big orange

Bedok Central

That's excellent news! But not all sections are open right.... as with Shop N Save. NTUC incurs much higher running cost if it also opens its 2nd level. And who was the Linear Greener who postulates that the shop space, next to the lift serving the MSCP will be occupied by a supermarket? Check it out. It has become a HDB Tai Tai's haven. The prognosis, however, remains unchanged. Cessation of business due to bad location providing inadequate clientèle volume to even cover their fixed operating costs.

All sections are operating, except the seafood section is closed. 2nd level is open if you need some tidbits and beer during those midnight soccer games.

Heard that the shop space, next to the lift serving the MSCP is owned by one of the supermarket chain. Well, human traffic is not high there and its hard to operate business there. But there seem to have alot of people in both the beauty salon / spa & manicure / pedicure shop. The handicraft school not so many students there and the shop selling clothes behind the manicure / pedicure shop, hardly got any customers there.

Last year, I’ve paid $64.20 for property tax.

How much should I be expecting to pay this year?

Seem will be quite high…

Not only the property tax increase, the utilities is also increasing. My bill add up to $200+ for last month, heart pain leh. have to pay hard-earned money for the utilities bill........ Everything is increasing but the pay remains the same :(

Edited by happyhouseowner

tariff_Oct-Dec09.jpg

Note: The scale of Fuel Oil Prices is much larger than that of Low Tension Tariff.
This is SP Services' utter sneaky slithering way of making the rocketing tariffs of electricity seems lower to the untrained eye in the wishful hope that the public might miss it & not give them a hearing!

So why fatten the coffers of SP Services?
Monitor Your Electricity Consumption at Home
Save Money for Christmas & New Year Shopping
Tips on Energy Saving

11-efergy-energy-meter-plug-1.JPG

Use Smart Meters to track your household's electricity consumption

5-ema-smart-meters-1.JPG6-ema-smart-meters-2.JPG8-ema-smart-meters-4.JPG

In Linear Green Community News, seems like there's gonna be a Malay wedding this weekend at the void decks of Blk 219C & D.

*readies earplugs* :P Edited by DSA

mosquitoes problem. Complained via NEA website. 2 days later, phone call came to tell me they found a mosquitoe breeding site downstairs + they will do fogging.

Lighting. I actually don't give a s.h.i.t abt LG is a newer estate therefore has lesser conservancy fee reserve for them to burn. Poor lighting outside my house is definitely a no-no. Delaying the lighting is just creating a condusive situation, waiting for robbery, flashers or accidents to happen.

mosquitoes problem. Complained via NEA website. 2 days later, phone call came to tell me they found a mosquitoe breeding site downstairs + they will do fogging.
That's pretty response from NEA. Was the site stagnant water spots in the Linear Green Garden or someone's unit? NEA fined the owner of that unit HARD HARD??

Lighting. I actually don't give a s.h.i.t abt LG is a newer estate therefore has lesser conservancy fee reserve for them to burn. Poor lighting outside my house is definitely a no-no. Delaying the lighting is just creating a condusive situation, waiting for robbery, flashers or accidents to happen.
Hahaha, you are at ECTC's mercy as with all Linear Greeners.

HDB lessees have practically no market power against ECTC - a single vendor welding such majority control over the provison of these services to HDB lesses residing in East Coast GRC,

that ECTC can dictate significantly the terms on which HDB lessees shall have access to the estate management services it provides.

Besides, HDB owns everything outside your unit & that includes the corridor lighting, the lifts over which ECTC is the agent managing such non-lessee facilities.

When you purchase a strata-title property (i.e. condo), you don't just own the unit itself - you also own the common areas, the lovely garden, the sky gardens, the BBQ pits, the swimming pool, the gym, the lift lobbies and a motor vehicle parking lot.

Compare & contrast to the instance when you purchase a HDB flat: you only leasing that flat from HDB for 99 years!

So don't fall into the delusion that U own that teeny weeny HDB unit you currently reside in.

Wake up and smell the roses! They STINK!

U don't own the HDB flat; you are only a lessee - You = someone who is allowed to use a house, building, land etc. for a period of time in return for payment to the owner = HDB.

Yet IRAS levies property tax on HDB lessees! And raises it substantially! WTMF?!

You can choose to Suck It Up, man coz we're mostly screwed over.

OR you can:

Go straight to the council members lah, specifically the Estate Management Committee.

However, know this:

Subject to Section 16(2) of the Town Councils Act, which actually accords power to the Town Councils & its members and none to the HDB lessees they are supposed to serve, the chairman, vice-chairmen and other members of a Town Council may be paid, out of the Town Council Fund, such allowances as may be prescribed. Section 16(2) stipulates any full-time chairman, vice-chairmen and other members of a Town Council may be paid, out of the Town Council Fund, such salaries as may be prescribed.

Tell me whoever bites the hand that feeds them?

This is also why ECTC won't provide me the email nor contact numbers of the Chairman of the Estate Management Committee - those EM Services Staff wanna protect their asses.

Heh, but I managed to obtain the mobile number & direct email box of the Chairman on my merit.

The interesting thing is the MSCP gets lighting earlier than our corridors! LOL! I'd like to hear how ECTC is to explain that anomaly.

Edited by DSA

DSA, wow u really dig deep man. Then how abt going via the MP way? via his Facebook or something. Our estate have Meet-The-People session? Especially the erection is touted to be coming.

yeah, WTMF it is. the carpark and park gets the lighting earlier than the units :rolleyes:

---------------------

update:

Dear Mr XXX

We refer to your email to NEA dated 15 November 2009 concerning the corridor lighting to be turned on early.

We would like to inform you that we will adjust the timing for the corridor lighting as requested.

Please call our maintenance hotline at Tel : 1800-4449549 Ext 150 should you require further assistance or clarification.

We wish to thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Sim Leong Hock

Senior Property Officer

East Coast Town Council

Tel : 1800-4449549 Ext 165

Fax : 64440775

Edited by hihihi

ECTC is considered "easy" to tackle. At the very least, they are responsive.

The toughest to tackle issues are caused by residents, lessees.

Too many to be listed - A very, very small sample are:

• Smoking & littering in lifts
  • Littering in public areas
  • Stomping and dropping things on floors causing disturbance to the unit under.
  • Hanging laundry over windows in bedrooms & living room.
  • This one probably takes the cake - Cutting nails over windows in bedrooms & living room. And the entire family does it! From the old man down to the teenage kids!

Saw this on Linear Green Group in FaceBook:

Greetings & Salutations, Fellow Linear Greeners! :D

The Linear Green @ Bedok Central FaceBook Group is on an expansion exercise and we would like more Linear Greeners to know of & join our cozy corner in FaceBook.

Know of any relatives & friends who are living in Linear Green? Have neighbours who are on FaceBook?

Help us by introducing them to our FaceBook group.

Do remember to include the link below that authenticates access to Linear Green @ Bedok Central FaceBook Group to them. :D

Official Entry Link to Linear Green @ Bedok Central FaceBook Group

Your kind gesture goes a long way in growing Linear Green & forging the Linear Green community spirit!

On behalf of Linear Greener FaceBookies, I present my thanks.

Thank you,

Admin

Linear Green @ Bedok Central FaceBook Group

[security Alert]

To all Linear Greeners:

There have been recent sightings of a vagrant sleeping on the stone benches in Linear Green garden & void decks.

snc00052.jpg

Such behaviour in public is fugly and brings disrepute to the image of Linear Green as the premier public housing precinct in East Coast GRC.

Perhaps this is precisely the reason why this vagrant chose to seek refuge at Linear Green! LOL!

Linear Greeners who witness such sightings at late nights are strongly advised to lodge an incident report expeditiously with Bedok NPP 1800 2449999 & request for police assistance to escort the vagrant out of Linear Green.

An NParks spokesman explains: "When people abuse our parks by overstaying or squatting, they make genuine park users feel uncomfortable. Others sleep on benches or in shelters in an inconsiderate manner and deny park users from these facilities."

This should also apply to parks & gardens owned by HDB & managed by the respective Town Councils.

Edited by DSA

In view of the recent surge of mosquitoes, Linear Greeners can protect themselves & their loved ones from the deadly dengue fever.

For adults who don't game, inform the CCO of your household = CC your household's Chief Cleaning Officer for action.

dengue.png

HDB%20and%20condo%20floor%20plan.jpg

For kids & adults who are into gaming, initiate

maceg.jpg

News Release on Ops M.A.C.E.:

National Environment Agency Expands Its Reach Into Cyberspace And Seeks Virtual Warriors In Its Fight Against Dengue

Singapore, 10 November 2009 – Leveraging on new social media platforms and taking advantage of the popularity of computer gaming, the National Environment Agency (NEA) has developed an internet-based game, termed “Operation M.A.C.E” (Monster Annihilation and Control Enforcement). This is a first-of-its-kind outreach programme that promotes dengue awareness among the young and the internet savvy. Operation M.A.C.E was launched today at the annual Clean & Green Singapore (CGS) Schools’ Carnival by Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources, Dr Amy Khor.

Operation M.A.C.E builds upon a story that is set in a futuristic Singapore that has been invaded by a race of aliens resembling Aedes mosquitoes. Known as Mosqueros, they invade planets for food and breeding sources. To deal with this threat, a M.A.C.E agency is set up where M.A.C.E agents are sent out to eliminate the monsters by depriving them of food sources and sweeping out all possible breeding grounds. The agents have a character of their own and represent the programme’s mascots to promote greater awareness of dengue prevention. The programme was developed by NEA together with youth partners who saw its potential in helping NEA promote its messages more effectively.

To play the game, Internet users can log on to www.macecommand.com.sg and sign up as M.A.C.E agents. NEA hopes that through such role-playing games, the youth will be more engaged and internalize the dengue prevention messages. In turn, they can help to remind their parents and family members to take action in preventing mosquito breeding.

Users will also be able to download videos, wallpapers, screensavers, web and mobile games from the Operation M.A.C.E website, as well as view action-packed video trailers on platforms such as YouTube.

Mr Andrew Tan, Chief Executive Officer of NEA, said, “Operation M.A.C.E is NEA’s attempt to leverage on new social media platforms and the internet to reach out to younger segments of the community who are more savvy with IT. Through the programme, we have created a virtual world where we can publicise some of our community messages in the story settings to enhance our outreach efforts.”

Edited by DSA

How is everyone settling in?

Issues at hand.

The walkway opposite us, near the coffee shop, there are more and MORE motor bikes parking there because of the new entry fees for carpark? This is getting very very annoying because some of the motorbikes park indiscriminately.

Who can we call? I tried east coast town council website recently but so complicated...can't find a complain/feedback link.

For the benefit of Linear Greeners' understanding of the issue/topic in discussion, the footpath in context is the one lining Bedok Central,

from the entrance of the carpark behind Blk 211, where the corner kopitiam is located, to the entrance of the MSCP Blk 215A,

passing by Pizza Hut, Long John Silver along the way.

agsgbjzmcz1wjnmx155xkrh.jpg

The massive obstruction by rampant illegal parking of motorbikes on footpath along Bedok Central by recalcitrant bikers who blatantly parked their toxic fumes generating vehicles on the pedestrian footpath.

Their selfish actions greatly endanger the safety of pedestrians & robs their right of use of the walkway. Old folks on wheelchairs are especially vulnerable - they can no longer take this path to their favourite kopitiam.

Note that this is a footpath rightly for the use of pedestrians, NOT motor vehicles.

These wretched motorbikies not only destroys the peace, serenity of the neighbourhood, and also pollutes the air quality. Not to mention their sheer weight also damages the steel ground cover, contributing to the setup of a potential booby trap which will injure someone when the steel cover decides to give way one day.

After much investigative action which led me to start with ECTC who shoots it to LTA who says it is under HDB's purview.

Moreover, taking the issue to Traffic Police yields no results - even after a SQ Manager with Singapore Traffic Police shoots my incident report to SPF's VIT and PU, requesting FNA.

This means this illegal parking of motorbikes on the above-mentioned footpath is a minor issue that does NOT warrant the deployment of precious & limited resources which are better used against drunk driving. This is entirely reasonable.

This is a call to concerned Linear Greeners to email this issue to qsm@hdb.gov.sg and the Bedok Branch Office stated below:

Bedok Branch Office Blk 201A Bedok North St 1 #01-563 Singapore 461201 Email :bbdadmin@hdb.gov.sg

Tel No : 1800-225-5432 (local toll-free)

Fax No : 6854-3219

The last last resort if HDB does not ACT, is MPS. I am afraid this might be the only way to go if this issue were to be tackled.

Anyone is as unlucky as us to experience leakage of water in service yard? We discovered leakage of water in the service yard last week and now, it is spreading to common toilet and today, the master bedroom ! We have just moved in a few mths ago .... everything seems fine till we started experiencing internal pipes leakage from the wall between the common toilet and the service yard ... HDB is so slow to help us rectify the problems . At first they blame it on our contractor, but when China construction came , they immediately know that it is their own fault coz it is internal pipe leakage. Anyone knows whether we can get some form of compensation? Our MBR flooring is parquet, and we are really worried the damage it will cause ... Can we get any form of warranty from them after they fix up our problem ?? Anyone knows ??

Is the person who told u off a professional engineer or technician who specialise in concealed piping?

And has that particular person performed a visual inspection & physical examination of the fault you reported?

If neither, then whoever conveniently threw the blame onto your contractor ought to be reported to his/her immediate supervisor for casting unsubstantiated aspersion on you.

You can contact HDB's Quality Service Manager Randy Lim 1800-8663063 to feedback your unpleasant & unsatisfactory experience on this incident.

While it is very true that there are numerous cases of HDB lessees who turned to HDB to rectify faults/damages caused by the contractor they engaged, that does not mean every other case brought to HDB's attention is as such.

In my experience dealing with HDB on the various issues concerning the shoddy workmanship by China Construction, it will not provide more than what the 1 year DLP dictates. Perhaps not until they are served by a lawyer's letter CCed to the CEO.

The likelihood of HDB providing compensation is very, very low. Even if u can obtain a signed document by China Construction who admits the leakage is solely of their undoing, which I strongly they will,

HDB might not provide compensation - They are very careful with dispensing cash as it is public funds. I will not be surprised if their standing policy is no compensation whatsoever on such matters.

In addition, the onus is on the owner to prove convincingly that China Construction's shoddy workmanship caused the leakage which may damage the parquet - this is a test of remoteness of damages.

The DLP agreement dictates that if the fault/defect is that of the workmanship of HDB's appointed contractor, then HDB must make good of the promise to repair the fault/defect.

It is, however, silent on any form of compensation for damages caused by the fault/defect because HDB will not commit itself to any further legal obligation & liabilities more than what is required of it by the DLP agreement.

When dealing with anyone or legal entities on important matters, ALWAYS obtain representation/statements in writing.

Esp when one has absolutely no market power against a monopoly who will act in ways that a monopoly is expected to use its monopolistic powers.

Edited by DSA

To those with the toilet flush prob... please feedback to HDB bedok branch office.. They will sent the vendor to change anew 1... with dual flush somemore..

Monitor for weeks.. prob seems solved.. ;)

Btw Mr Big Orange, how is the pinkish issue? :)

Hi yoko:

do u have the email address? Can sent to me?

Thanks...:)