zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 (edited) There are alot of delays in my renovation (those who are following my blog will know why) and it seemed very likely that I cannot complete by 12th Aug'07 (last day of Lunar 6th month). The plan was to xie-tu on 10th Aug'07 and move-in on 12th Aug'07.The remaining works that might be done in 7th month are actually not much:1. Staining/laquer of the timber flooring,2. Some carpentry,3. Cleaning up, and 4. Delivery of furniture and electrical appliances.Qn 1: So if I really really really want to move in before 7th month, can I continue to xie-tu on the 10th Aug'07 (even though works not done) and move-in on 12th?Qn 2: What are the reno works that strictly CANNOT BE DONE after xie-tu? Eg cannot drill, cannot use sandpaper, etc? What about installation of TV on the feature wall, can it be done after xie-tu? Connection of gas pipes to the stove, before or after xie-tu?? Abit confused about this...Qn 3: If all above really cannot, then can I continue works during 7th month, then xie-tu and move-in after the 7th month is over? Got mixed answers when I ask around; I know FS do not really consider 7th month as anything bad, but what about Chinese customs? Any restrictions on renovation continuing (not starting) in 7th month?I know there are alot of threads on 7th month, but after reading them, does not really answer my questions or my situation leh - sorry if got repeated questions here. Thanks for bearing with me!! Edited August 3, 2007 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 The remaining works that might be done in 7th month are actually not much:1. Staining/laquer of the timber flooring,2. Some carpentry,3. Cleaning up, and 4. Delivery of furniture and electrical appliances.only the above? stove fixed? main door fixed liao? then no worries.Qn 1: So if I really really really want to move in before 7th month, can I continue to xie-tu on the 10th Aug'07 (even though works not done) and move-in on 12th?same answer as aboveQn 2: What are the reno works that strictly CANNOT BE DONE after xie-tu? Eg cannot drill, cannot use sandpaper, etc? What about installation of TV on the feature wall, can it be done after xie-tu? Connection of gas pipes to the stove, before or after xie-tu?? Abit confused about this...focus more on hammering/floor/main door/stove - try to connect your gas pipe before xietu.Qn 3: If all above really cannot, then can I continue works during 7th month? Got mixed answers when I ask around; I know FS do not really consider 7th month as anything bad, but what about Chinese customs? Any restrictions on renovation continuing (not starting) in 7th month?continuation of unfinish reno is ok. but it really depends on who you ask, a fish market auntie? a Dangkee?then they will NO to everything. but in FS, it's the auspicious date and timing that matters, in 7th mth there good dates to move house also.most chinese customs - 1) never start hammering(reno) in 7th mth2) never move house in 7th mth Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 Wah fast one!! Haha...was worried that I cannot sleep liao got to wait until tomorrow then got people reply.Erm for stove I believe it will be installed before xie-tu. Will take note on the connecting of gas pipe, because I remember move-in got to switch on the stove right? Main door is from HDB, already installed, and I won't be changing it. So you mean if these two are done, I can xie-tu and move-in, even though some carpentry, cleaning up and some furniture are not done yet?Anything else ah? For hammering, what about those minor hammering and drilling when fixing the carpentry? You know the woodworks are all done, just need to assemble and put up; are such hammering and drilling also bad?From your last few sentences, I assume that you mean I can continue unfinished reno, but I should not xie-tu or move in until the 7th month is over, right?Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 Wah fast one!! Haha...was worried that I cannot sleep liao got to wait until tomorrow then got people reply.bcos me heart ngeow ngeow insist on answering your question(1am+) - kena scold by wife for loving the computer too much... Erm for stove I believe it will be installed before xie-tu. Will take note on the connecting of gas pipe, because I remember move-in got to switch on the stove right? Main door is from HDB, already installed, and I won't be changing it. So you mean if these two are done, I can xie-tu and move-in, even though some carpentry, cleaning up and some furniture are not done yet?floor tiles, kitchen tiles done, stove done, main door done = can xietu liao(in your case)Anything else ah? For hammering, what about those minor hammering and drilling when fixing the carpentry? You know the woodworks are all done, just need to assemble and put up; are such hammering and drilling also bad?these are minor stuffs - some of my stuffs were done even after i already moved in.From your last few sentences, I assume that you mean I can continue unfinished reno, but I should not xie-tu or move in until the 7th month is over, right?Thanks!can xietu, can move house also but i prefer you engage a Pro FSM to see your bazi and choose a auspicious date within 7th mth.sidetrack a bit - for my house, i even choose proper dates for AN the door, AN the stove apart from all the standard fs procedures. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 these are minor stuffs - some of my stuffs were done even after i already moved in.can xietu, can move house also but i prefer you engage a Pro FSM to see your bazi and choose a auspicious date within 7th mth.sidetrack a bit - for my house, i even choose proper dates for AN the door, AN the stove apart from all the standard fs procedures.Thanks for your prompt reply!For your place, how did you move in when the carpenters are still working?? Isn't it very dusty? Or do you mean you did the "move-in" procedures but did not stay there until later?If this is the case I would carry on to xie-tu on 10th Aug'07 and move-in on 12th Aug'07 liao, then continue to do the works after that.What do you mean by AN the stove? My granite top is not done yet, they already "place" the stove over the hole, but not seal yet and gas pipe also not connected. Does AN the stove means to seal and connect it properly? If so, any good dates to do that for next week? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 Thanks for your prompt reply!For your place, how did you move in when the carpenters are still working?? Isn't it very dusty? Or do you mean you did the "move-in" procedures but did not stay there until later?If this is the case I would carry on to xie-tu on 10th Aug'07 and move-in on 12th Aug'07 liao, then continue to do the works after that.What do you mean by AN the stove? My granite top is not done yet, they already "place" the stove over the hole, but not seal yet and gas pipe also not connected. Does AN the stove means to seal and connect it properly? If so, any good dates to do that for next week? some of the minors works like drillings/painting/shifting of furnitures were done after/before xietu and house moving.安炉 = needs auspicious day + time also. meaning place the stove and start fire. not necessary unless you hardcore into fs. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 some of the minors works like drillings/painting/shifting of furnitures were done after/before xietu and house moving.安炉 = needs auspicious day + time also. meaning place the stove and start fire. not necessary unless you hardcore into fs.OIC - thanks alot! Will be consulting my FSM on Monday for the dates liao...appreciated your help! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 OIC - thanks alot! Will be consulting my FSM on Monday for the dates liao...appreciated your help!no problem...hopes this is not a xia suay trap - wahahahhaha...still cannot forget that thread - really bueytahan i even send the link to all my frens. just joking hor.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 no problem...hopes this is not a xia suay trap - wahahahhaha...still cannot forget that thread - really bueytahan i even send the link to all my frens. just joking hor.. Huh, sorry don't get what you talking about?? Share share leh...what xia suay trap? You mean I trap someone ah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 Huh, sorry don't get what you talking about?? Share share leh...what xia suay trap? You mean I trap someone ah? http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=8614 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 5, 2007 http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=8614Haha... That doesn't apply to you lor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 Haha... That doesn't apply to you lor... i actually read it 3-4 times n each time i laugh my a** off. you good sah...like the way you describe things - i have a few friends who are car agents. normally the rich pays CASH - cos they too ngeow to pay interest. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites