Taurean

Blanco Granite Kitchen Sink

Would appreciate if anyone whom have used granite sink before to give advice. Is it easy to maintain and durable? Got any cons as compared to the regular Stainless Steel sink?

TIA

Regards,

Taurean

Would appreciate if anyone whom have used granite sink before to give advice. Is it easy to maintain and durable? Got any cons as compared to the regular Stainless Steel sink?

TIA

Regards,

Taurean

We have been using Granite Sink for the past 8 yrs, no problem at all. I won't say there are pros and cons but just that dun like the "clan clan clan" sound that stainless steel sink make. Will be getting granite sink for my new place.

thing about granite sink is

when you drop glasses in stainless steel sink, you go oops

when you drop glasses in granite sink, you go OUCH :(

i'm using composite sink now (80% granite) and so far so good

no need to worry about water stains

but got to be careful when washing dishes coz drop means chips :(

when you drop glasses in granite sink, you go OUCH :deal:

but got to be careful when washing dishes coz drop means chips :P

Is it?

I mean if drop plate or cup should be ok right?

Of couse if drop hammer...then finished liao.

But I am sure it is very durable lah (composite sink).

I intend to buy one.

Still thinking granite sink, composite sink, or stainless steel sink???

hmmmmmmmm...

Thanks all for the inputs :)

when you drop glasses in granite sink, you go OUCH 8|

but got to be careful when washing dishes coz drop means chips :(

:bangwall: Really that easy to chip ar?

Aiyo... muz factor this in when deciding which to get.

eh i means the dishes will chip

if drop glass means the glass will most prob shatter

the sink is so HARD that it's like dropping on stone loh

Aiyo misunderstood your meaning :dancingqueen: LOL

there are a lot of composite sink on the market

so far i've not seen a real granite sink in singapore

sinks in singapore are basically made of granite bits bonded together

blanco, franke and some others are at least 80% granite

so do be careful and ask before you buy how many % of granite

coz the less % means the sink is not so hardy

i paid $399 for the blanco metra9 coz it's always on promo

the rest of blanco's sink are a little too pricey for me

had my eyes on another one but it's $2k :dancingqueen: :dancingqueen:

I just ordered a blanco metra9 sink too.. Like the big, deep bowl => put a 16cm wok down no problem at all. Also like the squarish modern design, which is less seen in SS sinks. THe sales person used coin to try scratching it, and it leaves no markings. This sink on promo @ Hoe Kee at $399, and I ordered a Blanco tap at $100 discount.. Good deal !!

Btw, any advise about choosing the colors for granite sinks? I heard from others that if it's a light color, it would be more susceptible to stains e.g. red curry.. I'm planning to get the black one.

I just ordered a blanco metra9 sink too.. Like the big, deep bowl => put a 16cm wok down no problem at all. Also like the squarish modern design, which is less seen in SS sinks. THe sales person used coin to try scratching it, and it leaves no markings. This sink on promo @ Hoe Kee at $399, and I ordered a Blanco tap at $100 discount.. Good deal :)

Btw, any advise about choosing the colors for granite sinks? I heard from others that if it's a light color, it would be more susceptible to stains e.g. red curry.. I'm planning to get the black one.

Hi Crrabb,

I bought a black blanco sink too w/o the tap because their tap are too pricey.

Black sink look classic and it matches my black stove too.

In fact, we decided on black sink before deciding to get a black glass-top hob as advised by ID. :)

Agree their taps a bit pricey, now that I checked out other similar models costing only half of the Blanco tap price after discount. But I guess they are still ok compared to the Franke models that was made in china and costing more. (Assumed that blanco taps are made in germany/canada, as indicated by their production sites listed in website...)

Glad to see so many good feedback on granite sink, cos really dint do any research before getting it :P. Originally targeting SS sinks cos metal seems to be more classy and heat-resistant, just that we couldn't find one with deep-enough bowl.

In fact, we decided on black sink before deciding to get a black glass-top hob as advised by ID. :unsure:

Agree their taps a bit pricey, now that I checked out other similar models costing only half of the Blanco tap price after discount. But I guess they are still ok compared to the Franke models that was made in china and costing more. (Assumed that blanco taps are made in germany/canada, as indicated by their production sites listed in website...)

Glad to see so many good feedback on granite sink, cos really dint do any research before getting it :dancingqueen:. Originally targeting SS sinks cos metal seems to be more classy and heat-resistant, just that we couldn't find one with deep-enough bowl.

Can you all please share with me where you all bought the granite sink from? I never knew about this and want to explore this option for my new house.

How about the installation is it expensive.

In my current house(rented) we have granite kitchen table top and SS sink. But the sink leaks on the top, I mean along the installtion, not at the bottom. so I am worried that we would face similar problem in the new house.

What care should be taken to avoid these problems.