chrispy

Need Help In Home Theatre System Set Up!

Not forgetting a power conditioner to hook up all your expensive equipments... then maybe one solid universal controller to rule them all... :)

wat is power conditioner hah? :notti:

wat is power conditioner hah? :P

here it is in wiki...

Its something good to have but not a must, the "cleaner" power source as a result of using is meant to improve the dynamics of your av equipment! There was a thread in echoloft forum discussing the performance of adding a conditioner but i can't seem to locate it now... (probably taken offline!)

anyway, a popular (and affordable) brand is Xindak...

:sport-smiley-018:

here it is in wiki...

Its something good to have but not a must, the "cleaner" power source as a result of using is meant to improve the dynamics of your av equipment! There was a thread in echoloft forum discussing the performance of adding a conditioner but i can't seem to locate it now... (probably taken offline!)

anyway, a popular (and affordable) brand is Xindak...

:sport-smiley-018:

waaah... chim leh... :P

waaah... chim leh... :dunno:

Hi chrispy and pros in HTS,

I'm urgently looking for a decent HTS for my new home.

The L-Box and false ceiling will be up soon so need to decide

on the HTS soon.

My wife is quite keen on the Bose lifestyle 18 SIII. Being the entry

level for the HTS with 5.1 speakers, price is already $3599.

We did test out the system and find that its really good. It even

comes with this new technology called the adaptiq where the sound

will customise itself in any room. (pretty impressed)

however, price is quite steep and i'm also wondering whether i can get

similar effect with cheaper price at adelphi KEC.

Being a noob in HTS, need advise from the pros. wat are the standard

setup of a HTS, amplifier, av receiver, speakers, woofers?? really know

nuts..

If possible, please also let me know the pricing of any recommended

setup. Thanks in advance :dunno:

on the HTS soon.

nuts..

setup. Thanks in advance :jawdrop:

Hi, welcome to the world of HTS. Below is a link for HTS newbies. Quite a long read but its very rewarding. Dont spend unnescessarily on a HTS with features u dont need. Such as the BOSE system(Youre paying extra for the sleek design plus their advertisement fees & their showroom). If you think Bose is good, you aint hear nothing yet!:P No prejudice against Bose, but at the end of day its your ears & wallet that decides which HTS to purchase. For that price (or even cheaper), you can get a better system.

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=48382.0

Cheers!:notti:

Vince

on the HTS soon.

nuts..

setup. Thanks in advance :jawdrop:

Well Vicenzo70 is right for $3,500 u can get alot of better HTS than BOSE. :P

Agree also. For entry level that is quite a lot of money. Best that you check out several floor of Adelphi building for many good HT brands. Can also check out KEF & Monitor Audio (on same floor as KEC) and can check out Anthony Gallo, Jamo, Wharfedale, JM Lab, etc...

If on a budget can look for this nice design of small micropods ($130 each , $260 /pair at KEC ). Sound not too bad for that price.

Well Vicenzo70 is right for $3,500 u can get alot of better HTS than BOSE. :bangwall:

Agree also. For entry level that is quite a lot of money. Best that you check out several floor of Adelphi building for many good HT brands. Can also check out KEF & Monitor Audio (on same floor as KEC) and can check out Anthony Gallo, Jamo, Wharfedale, JM Lab, etc...

If on a budget can look for this nice design of small micropods ($130 each , $260 /pair at KEC ). Sound not too bad for that price.

Dear HTS experts, I need your advice.

Ive ordered a B&W MT20 with Denon 1908. Im not too satisfied with the AS2 amp. Lack the punch & low frequency bass. Any recommendations for sub replacement? Was thinking of Paradigm PS1000. What do you guys think?

Vince

Dear HTS experts, I need your advice.

Ive ordered a B&W MT20 with Denon 1908. Im not too satisfied with the AS2 amp. Lack the punch & low frequency bass. Any recommendations for sub replacement? Was thinking of Paradigm PS1000. What do you guys think?

Vince

Yo Bro, I am not a HTS expert but may share my view with u.

First question is when u mention lack punch & low freq bass is it meant for music or moive? 8|

If the low bass is for music I would suggest u change the main spk to 3 way floorstand, but if meant for moive then looking at both spec the different is only 50w power amp not a huge jump.

But sometime u need to take into consideration the size of ur enviroment too, cos sub work best in confine room or on carpet too. Try to relocate ur sub position first and check the amp setting cos 150w power amp is loud enough for HDB flat if change to 250w I think ur neighbour will be veri busy when u watch King Kong. :notti:

Take a look at Velodyne Sub CHT-R

chtrblk300dpikw8.jpg

Yo Bro, I am not a HTS expert but may share my view with u.

First question is when u mention lack punch & low freq bass is it meant for music or moive? 8|

If the low bass is for music I would suggest u change the main spk to 3 way floorstand, but if meant for moive then looking at both spec the different is only 50w power amp not a huge jump.

But sometime u need to take into consideration the size of ur enviroment too, cos sub work best in confine room or on carpet too. Try to relocate ur sub position first and check the amp setting cos 150w power amp is loud enough for HDB flat if change to 250w I think ur neighbour will be veri busy when u watch King Kong. :notti:

Take a look at Velodyne Sub CHT-R

chtrblk300dpikw8.jpg

Cantona Hi

Do you need SPL meter for your sub? Where & how much did u get your Velo CHT? My sub is really underpowered. Someone recommended me the Definitive Cube.

Thks mate

Vince

Cantona Hi

Do you need SPL meter for your sub? Where & how much did u get your Velo CHT? My sub is really underpowered. Someone recommended me the Definitive Cube.

Thks mate

Vince

Err... I didnt used SPL for my sub leh cos me using auto-calibration from my amp, too lazy to study that :( Currently my sub is only ASW600 if possible I wish to change to Velo CHT or Definitive Cube too. :P

But my first priority is to change my main spk cos I listern to music more than moive. :notti:

My dream speaker B&W 803S :(:dribble::D

bw803sgx6.jpg

bw800nj2.jpg

Edited by Cantona7

Went to KEC today.

Only one comment. EXTREMELY GOOD SERVICE.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Hey, u got ur 605? If can hold on first better, cuz alot of new avr coming out end of the mth n next. ONkyo n yammy got a few new models soon.

Yes bought 605 but got option to upgrade.

:bow:

Edited by Redwyrm