Warrior88

Upholstery Cushion - Dining Chairs

No money to buy new dining sets. Wood structure still looks good.

Cushion seats a little bit stain. Don't like those add on cushion seat.

Anyone with contacts for this kind of job. Willing to dismantle cushion seat

and bring it to the shop. Thanks in advance.

Mmm....guess all forums reader are experts in reno of new stuff heh.

Poor me, thinking of upholstery only.

cos you rich mah !!

nowadays repairing costs MORE than a new one.

you poor ah? me all 2ndhand furnitures leh....except for the cheapo $16 AKIRA fan is NEW.

Re-upholstery involves customisation to suit your chair, not forgetting to get extra materials.

Many new items are mass-produced, where the manufacturers cater for the figures they need and order accordingly. Machineries, moulds, templates, etc are all pre-fabricated and used over and over again.

In that sense, it is actually cheaper to buy new...

No money to buy new dining sets. Wood structure still looks good.

Cushion seats a little bit stain. Don't like those add on cushion seat.

Anyone with contacts for this kind of job. Willing to dismantle cushion seat

and bring it to the shop. Thanks in advance.

Unless u want to DIY. Since u willing to dismantle, then can put it back, right? :P

Btw, is your dining chair with the fabric backing as well or is it just the cushion seat? Is the seat foam still in gd condition?

Bcos, for dining chair with wooden frame, usually it takes abt 2 yards of fabric per chair, to reupholster. From here, u can oredi figure out the $$$ needed. :dunno:

Yardage chart for re-upholstery:

yardagechartforupholstekj5.th.jpg

Edited by gendon

Thanks to all bros & sis,

My dining chairs " only fabric cushion seats " , back rest all wood.

Check liao, plywood base, fabric secure by stapler type.

Actually, can DIY myself, but very messy leh.

Also must buy the super stapler gun & bullet.

My toolbox already have so many barang barang

Soon, any forumers can ask me to do minor repair for them

( at some cost lah )

Average chair cost $80. if can DIY or upholse at $20

Can save 60 X 6 = $360.

So many things must upgrade, cannot buy all new mah.

Also new chairs must match table, Aiyah boh pian leh

( at some cost lah )

Can save 60 X 6 = $360.

hmm... some promotion now ... maybe u can see if it is cheaper to get new one ..

try this two site:

http://www.lizo.com.sg/index.htm

http://www.comfortfurniture.com.sg/

:ph34r:

since your chair SOUNDed simple.

RAPID stapler gun = $35.00 (dont buy those below $20 cheapo stapler - you will cry)

Box of staples = $2-3.00

Fabric depends on what type you want - kallang(near the old wen hua cinema) they got all kinds of fabric/pvc/leather..etc selling by the yard.

ask any old uncle or auntie for directions - old wen hua cinema, very famous during their times.

Repairing will cost more cos involve labour mah.

Labour expensive. Machine cheap.

But of course, when do DIY its...

Labour with Love :sport-smiley-004::furious::yamseng::P

Guest our-home

( at some cost lah )

Can save 60 X 6 = $360.

Hi, I know this was some time ago, but just in case you're still looking ... My hubby sent our 2 designer foyer chairs (armrests and legs wood, rest is fabric) for reupholstery bcoz fabric was moldy but foam and wood still good condition. Cost $80 per chair bcoz a lot fabric needed and we chose suede-like, scotchgarde material. 1 year later, we sent our 4 dining chairs for reupholstery too. This time we chose vinyl, cost $30 per chair, changed seat foam, more simple to reupholster bcoz design needs less material, staple below and backrest is small, just stitch on. We found this place in AMK Industrial Park 2, Yong Seng. Workmanship is ok, lady boss very friendly and not pushy. We went there with photos of our chairs and choose material first to get quote. We like to keep our foyer chairs and dining set, although not latest design, but sentimental value.

Hi our home, anyway to give the add of the upholster..tnks

Edited by fizadee