v1hypersg

Which Area Should I Buy ?

thinking of buying a resale flat in the following locations :

1 ) cantonment close, ideally 4rm but if not available, buy 5 rm

close to mrt, not so crowded and not so noisy there are only few blocks there, but in future, PSA might be building some new things there so might have construction for a few years, noise and dust,

2 ) toa payoh, near to central, new 4rm,

convenience to amenities but crowded

3 ) redhill mrt, oppposite, blk 70 series, newly available 4rms

seems like rooms are not perfectly square as 2 corners are cut, also crowded but amenities not as good as toa payoh

4 ) commonwealth MRT, blk 90 series,

newly available but amenities are no so good compared to cantonment close or toa payoh

5 ) lavender mrt, jellicoe, 4rm

best view, not so much amenities

working in shenton area,

can anyone share any bad experience in the above locations or good ones which i might have overlooked,

Singapore is small. Everywhere, anywhere to me almost the same, except woodland, tuas, jurong.

Cantonment, redhill, commonwealth are "old men" districts in my immpression. TPY not bad, but crowded & jammed.

Jellicoe seem the best among all(don't know yr criteria), close to downtown & geylang. "4 sides" are accessible.

thinking of buying a resale flat in the following locations :

1 ) cantonment close, ideally 4rm but if not available, buy 5 rm

close to mrt, not so crowded and not so noisy there are only few blocks there, but in future, PSA might be building some new things there so might have construction for a few years, noise and dust,

2 ) toa payoh, near to central, new 4rm,

convenience to amenities but crowded

3 ) redhill mrt, oppposite, blk 70 series, newly available 4rms

seems like rooms are not perfectly square as 2 corners are cut, also crowded but amenities not as good as toa payoh

4 ) commonwealth MRT, blk 90 series,

newly available but amenities are no so good compared to cantonment close or toa payoh

5 ) lavender mrt, jellicoe, 4rm

best view, not so much amenities

working in shenton area,

can anyone share any bad experience in the above locations or good ones which i might have overlooked,

I also agree Jellicoe is the best as the view is great and mrt is just downstairs and recently, there is kou fu food court and wendys, and maybe some more shops are tjhe building just beside the block but today i called the agent and ask,

there is no valuation, buyer must get his own valuation and prepare 200k cash for COV, that is so ridiculous, 200k cash as COV, might as well buy condo or other places,

other locations just turned 3 years old only asking like 60 to 85k COV, based on the previous transacted prices in hdb, it never went above 650k,

seriously, we are all victims here, people asking ridiculous COV where no one in power is stopping such whatever you call it,

well, i guess i will settle for cantonment close, as there is news that PSA will move out and make way for new high class residential area or maybe a 3rd casino,

furthermore, jellicoe is near to muslim cemetry, so might be bad fengshui for those who are not strong might be jinxed by the bad magnetic field,

i have a personal advice for you. if possible, take drive down to that hdb estate during friday and saturday night... the last time when i went there, i was shocked with what i had seen... foreign workers are flocking everywhere ard the hdb estate.

the same goes for Klang road when i wanted to buy it last year. fortunately we went down on a friday night to see the environment. omgzz, the entire road to the hdb mutli storey carpark was crowded with foreign workers. to me, it doesnt look safe for kids and my wife to stay in the long run...

i have a personal advice for you. if possible, take drive down to that hdb estate during friday and saturday night... the last time when i went there, i was shocked with what i had seen... foreign workers are flocking everywhere ard the hdb estate.

the same goes for Klang road when i wanted to buy it last year. fortunately we went down on a friday night to see the environment. omgzz, the entire road to the hdb mutli storey carpark was crowded with foreign workers. to me, it doesnt look safe for kids and my wife to stay in the long run...

sorry, which 2 areas, are you suggesting that i go and take a look at evening ?

so finally which place did you buy and how was it ?

TPY got many foreign workers meh?

Commonwealth/redhill got meh? I understood used to have quite some gansters there but they should be old already. I knew that Commonwealth MRT was one of the "under utilised" stn besides Novena and Newton.

Cantoment is LKY's area, he is now got more free time to walkabout, don't play play.

Klang road is in Malaysia. Singapore got only Klang lane along serangoon rd, close to "little india", sure got foreigne workers.

Lavender side/boonkeng, near the mosq recent got burnt down also have some, but not as "bad" as in Kakit Bukit. The kallang river no longer that salty due to marina b closed up with dams, so need not to worry those metellic stuff get rusty.

May find the dormitory locations for foreigners here:

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel_sites/whats_nearby/1010/dormitory/districts/

my bad. i am referring to jellicoe and klang lane. yea, if u buying to stay there, be sure to visit the block downstairs and nearby during weekends evening...

i wanted a place that is centralised, yet reserve a bit of quietness and peace. eventually i bought sims drive. though sim ave and geyland lor outside is super crowded with foreigners and cars, those people dun walk so far into my housing estate. maybe there's no coffee shops ard my place here...

Edited by steelze