... *fingers crossed*. :yamseng: .. cos i visited the construction site, although our block is apparently completed already, the remaining blocks still got cranes leh... :deal:

yupz, won't make the mistake of buying too early again :) will wait for contractor to recommend lobangs... :good:

Do you happen to have the contact for Hong Tar? :P Can you pm us the number and address?

Well, we are just really novice at this renovation, so trying to absorb as much information from this forum because we have no much people to consult. :good:

Maybe will consider invertor, like what recommended by eR1C, but need to consult our budget again. :)

P.S.: Tall HDB apartment you got there, how many storeys is that? :deal:

hi tim_chenie!

hong tar's website is

http://www.hongtar.com.sg/

ya, inverter is definitely worth it if u intend to use the aircon almost every nite... i think its better to spend a bit more upfront and save on running costs... but if u use aircon sparingly, then can consider non-inverter...

the tallest is 30 storeys... i think the newer flats at Tiong Bahru are all 30 storeys :) ... the condos there even taller :yamseng:

And the price also very 'tall' hahaha.

another thing about tiong bahru area is that, there's bound to be a funeral somewhere lor.

no choice, coz one estate liao.