Find Professionals    Deals    Get Quotations   Portfolios
Sign in to follow this  
EmptyDivided

A Review On The Pc 12 Ultra Sub (Aka The Public Dustbin)

Hi guys,

I am sure many of us here have pondered about what subs to get, which brand to buy, what size to get. My wife and I have visited KEC several times to audition. I have personally heard Velodynes CHT 8Q, CHT 10 Q, SVS PB 13 Ultra and the B&W PV1. In all fairness, the Velodynes were of the lower range, with lower powered amps as compared to the other two brands. Thus, I found the imaging not accurate, overly boomy and undefined. I am a novice at this, so please read with an open mind. Some may like the Vedlodynes and find them great, so please do your homework and listen to all despite individual views. One thing I realized on my journey in my HTS is that everyone's preference differs.

Given a limited budget due to reno expenses, I was given a challenge. Try to achieve a HTS under $3k. This $3k includes only amp, speakers and sub. The hunt began. I was disappointed with Velodynes performance and continued with my research online. The SVS PB 13 and PV 1 sounded much better. So i told my wife we were going to get an SVS. She said okay if it was within budget. I posted on another website looking for an svs sub and I bought a mint condition PC 12 Ultra.(It is a round cylindrical shape sub shaped older version)

The guys from KEC came to install the system. The mains are Wharfedale 10.6s, 10cs for the centre and 10.0 for the rears. An Onkyo 609 powers the speakers and sub and the player is an Oppo 93.