weekuan7

Renovation Procedure / Process (when To Do What)

I wanted to check when to do what when finding a interior designer.

Please help advise on the various milestones.

1. List down to-do list and get a few interior designer to quote.

2. Look through their quote and rough design and improve it.

My questions are:

When do we eliminate the rest of the ID?

When do we get the 3-D design?

When can we see their sample flat to have a a feel of the worksmanship?

When do we sign the contract?

There are many others like buying of bathroom accessories, lightings.

Pls help list out to help all those 1st timer like me so that we will not be at a lost what to do next.

I wanted to check when to do what when finding a interior designer.

Please help advise on the various milestones.

My questions are:

When do we eliminate the rest of the ID?

When do we get the 3-D design?

When can we see their sample flat to have a a feel of the worksmanship?

When do we sign the contract?

There are many others like buying of bathroom accessories, lightings.

Pls help list out to help all those 1st timer like me so that we will not be at a lost what to do next.

we are having the same thing about how to go round doing this. i just started a new topic on the same topic as your

3. 1st round of eliminate

4. See the actual house and get the final quotation

5. 2nd round of eliminate

6. FINAL CHOICE - can discount anot or any freebies to thrown in.

7. Sign Contract

a) When do we eliminate the rest of the ID?

Anytime, as long as u dun like the ID, he would be eliminated.

b)When do we get the 3-D design?

As soon as they done drawing it. Roughly 2 week should be enough lah.

Note: Dun pay them money for the 3D design 1st, if they say company policy. U jolly well walk out without 2nd thought.

c)When can we see their sample flat to have a a feel of the worksmanship?

If they have it in hand, they would invite u after the 1st round of eliminating.

d)When do we sign the contract?

Definitely after u make your decision at last.

Note: Some firm tells u to pay deposit 1st to chop a good price and if u later dun want to choose us we will refund you.

Dun believe them "chop their head" instead coz u won't be getting your deposit back. In the end when u forfeit then they will threaten to sue u

saying that u got sign contract with them. It's a TRAP used at their booth in singapore expo.

7. Sign Contract

Note: Dun pay them money for the 3D design 1st, if they say company policy. U jolly well walk out without 2nd thought.

If they have it in hand, they would invite u after the 1st round of eliminating.

Note: Some firm tells u to pay deposit 1st to chop a good price and if u later dun want to choose us we will refund you.

Dun believe them "chop their head" instead coz u won't be getting your deposit back. In the end when u forfeit then they will threaten to sue u

saying that u got sign contract with them. It's a TRAP used at their booth in singapore expo.

Wah...serious ar.They do this kinda things?

I belief u can ask them to put down in black n white ur requirements before signing,no?

Guest poetsdesign

7. Sign Contract

Thanks for your information

if you need some Interior items to decorate your house, come directly to my store

for more information click below

Make sure you look for contractor with HDB Licence or else if you have problem in disputes it is very difficult to resolved as contractor always had cash flow problem and they will always ask for advance payment. Make sure you make progressive payment and do not buy in their auntie/uncle stories.

Hi TS,

I am at the same stage as you are.

In fact I m even unsure to hire a ID or a contractor directly, but I guess I will go for an ID to come up with a design den follow up.

Normally,

Upon confirmation u need to pay - 10% of the agreed price

Upon commencement of renovation works - 40%

Upon delivery of materials on site/carpentry works - 40%

Upon completion - 10% (make sure defects is all done then pay up)

Ask whether can waive gst charges or not!

It comes in thousands of dollars.

Some dont charge, some charge.

Take a look at the bottoom of all quotations.

If never stated, ask them, cos' they might hid the gst to make the quatation attractive.

Once sign, they will tell you gst charge!

Got it?

Ask whether can waive gst charges or not!

It comes in thousands of dollars.

Some dont charge, some charge.

Take a look at the bottoom of all quotations.

If never stated, ask them, cos' they might hid the gst to make the quatation attractive.

Once sign, they will tell you gst charge!

Got it?

Yup..yup..

yeah, and ask thick-skinned a bit. like some small small stuff, ask them to give you foc. like certain hinges or what, ask them to give you free leh. or for the painting part, ask them to use a better brand/quality paint, the corrugated paper for laying on your floor when they do hacking, foc etc etc. all these small small things will add up to a lot.

Agree with Pinklady.

When you ask for discounts too early (like during the price negotiation but before signing contract), the ID may [plan] tend to cut corners. Instead, go with his price but ask for free, small things that doesn't cost much - like hinges, like the extra colours in the paint, or additional hacking job. It is so much easier for the ID to give you small free things than to ask his boss for that 5% discount.

Make it easy for the ID and he will make it easy for you! Works for most business (not only renovation).