ema82

When To Start Finding Id/contractor

hi all,

the question sounds stupid but I'm really lost in the preparation for renovation.

1. We just had our 1st appointment and waiting for our flat's key now. Could you advise when I shld look for ID/Contractor to get their quotation? As we only have floor plan but havent got a chance to go in & take a look (our flat is standard unit) so we may miss out lots of renovation work when giving ID/Contractor our reno requirements :(

Some more, some of them will go to the flat to have good look for quotation too.

So shld we go find ID/Contractor ard 1 mth before the key collection day or close to the date?

2. Does the Standard unit has toilet bowls/toilet sink?

Also, a small question. How do you hide the hanging clothes (those we already wear but will not wash immediately like jacket/jeans ect..) ?

thanks a billion

1) you can start to find ID/contractor already. They need to take abt 2 weeks to get back to you the quotation. then you need abt 1 week to summarise and consider.

2) Yes the standard unit has toilet bowl and sink.

But you need to take note, nowadays for new flat, toilet sink is quite low quality. Its recommended you change it.

My standard unit given by HDB, the sink is v low, water easily splash out when you brush teeth or wash face.My sink tap spoilt within 1 year. Many such cases in our neighbourhood le

I regretted that time i didnt change it. If i want to change it now, its very troublesome

Where is your new flat at?

I hang my jeans and pants behind my bedroom door. i bought those stainless steel hanger, ID helped to drill hole and install behind the door

Hi Yang Guo,

Thanks so much for yr advice...I didn't know it takes sometime to get quotation from ID , thot like only 1 day :o. But I was informed by HDB that I only can collect key within 3 mths (and heard most of the cases is after 3 mths :( ), so guess I still got time?

I will change the sink for both toilets after got yr advice (innitially only master toilet to save cost). How abt toilet bowls? Is it needed tobe changed?

I'm thinking hard to hide the hanging clothes coz i don't like to hang behind the door. Looks quite messy & can't hang so many too, somemore the clothes can get wrinkle easily. So I'm thinking to have 1 compartment in the built-in wardrobe to hang them. Don't know if it's feasible or not?

btw, my flat is at Kallang Heights, 5 rooms, do you think 25k for renovation is enough?

1) you can start to find ID/contractor already. They need to take abt 2 weeks to get back to you the quotation. then you need abt 1 week to summarise and consider.

2) Yes the standard unit has toilet bowl and sink.

But you need to take note, nowadays for new flat, toilet sink is quite low quality. Its recommended you change it.

My standard unit given by HDB, the sink is v low, water easily splash out when you brush teeth or wash face.My sink tap spoilt within 1 year. Many such cases in our neighbourhood le

I regretted that time i didnt change it. If i want to change it now, its very troublesome

Where is your new flat at?

I hang my jeans and pants behind my bedroom door. i bought those stainless steel hanger, ID helped to drill hole and install behind the door

hi there...mine is standard unit, but my sinks and toilet bowls from HDB are still ok (touchwood) after 1yr plus...if u r budgeted, mayb u can remain the toilet bowls if they r functionable la...if nt, u may wana go ROYAL FANCO (highly recommended by forumers for toilet accessories) buy toilet bowls...the following is discussion abt WC...

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...mp;#entry122071

btw, i tink its better to hang used clothes & jeans behind the door beta than put into the wardrobe (cos sure dirty, collect dust from outside, mayb gt smell, mayb gt moist which may attract mould..) but if u dun wan drill hole to bedroom, i would suggest u go to home-fix/or self-fix buy a 6 hooks hanger which could just put onto the door top (juz nice), i 4get the brand, tink ard $12 per pc...i learnt abt this from a forumer oso...i bought 2 for my 2 bedrooms...very ideal & presentable...

Hi Yang Guo,

Thanks so much for yr advice...I didn't know it takes sometime to get quotation from ID , thot like only 1 day :o. But I was informed by HDB that I only can collect key within 3 mths (and heard most of the cases is after 3 mths :( ), so guess I still got time?

I will change the sink for both toilets after got yr advice (innitially only master toilet to save cost). How abt toilet bowls? Is it needed tobe changed?

I'm thinking hard to hide the hanging clothes coz i don't like to hang behind the door. Looks quite messy & can't hang so many too, somemore the clothes can get wrinkle easily. So I'm thinking to have 1 compartment in the built-in wardrobe to hang them. Don't know if it's feasible or not?

btw, my flat is at Kallang Heights, 5 rooms, do you think 25k for renovation is enough?

Hi hi..

hmmm toilet bowls arh, so far i didnt change cos its still functionable. But after my reno is done, i seen our fellow forumers with ROYAL FANCO toilet bowl, its so nice, envy... If u got budget, then change also?

Your new flat, does it comes with flooring also? if comes with flooring, 25k is more than enough :)

Hi!!

There is a home show going on at expo hall 6 til sunday, why don't you and your hubby go down with a photocopied copy of your floor plan? Get qoutes from some ID companies, ask them for a copy for reference also. But I heard from other forummers, avoid M*ss Em*nnuel.

My hubby and me bought our plc in july'08, but started sourcing for ids the moment we got our floor plan hor(apr'08). We started reno in Feb'09 coz the plc was rented out for a while. In the end, we got about 20plus qoutes....but decided to do everything by ourselves coz deisgn-wise its our own design. And really did not want too pay id companies the 30-50% they earn from the qoute. Example, hacking of our whole house, we got qouted btwn 3-5K, not including hualage and debri clearance. We found a hacker who qouted 2.1K.

If you got a theme, design , concept in mind, and time on your hands...start looking around now. :sport-smiley-018:

Edited by mister_molly

my flat is without flooring :(, only got tiles for kitchen floor & wall, bathroom floor. But I may hack away all, guess the tiles not good.

aiya, Molly, I missed the Expo show, was bz going ard see reno items (I also went to Royal Fanco, really cheaper, but some is different price so I cant compare, Henry is a nice chap), so didnt check the forum.

Also dilema to choose ID for less hassle or DIY our own, to co-ordinate all the sub-contractors is not an easy job :(

my flat is without flooring :(, only got tiles for kitchen floor & wall, bathroom floor. But I may hack away all, guess the tiles not good.

aiya, Molly, I missed the Expo show, was bz going ard see reno items (I also went to Royal Fanco, really cheaper, but some is different price so I cant compare, Henry is a nice chap), so didnt check the forum.

Also dilema to choose ID for less hassle or DIY our own, to co-ordinate all the sub-contractors is not an easy job :(

Dun worry, there is another Home show coming up this 21-29 March,

:yamseng: Lifestyle 21

Admission: Public - Free admission

Venue: Hall 6A

Come to the Lifestyle 21 shows to find everything you need to renovate and update your home all in one place. From living room, kitchens, bedrooms and bathrooms, you'll find everything you need to improve your home at the Lifestyle 21. "

Not sure if this event is good, but should be worth a try!

You still got time, slowly get quotes, ideas and info from those id ppl....after awhile, you will know whether you want to DIY, or go with ID or with contractor. :P

u can start to look for renovator as soon as you got the floor plan.

just treat it as the flat comes with nothing, just let them quote, also get different ideas along the way. later can remove certain items if eventually the flat comes with certain fixtures.

Thanks all for yr advice... i got to speed up with my reno homework & ask for quotation already...key collection date is expected to come soon

anw, wanna ask yr advice. Below is my floor plan, me & my HB is scraching ur head coz we don't know where to put the wardrobe ( i prefer long wardrobe becoz of my crazy shopping for clothes). But the window to the aircon ledge divides the wall to 2 parts, very eye-sore :bangwall:. Can anyone help to advise on position of furniture?

Thanks alot

FloorPlanresize.jpg

Hi ema82,

Current economic situation are bad - some will advice save what ever you can but then again renovating your house is something you do not do often, so is good that you have a couple of months to consider all options properly.

If you are considering wood (e.g. parquet) flooring for your house, I can provide recommendation which you can save some money by working directly with the wood flooring specialist (reduce middle man markup).

If you are interest, you can email me at alfred.cheong@live.com

hi all,

the question sounds stupid but I'm really lost in the preparation for renovation.

1. We just had our 1st appointment and waiting for our flat's key now. Could you advise when I shld look for ID/Contractor to get their quotation? As we only have floor plan but havent got a chance to go in & take a look (our flat is standard unit) so we may miss out lots of renovation work when giving ID/Contractor our reno requirements :(

Some more, some of them will go to the flat to have good look for quotation too.

So shld we go find ID/Contractor ard 1 mth before the key collection day or close to the date?

2. Does the Standard unit has toilet bowls/toilet sink?

Also, a small question. How do you hide the hanging clothes (those we already wear but will not wash immediately like jacket/jeans ect..) ?

thanks a billion

hi emma,

did you get the flat from hdb sept balloting?

how much is the price of the flat?

Hi there, I guess it is never too early to find an ID bah.... for reno, believe it is better early then late....

For our case, we are getting our hse in ard 4months time, we are already looking out for IDs....... and we did settle for one eventaully..... now waiting to look at 3D drawing and very sure will have some changes here and there..... so better to prepare early.... so along the way got change of idea and so on, at least got time to amend.... imagine last min want to make changes.... :bangwall: .....

Thanks all for yr advice... i got to speed up with my reno homework & ask for quotation already...key collection date is expected to come soon

anw, wanna ask yr advice. Below is my floor plan, me & my HB is scraching ur head coz we don't know where to put the wardrobe ( i prefer long wardrobe becoz of my crazy shopping for clothes). But the window to the aircon ledge divides the wall to 2 parts, very eye-sore :bangwall:. Can anyone help to advise on position of furniture?

Better to visit the IDs for advice, and you can see for yourself which one is suitable for you bah :)

Thanks alot

FloorPlanresize.jpg

Had a similar problem as yours, what my contractor did (5 years ago…) was to design and make a simple panel, to cover the opening, using screws. The wardrobe was then built covering this panel. Only problem is, when need to do any servicing, we’ll need to remove the clothes and panel to allow access to the aircon ledge.

Some tips if you’ll going to do this, make sure the wardrobe door is large enough, just in case they need to remove the aircon condenser, I have a sliding door, so no issue. Easily removable shelves or the hanging rod so you can remove them easily and you’ll also have to make sure the inside of the wardrobe can be cleaned easily… It can get pretty dirty if they need to repair the condenser.

Hope this helps, rarely sign in here. There may be newer ideas now, check with the IDs/contractors.