All valuation for HDB flats are to be done by HDB, whether is it submitted by seller or buyer or their agents. So IMO its the same.

But you can ask for another valuation if you think the seller's valuation report is outdated.

And of course, the seller will make you pay for it.

All valuation for HDB flats are to be done by HDB, whether is it submitted by seller or buyer or their agents. So IMO its the same.

But you can ask for another valuation if you think the seller's valuation report is outdated.

so does that mean that as long as i am willing to pay, i can do the valuation anytime ? can i do 2 valuation within 3 month ?

Of course, but why do you want to do that?? Within 3 mths its not going to vary alot... :dunno:

huh? both my current flat & the flat i bought done by private valuers leh

but i thk all valuations must be approved by HDB

huh? both my current flat & the flat i bought done by private valuers leh

but i thk all valuations must be approved by HDB

Sorry for not typing correctly; you are right, I meant to say all valuations are to go thru HDB, who will appoint the valuers for you. You cannot go to the private valuers directly yourself, if I am not wrong...
But you are MR KNOW IT ALL mah? I thought you work for PAP , know it all. Edited by papbestdad

But you are MR KNOW IT ALL mah? I thought you work for PAP , know it all.

I have see a few houses, all valuation report under the coy, not HDB..is it bcos it is done by 'private' valuator ?

What usually happens is when a flat is put up for sale, an application will be submitted to HDB to ask for valuation. HDB will then assign a private valuer to do the job, whom will in turn write a valuation report under their own company's name.

Hence the confusion when people tell you that you must use 'HDB valuer' but the report come out does not have HDB logo but some private firm's logo.

The valuation fees are fixed by HDB, and usually there are little room to bend with the assigned valuer. But in some occasions where the assigned valuer is known to the owner/agent, a few tricks still can be pulled off.

What tricks?? Dun ask me lah... :notti:

What usually happens is when a flat is put up for sale, an application will be submitted to HDB to ask for valuation. HDB will then assign a private valuer to do the job, whom will in turn write a valuation report under their own company's name.

Hence the confusion when people tell you that you must use 'HDB valuer' but the report come out does not have HDB logo but some private firm's logo.

The valuation fees are fixed by HDB, and usually there are little room to bend with the assigned valuer. But in some occasions where the assigned valuer is known to the owner/agent, a few tricks still can be pulled off.

What tricks?? Dun ask me lah... :notti:

Please share, everyone is curious to know.

1st why is the valuation fixed by HDB and then they sent a so called "show face" valuer down to a person's house then?

2nd what tricks can we as owner pull off if we know the valuer?

You work as a valuer? How come you know all these things?

Edited by papbestdad

Some questions:

1. Can I ask the agent for an estimated valuation? Will the estimate be accurate enough?

2. Renovating the house eg. painting, air-con, etc - does this add value to the valuation?

3. Can I ask for valuation even if I do not put my flat out for sale?

Thanks in advance!

Some questions:

1. Can I ask the agent for an estimated valuation? Will the estimate be accurate enough?

2. Renovating the house eg. painting, air-con, etc - does this add value to the valuation?

3. Can I ask for valuation even if I do not put my flat out for sale?

Thanks in advance!

IMO,

1. If the agent 'specialises' in a certain area, he should know or you can easily find out fm HDB resale txn but tat would be 1-2 months outdated

2. Almost neglible but good decor & clean environment appeals to prospective buyers & u may get a higher COV

3. Sure, juz pay $180 for the valuation report wif a few photos

2. Almost neglible but good decor & clean environment appeals to prospective buyers & u may get a higher COV

I agree with this part. In valuation, furnishings and fixtures depreciate over a mere 5 years to $0. If your decor is really superb, maybe a few thousand more only. The cornerstone of property valuation in Singapore is still the transacted prices of similiar properties in a similiar environment.

Which is why when the HLE is introduced and the issue of COV came about, owners/agents are arm-bending the buyers to pay more and more COV.

Edited by zirhk3355

Just curious abt the valuation report, in this report..who should be the named applicant under the report ?

Should it be the agent or the house owner?

Just curious abt the valuation report, in this report..who should be the named applicant under the report ?

Should it be the agent or the house owner?

I've seen valuation reports with the seller's and others with the agent's. I think it's whoever paid for it la. Anyway if it's the agent pay for it later on buyer have to return one. :P that's what happened with mine. seller din wan to pay for valuation then agent went to pay for it cos she found it hard to market without valuation. pengs