Umaisarah

Natural Living

I've got this solid wood 2mx1m dining table, 6 teak dining chairs and a 1.8m teak sideboard.

The dining table is in fairly good shape, only scratches and colour fading on the top.

The dining chairs and sideboard is pretty bad with mould and faded varnish/wax.

Dun hv pictures to post rt now, mbe later when I'm not so lazy :D

anyway, contacted www.furniturereborn.com.sg which specialises in revarnishing, repairing and making your old furniture look brand new.

I know abt them cuz I happen to see their van on the road one day, and the co. name stuck in my head. Surfed their website and they had pictures of how they did their work, and was quite impressed.

Aloysius and his dad (I think) came down to assess the condition. They said my teakboard and chairs were very poorly done in the first place, so tts why its mouldy and faded.

(**** you, Mirage Teak House! No wonder I bought it so cheap tt time!)

They quoted me $1,800 to revarnish the three items - $1,200 for the dining table+6 chairs and $600 for the sideboard. I thot might as well i buy a new sideboard, can get for below $500 (anyone wants a mouldy teak sideboard :P). But I want to keep the dining table and now torn whether I should part with $1.2K to revarnish it. Or should I just lv it be? Its still in okay condition except for a very obvious stain left behind by a very hot pot. I dun feel like revarnishing the chairs cuz I dun find it comfortable, but dining chairs are so ex, especially the nicer-looking ones. Frankly, I'm looking for more modern design but DH still wants wooden chairs, so I'm trying to slowly psycho him. Went down to The Life Shop sale at Balestier last weekend, but nothing really caught my fancy.

So, for the time being, me and DH has decided to KIV this. More impt to buy lights (which we have done, yeah!) and switches.

Hvn't contacted any other company for 2nd opinion yet cuz no time. Mbe will try Mr Wood Varnish.

Anyone knows any other company who can do revarnishing for much less than $1.2k?

Ya, sometimes its the id problem and not totally the co. Anyway, still considering and i also getting Henry from id note to quote. Heard so much gd reviews on hime, must try and see. Its good to save $. :D

I've got this solid wood 2mx1m dining table, 6 teak dining chairs and a 1.8m teak sideboard.

The dining table is in fairly good shape, only scratches and colour fading on the top.

The dining chairs and sideboard is pretty bad with mould and faded varnish/wax.

Dun hv pictures to post rt now, mbe later when I'm not so lazy :D

anyway, contacted www.furniturereborn.com.sg which specialises in revarnishing, repairing and making your old furniture look brand new.

I know abt them cuz I happen to see their van on the road one day, and the co. name stuck in my head. Surfed their website and they had pictures of how they did their work, and was quite impressed.

Aloysius and his dad (I think) came down to assess the condition. They said my teakboard and chairs were very poorly done in the first place, so tts why its mouldy and faded.

(**** you, Mirage Teak House! No wonder I bought it so cheap tt time!)

They quoted me $1,800 to revarnish the three items - $1,200 for the dining table+6 chairs and $600 for the sideboard. I thot might as well i buy a new sideboard, can get for below $500 (anyone wants a mouldy teak sideboard :P). But I want to keep the dining table and now torn whether I should part with $1.2K to revarnish it. Or should I just lv it be? Its still in okay condition except for a very obvious stain left behind by a very hot pot. I dun feel like revarnishing the chairs cuz I dun find it comfortable, but dining chairs are so ex, especially the nicer-looking ones. Frankly, I'm looking for more modern design but DH still wants wooden chairs, so I'm trying to slowly psycho him. Went down to The Life Shop sale at Balestier last weekend, but nothing really caught my fancy.

So, for the time being, me and DH has decided to KIV this. More impt to buy lights (which we have done, yeah!) and switches.

Hvn't contacted any other company for 2nd opinion yet cuz no time. Mbe will try Mr Wood Varnish.

Anyone knows any other company who can do revarnishing for much less than $1.2k?

Wow. The vanishing is very expensive. I went to pagoda teak near Sims Ave, a 1.25m marble top round table with 6 chairs (can choose the type of chairs within their range) is like $1,250. You can choose the color of vanish including black. You can check with them if they do revanishing. Else you can always take the chance to replace the chairs.

I dun intend to change my table cuz I really like it, despite the scratches and stains.

But tt teak sideboard has to go. Either I revarnish for $600 or get a new one, or dun hv a sideboard lor. saves some space at my new place :D

Ya, sometimes its the id problem and not totally the co. Anyway, still considering and i also getting Henry from id note to quote. Heard so much gd reviews on hime, must try and see. Its good to save $. :D

Ah, you want to join the Henner club :D I only found out abt the club after I signed with my ID.

Good luck on your ID search! Any plans to do a blog?

I dun intend to change my table cuz I really like it, despite the scratches and stains.

But tt teak sideboard has to go. Either I revarnish for $600 or get a new one, or dun hv a sideboard lor. saves some space at my new place :D

I think I did not make myself clear..:P. I mean you can buy new chairs for $100 each, or contact them to check if they do revarnishing too. :D

Edited by Zelly

Managed to scan my 3D drawings using my office copier (sshhh....don't tell anyone ;)

Here's the 3D for my Living/Dining Room.

4475309437_9169f5005c.jpg

Main works I'm doing here is the TV console (2-tier on a raised platform) and feature wall (a pair of ceiling height wood laminate 'pillars' - u can see only one of it at the far right of the pic - and a suspended laminate wall in between for the TV). Also the L-Box above the TV console and false ceiling at dining and Veneer L box in the middle of the room, dividing the living and dining. I really like this one, saw it in a mag and asked my ID to incorporate in the design. There's also a Stucco wall for the dining feature wall.

The furniture shown here is just for show. Eg my sofa is L-shaped but it is in natural material, brownish colour with dark brown covers.

But I'm planning to change the covers to B&W stripe for the top (leaning) part and yellow for the bottom (seating part). I saw an actual sofa with tt combination in one of my shopping expeditions. I think it will help brighten up the place but not sure if the combination will be too far out :unsure:

My curtains will also be dark - tt's why I'm planning to change the material for the living room again :P But the darker colour will be a nice offset to the plain bright walls, so it's 50-50. Mbe I'll just change the day curtains colour :unsure:

Next one here is for my MBR.

4475309315_5c4ec62575.jpg

I'm not actually doing anything much here, just the L-Box around the room, the study table on the bay window and a TV wall (cannot see).

I'm planning to have a hanging light near the round pillar as a decorative piece, otherwise the room will look pretty boring. DH chose the wall colour, he really likes it as it reminds him of our (soon-to-be) old home (aawwww!). My ID managed to scan in the picture of my new bed for this drawing :)

I think I did not make myself clear..:P. I mean you can buy new chairs for $100 each, or contact them to check if they do revarnishing too. :D

Oh, sorry :P $100 for the chairs, hmmmm not bad....mbe I'll check it out. Where in Sims Avenue is it? I planning to go that area this Friday. Want to check out Choo Chiang for switches.

Here's the 3D for eldest daughter room, she's going to 12 this year, and so really growing up.

What's with kids these days? She's into purple, hot pink and black! what happen to blue and pink and yellow?

4475359367_b8d4417426.jpg

Doing the study table and top hung cabinets. Bringing over our old Billy Bookcases. She chose the purple colour wall herself.

If you notice the bay window, one end will hv this slanted ledge for her and her sisters to chill out while spying on the neighbours.

I'm also going to have that slanted ledge for the MBR for me to chill out and check out the hunk.... in my room lah...... :P

To sidetrack, I came across this Canadian furniture company which specialises in unique hand-made furniture. It was featured in RT.

It's called Straightline Design. Check the website out. I made some enquiries, and yes, they do not come cheap, just like this Tree Bookshelf I fell in love with :( Mbe KIV for next bonus time :D

Finally, 3D for my other 2 daughters' room. This is where the major carpentry works happen.

4476137552_659d128c85.jpg

Doing the bay bed and the loft bed with the study table below it. We requested for the loft bed not to be too tall (about 1.6m) as we're going to have a ceiling fan in the room. With this design, we free up the floor space so they can chill out and hv more space to throw their mess about :) But they still hv place to do their h/w or revising. But one of them has got to share study space with the eldest next door. Wall colour supposed to be yellow but didn't come out well in the 3D rendering.

4475359367_b8d4417426.jpg

The 3D drawing for the study table for your eldest daughter is the reason why I don't "trust" designer.

The 3D loosk nice but it's not practical and ergonomic because there is not enough depth.

As you can see from the 3D, the depth is just nice for the laptop. Imagine you are typing with your arms hanging, it would be very tiring.

The 3D drawing for the study table for your eldest daughter is the reason why I don't "trust" designer.

The 3D loosk nice but it's not practical and ergonomic because there is not enough depth.

As you can see from the 3D, the depth is just nice for the laptop. Imagine you are typing with your arms hanging, it would be very tiring.

Wah! Your eyes so sharp one, sure no ID can smoke u :D

Well, e 3D drawing is just tt, a drawing. I dun xpect it to b drawn to scale nor be an actual representation of how e real thing will turn out. At least it helps me visualize how e materials n colour combination will work.

My ID has actually gone thru e perspective drawing with me which is more impt cuz e carpenter will use it when they construct the thing. My ID asks if I want 500 or 600mm for e depth. I choose 600mm n tts e depth of my current computer tbl so I think it's ok. Sm thing goes for e other carpentry works.

If e ID just show 3D n nvr follow up w u on detailed measurements n perspectives then I agree tt ID is not to b trusted. So customer must b smart enuf to ask n find out. To depend entirely on e 3D as a reference is also not correct cuz I consider it just as a tool to visualize.

Anyway tt's my opinion only mah. Bottom line is customer must oso do hmwk lor.....

Anyone heard of Koan Lighting? It's an online store, based in Singapore which sells 'Asian-inspired' lights.

I dunno how I came across their website, but I ended up ordering 2 sets of their ZE Light. They have a buy-1-get-1-free offer, so in total I hv 4!

What is ZE light? Well, its a DIY light which you assemble yourself according to the design you like.

I liked it cuz it was just the type of light me and DH wanted for our MBR and it was cheap. $39.90 for a 30-cm diameter lamp (without the light cord and bulb).

Here's a pic.

4476324664_4d39b33db4.jpg

They sent it to you in 30 plastic pieces and you're supposed to fix them up together like a jigsaw puzzle. I bought 4 sets, so tt's 120 pieces, and I can make a 60-cm diameter lamp.

Tried to superimpose the lamp in my MBR 3D drawing and this is what I came up with:

4476324548_320fb37c73_o.jpg

Look quite nice, I think :P

The walls of my MBR look quite plain, so I'm planning to get some decals. Found one at Winkplay which matches the ZE lamp perfectly :yeah:

4476324856_839f08661b.jpg

Wah! Your eyes so sharp one, sure no ID can smoke u :D

Well, e 3D drawing is just tt, a drawing. I dun xpect it to b drawn to scale nor be an actual representation of how e real thing will turn out. At least it helps me visualize how e materials n colour combination will work.

My ID has actually gone thru e perspective drawing with me which is more impt cuz e carpenter will use it when they construct the thing. My ID asks if I want 500 or 600mm for e depth. I choose 600mm n tts e depth of my current computer tbl so I think it's ok. Sm thing goes for e other carpentry works.

If e ID just show 3D n nvr follow up w u on detailed measurements n perspectives then I agree tt ID is not to b trusted. So customer must b smart enuf to ask n find out. To depend entirely on e 3D as a reference is also not correct cuz I consider it just as a tool to visualize.

Anyway tt's my opinion only mah. Bottom line is customer must oso do hmwk lor.....

Yes. I agree totally. :good: They do give us the dimensions rite. It is our 'duty' to ensure the dimensions arewhat we are okie with. After all, we are the end users. Many thought hiring a ID means u can sit down and relax but it is not true at all. :)

Yes, yes :good: No relaxing even if you engage the most famous and expensive ID.

RT is full of stories of pple who take their ID and contractor for granted and got burnt.

Unless you the type who heck care and dun mind living in a house which doesn't hv any of your personal touches or inputs at all.

That's why I like your home, Mickey! :D When pple see, they sure know it's yours :)

Very unique and different, with its own personality. Something you said in your blog about other houses being almost the same, with the same feature wall, TV console etc, really strike me, cuz I think that's what my house is going to be :( No $$ to make it unique and anyway, can't change a lot to the structure of the place. But hopefully with the soft furnishing and the odds and ends, it'll look more like Umaisarah & Family home.... :D

Can't wait to see the final completion of your house. Take so long leh..... but you're like the 'real' Mickey Mouse...I nvr see him throw a tantrum! :D

Oh, sorry :P $100 for the chairs, hmmmm not bad....mbe I'll check it out. Where in Sims Avenue is it? I planning to go that area this Friday. Want to check out Choo Chiang for switches.

You can go to the web site for more details bah. I know about this shop because everytime i take the east bound mrt I see a rooftop with wood furniture in geylang area. :P . pagoda teak