The Dew Bt Batok Street 21 19 Jul 2003

Bishan Loft Bishan Street 11 26 Sep 2003

Lilydale Yishun Avenue 6 29 Mar 2003

Nuovo Ang Mo Kio Avenue 9 #31 Aug 2004

Park Green Rivervale Link 30 Sep 2004

Whitewater Pasir Ris Street 72 *31 Jan 2005 01 Mar 2005

The Esparis Pasir Ris Drive 4 #22 Jun 2005

My sister bought the EC called Woodsvale in woodlands at $590K. last year she sold it off for around $680. think the place is about 8 or 9 years old.

i think this amount she made not bad leh for the location.

After deduct the loan interest, legal $, renov , the total profit is less than 30k after 8yrs. To me not a good profit.

l have 2 coliks who bought ECs in 2000. They bought abt 550k plus.

Today they can sell between 650k~720k. After deduct the interest, legal$, agent comm, the return is around 50k,

Basically they said regretted buying. If they have bought at subsized HDB flat, the return today is >100%, they can even save enough $$ for pte downpayment.

If less than 50k is a handsome profit to all, then I have nothing to say.

Those 1st time owners of Bishan Loft EC are making huge profit if they are selling theirs. The asking price is ~$800+psf now.

So far, this is the best EC location.

Grant already offest all above + they get free stay :)

How come you know she got grant? Just did a quick check, Woodsvale's transactions volume quite high, 10 year already.

Free stay: $1500x12x10yr = $180,000.

I stayed at my 5rm for 13 yr before rented out for 11 months @1400, so "earned" free stay

1400x12x13 = $218,400??? may be discount a bit: 1000x12x13 = $156,000??

How come you know she got grant? Just did a quick check, Woodsvale's transactions volume quite high, 10 year already.

Grant is the carrot attached first timer EC iand the drawing factor that justify the affordable Condo style living when EC was just launch in 2000 :)

Buy resale HDB also got grant. Grant = subsized flat for 1st timer.

LPPL

yes, the 'profit' is nothing to shout about. but given that location, dont lose money can take back a bit can smile liao. i remember some time in 2005 or 2006, she told me can sell off for only $380k...

My sister bought the EC called Woodsvale in woodlands at $590K. last year she sold it off for around $680. think the place is about 8 or 9 years old.

i think this amount she made not bad leh for the location.

Not a good selling price

This price can buy a 3bedroom condo @ bedok in 2003

bought at 583k, sell 790k

Is your sis 1st owner?

yes, the 'profit' is nothing to shout about. but given that location, dont lose money can take back a bit can smile liao. i remember some time in 2005 or 2006, she told me can sell off for only $380k...

truth.

regardless is EC , condo or HDB.

All is about location

Not a good selling price

Is your sis 1st owner?

yes, 1st owner. got the i think about 20k grant which was what made it look attractive.

Free stay: $1500x12x10yr = $180,000.

I stayed at my 5rm for 13 yr before rented out for 11 months @1400, so "earned" free stay

1400x12x13 = $218,400??? may be discount a bit: 1000x12x13 = $156,000??

i heard alot of 1st hand owners could not wait to sell off and move out from there. the location and quality of this EC really cmi especially units facing the main road. northoaks just next door is much better.

Not a good selling price

Is your sis 1st owner?

EC is for long term stay not meant for investment.

Cons of investment:

Lack of flexibility to sell

Cant obtain HDB loan

Usually not within MRT distance.Location so so.

EC market for middle income Singaporean. High NET worth will not pay for such condo, esp foreigners.

Foreigners or PR that can affort to buy condo net worth > our middle income. Require status to showoff. To them buy a EC is like buying a HBD flat.

Any idea "how big" the carrot wasin 2000?