jaCKY777

Less Is More, More Is Less

Hi Jacky,

Pics remind me of my younger & kiddy days in TP.. Tot curved blk in 1st pic is Blk 157@Lor 1 cos facing junction, din know Lor5.. Those Pt Blks 191, 193.. (os old NTUC, near Courts) used to house SEA? Games sportsmen who took part @opp Stadium. When Games over, sold2 locals (my relative stayed there for decades b4 their recent move).

Miss da library Fountain, da Garden... Now, I DO remember tat Silver Stream/River aircon food place(wah, so long ago oredi)! Used to hv meals there w relatives/ frequent my fave mutton soup, haha! dunno where it moved to.

Thanx for bringin us down memory lane!! :sport-smiley-003: & oso Congratz on ur commencement of reno!

Edited by Hana79

Toa Payoh pics

Observation/viewing Gallery

- roof top of blk 53 lor 5.

- i suppose it was e 1st viewing gallery in TPY.

- i remember i ever heard it was a viewing gallery, s i was stil very young then, din pay much attention abt it. Only by chance recently, i cum across dis pic.

- e unique part abt dis blk is dat it is e only blk in TPY 2b in 'Y' shape if look frm top.

- it is stil around but upgraded.

- its surrounding neighbourhood shops had since closed or relocated due 2 poor business.

- well, TPY is a ageing town, many post 65ers had moved out wen they got married & get a bigger hdb flat elsewher.

- TPY is e 1st satelite town & 2nd housing estate in SG during e 1960s wen public housing was 1st started.

- many of e flats were 1, 2 & 3rm units.

f_Highlights5m_1e79a51.jpg

Toa Payoh Lor 3

- wet market in e centre, 4 storey dwelling units with shops at 1st storey, living quarters at 2nd storey, surrounding e wet market.

- pic shown is during 1960s.

- e open surface carpark was a probm of insuffiecient lots, it is replaced with a mscp.

- e surounding tall blks had olso been upgraded

f_19980001720m_6e290ac.jpg

Toa Payoh Central Fountain

- dis is e infamous fountain of TPY.

- s mentioned earlier, it had since been replaced.

- during e nite, there r lighting effect & water fountains within e pool.

- its really a central of attraction in TPY. Something like e 'musical fountain' in Sentosa.

- e building on e left was 'Kong Chian' cinema. It had since been closed dn & replaced by a arcade then a kopitiam then a food court again at e 1st storey.

- stil remember e cinema was olways packed during e nites, esp wkends.

- & e 'kacan putei' @ <$1 (4goten how many cents liao), & e ticket 2 e show was abt $2.50/pax normal seats, circle/couple seats which were at e 2nd storey were abt $4.50/pax.

- within e same building, current tenants r Macdonalds, 'Happy' restaurant, 'shop & save' supermarket etc.

- dis Macdonalds was e 1st in TPY or mayb 1st in housing estate in e late 1980s. So can u gues how many yrs dis Mac oulet had been existence?

- stil remember my sec class mate used 2work partime there, i'd tried 2 get some free meal wenever i wen looking 4 him. hehe

- dis 'Happy' restaurant was oleady there wen i was born. Las time used 2 b called 'Lucky' restaurant.

- mayb i shall post e pics but meantime check out e fountain pic.

f_990965113c1m_2d21197.jpg

Toa Payoh Roundabout

- dis is e infamous roundabout in TPY.

- it used 2b at e current cross-junction b4 TPY flyover. (frm hdbhub, travelling 2wards Jln Toa Payoh or Balestier Rd).

- on e top rite of e pix is e old bus interchange. It is now replaced by HDBHub.

- i stil remember, 'younger days', njoys riding my bike round & round e round abt. Haha.

f_TPYroundabom_6ae3d07.png

Write-up on Toa Payoh frm wikipedia

Toa Payoh Walkabout write-up in yr 2000

Jacky, really kudos to you... :bow::bow::bow:

Managed to get so many old photos of Toa Payoh, really brought back some fond childhood memories.. My grandma used to live in Toa Payoh and mama will bring us to visit her every weekend, Toa Payoh central was a must pass by place every week.. After my grandma passed away 10 years ago, we didn't really visit Toa Payoh very often anymore.. Recently, we went to Toa Payoh Gardens for dinner, the park didn't change much, but its some what different now.. Can't really describe the feeling, but its just not the same...

Hi Jacky,

Pics remind me of my younger & kiddy days in TP.. Tot curved blk in 1st pic is Blk 157@Lor 1 cos facing junction, din know Lor5.. Those Pt Blks 191, 193.. (os old NTUC, near Courts) used to house SEA? Games sportsmen who took part @opp Stadium. When Games over, sold2 locals (my relative stayed there for decades b4 their recent move).

Miss da library Fountain, da Garden... Now, I DO remember tat Silver Stream/River aircon food place(wah, so long ago oredi)! Used to hv meals there w relatives/ frequent my fave mutton soup, haha! dunno where it moved to.

Thanx for bringin us down memory lane!! :sport-smiley-003: & oso Congratz on ur commencement of reno!

Hi Hana

As per my hubby (a tpy kid) the mutton soup is the one at the basement foodcourt in HDB Hub. Taste still as nice :good:

Hey Jacky

Its really nice to see the collated photos...really brings back the memories of my first MRT ride organised by my primary school when MRT was first launched, my first class outing to TPY KFC after we has our inter-school games in TPY sports complex....i believe the TPY Park is also a very famous place in TPY....most of our parents who took their wedding day photo at the Toa Payoh park (I see the same spot, same bridge, same pond...same banyang tree in my parents, my husband's parents, my classmates parents' wedding photos :notti::notti:

Edited by howlupjac

Jacky,

Lazy to post ur reno progress ah??? Hehe....

Looking forward to wat's install in your own home..... sure very powderful ah... :notti:

- yalor, lazy loh.

- actually got sum hipcups along e way.

- stop updating 4 sumtime than now kinda lagged behind liao.

- well, i think mine is more powderful than urs interms of colours.

- my living rm itself oleady got 5 colours, actually is 1 colour in 5 shades/tone. :notti:

- some say very retro, some say beli nice, some say wow...

Toa Payoh Town in 2000s

- quite a nos. of events took place or r taking place.

- in e late 1900s, i shifted out of TPY, my childhood playground.

- frm late 1900s to present, i m not residing in TPY, so did not witness e events.

- some events were captured in pix & store in National Archives of Singapore. But most pix were restricted access esp with influential political figures in them.

- aniway, as at Oct 2008, my reno is 95% completed.

- there were some hiccups, so had not been updating this thread.

- some frnds find dat i'm knowledgeable in reno stuff s compare 2 them s they noe nuts.

- I kinda admit i do noe slightly more than them due 2 my formal education & profession.

- although i'm not in2 Interior Design & Renovation trade, my >10yrs of working experience had made me easier 2 pick up e essentials in Designing & Renovating a dream home.

- I had olso gain quite a substantial amount of knowledge in Renotalk

- still, my conclusion is dat there is no renovation w/o defects here & there, b it minor or major.

The most important thing is communication. Dat is y by getting a ID/Contractor whom 1 can click is very important.

I would rather spend more with a contractor who understands & noes & can produce wat i wan than 2 save $$$ on 1 who cant see eye 2 eye. Spend $$$ but save $$$, jus 2 buy unhappiness is not wat many of us wan. e fact is, 1 gona live in e newly renovated hm 4 quite a nos. of yrs & not jus few mths. So which is better?

- not agreeable in design & pricing?

Gota discuss or argue til both parties agree then proceed. Watever agreed upon gota b written dn black & white & countersign by all parties (client & service provider signature w company letterhead, each gota hav a copy)

- not assuming ID/Contractor can read ur mind?

Gota say out clearly wat 1 wans, best is sketch out & written dn & countersign by all parties.

- not sure wat 1 is getting?

Gota ask til 1 is sure of wat he is getting s e end product then proceed. Esp brands of laminates & finishes, types of materials, conventional or improvised methods of construction & installation. Most important is 2 make noe 2 e contractor 1 do not wan 2 see dis & dat.

- not sure wat is going on or wen u need 2 buy items like elect appliances etc?

Gota ask e 4 a schedule time-table/timeline. If do not hav, gota make sure 1 is being informed b4hand 2 purchase on ur own if necessary. Sizes of elect appliances do affect e overall design of e reno & e date of delivery is olso important.

- not confident in paying?

Gota wait til 1 sees e uploading or installing of e items than pay. Esp carpentry, if got time, go dn 2 e factory 2 see how they fabricate, whether got sav-up e materials anot. Most ID/contractor gona collect $$$ b4 upload of carpentry, saying its their practice, gota pay suppliers blah blah blah. Well, dis gota depends on how 1 negotiate with e contractor during day 1 discussion b4 signing of contract, e payment scheme & methods.

- not confident in e after-sales-service?

Gota clarify til 1 is satisfied. Esp condition of materials, 1 gota expect all materials 2b new w/o defects. If got defects, they gota replace it asap w/o compromising.

- all dis sounded kinda kiasi, kiasu or fussy. But its better dis way than getting not wat 1 wans & gota spend more $$$ 2 finally get wat 1 wans. Unhappiness along e way wil b minimized.

- If they say, 'u beli demanding lei, earn ur little bit $$$ beli e hard lei'.

Then u can say, 'bobain lei, $$$ olso hard 4 mi 2 earn. if u cant meet my requirements & gif mi wat i wan, then too bad 4 u loh. There r many ID & Contractors out there who r most willing 2 take up my job.

:rolleyes:

Edited by jaCKY777

hi jacky,

i'm new here in renotalk and will be your new neighbour in tpy too. i've just got my unit at blk 79E from hdb oct half yearly sales and will be getting my keys end of this month. mine's the 4-room 75sqm. how about yours?

care to show some of your newly reno pics here?

as for me, i'm still getting quotation from id. hope to start reno asap after getting keys, so that can complete before my customary in march.

hope to hear from you.

later,

roy

Is this blk at tpy ctr? but i really missed the old kiddy palace and the old feel of the popular bkshop at 2nd/3rd storey becos last time i always went to tpy to shop shop