Umaisarah

Natural Living

I think, many years down the road, when I'm old and wrinkly, and sitting in my rocking chair looking at the setting sun,

I will ask myself why I decided to uproot my family from our comfortable HDB home in one of the most sought-after district in Singapore, to set up a condo nest in the east.

Anyway, let me introduce myself. My name is....let's call me Umaisarah, shall we.....and this is my Reno Blog.

I currently live in the estate where recently one thousand people applied to buy one unit there (I don't remember the exact details).

Mine is one of the first newish flats to be built in that area, so it's about 15 years old already, but still looking good (like Madonna). I bought it at resale, so had to cough up quite a lot of dough for it, so I didn't make much when I sold it off. Got quite a good price for it, because the valuation was pretty good.

I have been staying there for about 8 years already. Why we (hubby and I) decided to sell it:

a. we live on lower floor, so with all the new flats going up, we're going to lose the unblocked view we're currently enjoying. So better sell now, when it's not so bad.

b. we are subject to the ethnic quota :bangwall: so, maybe election's round the corner or something, because suddenly, our block was eligible for all races to buy, so why wait? SELL, SELL, SELL! Actually, we have been trying to market our unit for a whole year (since early 2009) but tt time, ethnic quota still on and we DIDN'T GET A SINGLE VIEWING. So sad....but once quota lifted late last year, we got like 3 viewings in 1 hour and managed to sell within 5 weeks of hard sell by my agent. If anyone need lobang for good agent, PM me!

c. my hubby works in the east, so more convenient for him to travel to work.

d. I kind of fancy a change of wind. Been living in that part of the country for most of my life. Never lived in the east. Someone told me pace of life is more relaxed. Eastenders, is this really true???

I'm having deep pangs of regret of moving out of the location :( . It's a very good one, coz the school is very nearby, 5 minutes drive to Orchard Road (not that I go there everyday, no $$), good connections to everywhere, and it was me and my hubby's childhood playground. I'll probably move back to it closer to retirement. Ask my daughters to buy house there and I tumpang them.

Okay, I haven't started on the reno part. Have patience, my dears. Am warming up to it.

One of the 1st problems I will face when we move, will be WHERE AM I GOING TO PUT ALL OF THESE STUFF????

Tonight, my hubby's friend is coming down to cart off some of the furniture which we know cannot make it in the new home.

Actually, some of it are our old furniture which is still in good condition that we didn't throw away. Like leather sofa, Ikea CD cabinet, TV consoles.

I like to change furniture every few years, heh heh. Now cannot do anymore coz all $$ go into monthly instalments and loan :P

Here are some pics of my current house. As you can see, I like wood.

4383545571_d529671da2.jpg

My kitchen currently country-style.

4384305948_d788f3a139_m.jpg

Another view of my kitchen. I'm going to miss all that space!

4384306992_2ab5d04e20_m.jpg

My current place is abt 130 sqm, the new one is 143sqm. Looks bigger on paper, right?

But after u minus the balconies, bay windows, extra bathrooms and stupid household shelter, the living space is actually smaller.

Hi Umaisarah!

Welcome to renotalk, you have a nice kitchen. Very traditional and holds a lot of character. Looking forward for yr updates.

Hi Merydith - yah, very close to my fave eating place, Spize at Simpang Bedok

Hi Rondy - that area supposed to grow in value over time coz the 4th uni will be close by. so rental income supposed to be good. Tt's why Optima sold 100%. but i duno got casino there leh....

Hi Ossify - Thanks for the warm words of welcome :D

Hi Muesli - I really put my heart into tt kitchen when we did it about six years ago. I'm going to miss my pantry with the pull-out steel drawers! Maybe 5 years time if got $$, I'm going to redesign the whole kitchen.

Tomorrow will be a full-day for me onsite at my new place.

(Well, going to be my new place in 2 months time. Now I only own 5% of the place :P )

Going to make full use of the day coz paiseh to ask the owner to come back again.

Owner quite siong lah....

here's a link to the unit's floor plan. It's a 4-br, and it has nice unblocked views from the living and dining room.

[jus realised link don't work. Will post e layout later]

Tomorrow going to take more detailed pictures of the whole house coz the last time we were there, it was 2nd viewing before we confirm to buy

and so photos taken were in a hurry.

Rondy - forgot to add, I really like your avatar. Is that your son? SO CUTE!!!!!

Edited by Umaisarah

Wah, Thursday was a v tiring day. Spent almost whole day at the new place, from 10:30 am to about 4 pm.

Met about 6-7 contractors, designers, etc etc.

First thing we arrived, the seller agent apologised coz the seller aredi go and cut off the power and water supply.

So, no air con and water!

Thank goodness it was windy, and none of us had urgent need go toilet :P

The seller really calculative, grr..... 8|

Anyway, my hubby got some good pictures of the place.

Here are some that I would like to share.

This is pic of block from the roadside. Mine is the 4th unit from the top floor. The one without any curtains etc.

4390863843_c62d38b702.jpg

Living/Dining Room, balcony and passageway to bedrooms. At the end there, you can see the balcony of the master bedroom.

4391507258_79195963e8.jpg

Views from balconies and bedrooms, the one thing which sold the house to me :)

4390753875_1594f08c8b_m.jpg

From Masterbedroom balcony

4390896225_0d79862b5a_m.jpg

Master Bedroom, with L-shape bay window. Going to need a lot of curtains!

4390765861_bd4ea6e3ff_m.jpg

Will post some more pictures soon.

Wah, Thursday was a v tiring day. Spent almost whole day at the new place, from 10:30 am to about 4 pm.

Met about 6-7 contractors, designers, etc etc.

First thing we arrived, the seller agent apologised coz the seller aredi go and cut off the power and water supply.

So, no air con and water!

Thank goodness it was windy, and none of us had urgent need go toilet :P

The seller really calculative, grr..... 8|

Anyway, my hubby got some good pictures of the place.

Here are some that I would like to share.

This is pic of block from the roadside. Mine is the 4th unit from the top floor. The one without any curtains etc.

4390863843_c62d38b702.jpg

Living/Dining Room, balcony and passageway to bedrooms. At the end there, you can see the balcony of the master bedroom.

4391507258_79195963e8.jpg

Views from balconies and bedrooms, the one thing which sold the house to me :)

4390753875_1594f08c8b_m.jpg

From Masterbedroom balcony

4390896225_0d79862b5a_m.jpg

Master Bedroom, with L-shape bay window. Going to need a lot of curtains!

4390765861_bd4ea6e3ff_m.jpg

Will post some more pictures soon.

Hi Umaisarah,

welcome to t-blog :). I like the many full-height windows of your new place. They make the whole place look very classy. And your place is very near to MRT right? So very convenient too. Only problem is that there is a new condo being built on the plot of land next to yours. Hope your window view won't be blocked by it.

Hi Umaisarah,

welcome to t-blog :). I like the many full-height windows of your new place. They make the whole place look very classy. And your place is very near to MRT right? So very convenient too. Only problem is that there is a new condo being built on the plot of land next to yours. Hope your window view won't be blocked by it.

Nope, my block faces the landed properties, so got quite unblocked views from most rooms.

Actually, earlier last year, I fancied a unit at the block closer to the MRT. If I had bought the unit, I would probably

be facing the toilet of the new condo once it's up! :P

Here are more pictures of my new place.

Shot of the living/dining room from the passageway

4390773577_bb032cbdfc_m.jpg

Shot of living room balcony from planter

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2763/439078...5f1553a4b_m.jpg

Bathrooms.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2730/439165...74a8c6917_m.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4053/439160...fc51d582f_m.jpg

The master bathroom is connected to the walk-in wadrobe but doesn't hv its own door,

which means that if I'm using the toilet to do No. 2 and my husband needs to change his T-shirt,

it's going to be pretty embarassing for both of us.

Whoever designed this place obviously is a voyeur with all the floor-to-ceiling windows in the bathrooms.

Edited by Umaisarah

Here's a link to the floor plan. Hope it works this time.

I will post the picture itself next week. (ran out of storage space in my flickr a/c)

My Floor Plan (go to D2 plan)

As for my reno, here's a list of what I intend to do:

Living/Dining:

- false ceiling/L-box/Cove Light

- TV and dining feature wall

- wood deck for balcony

- shoe cabinet (outside the main door)

Bedroom 2 & 3

- bed and study desks for my 3 daughters

Master Bedroom

- main feature wall

- TV console

- work area (for me to use laptop and some paperwork)

- bifold door for bathroom

- wood deck for balcony

- cabinet above the washer area

As you can see, very minimal work. I budget about $17K for everything, including wiring but excluding lights and accessories.

Is this realistic? So far, I got two quotes between $17-$19K. Still a bit on the high side, I think.

For covering my bay windows with wood top and cushion, one company quoted me $100 psf!

Is this reasonable? I thought it's so ex.

The ID's excuse is that I have a lot of bay windows. He kind of misses my point, which is his unit cost is already so high, tt's why total cost is very high.

Edited by Umaisarah

[Edited for brevity and to give real company names]

Our search for an ID/Contractor started in early Feb.

Right now, we hv no preference for either ID or contractor.

Having gone thru the posts on RT, I kind of know the pros and cons of ID vs contractor.

Hopefully can get a contractor with some design background coz for things like the ceiling plan, TV feature wall and space layout for the MBR,

I really need a designer to help think it out coz we hvn't decided yet.

Unfortunately, so far, the 3 contractors I've met and discussed so far haven't exactly inspired my confidence.

Hope to make decision by 2nd week March.

Here's the people we've talked to so far, 1st batch is people we met before the onsite appointments on 25th Feb.

(person names changed to protect their identity):

Lennon, Rest and Relax Interior

- Met at Expo. Pester us, so we give floor plan and list of specs.

- Met again 2 weeks later. Didn't really read through our specs, and gave us wrong layout

- Cannot give quote without measurements

Verdict: Out

Ali, - Contractor

- gave on the spot quote of $17k

- was very pushy, trying to get us to confirm because price valid only during CNY period

Verdict: Out

Douglas, Home Guide Design

- Met up and gave floor plan and specs

- Currently overseas and handed over project to colleague

- Meeting colleague on 7/3

Verdict: Disappointing but let's see how next appt turns out

Jeannie, Inner Room ID

- Designer did a project for Renovaid, so one point in her favour (?)

- Good 1st appt even tho we only comm through email

- Meeting again this weekend

Verdict: Possible, if price is right and she willing to listen to our ideas too

PS: LOL, the word 'Classic' is censored again! Can someone explain this to me, pls???

Edited by Umaisarah

[edited for brevity and to give real company names]

My Renovation IDol search continues :D

These are the people I met onsite on 25th. By this time, I was a little more savvy, having read thru Renotalk (heh heh). In fact, most were from recommendations from RT posters.

Kelvin, B&E Group Design and Contractor

- referred to by my property agent's partner.

- Very professional and polite

- Quoted abt $18K

- Supposed to requote and show some drawings based on onsite meeting

Verdict: Shortlisted

Jason, Metal & Wood Contractor

- PMed me via RT

- Quoted $16.5K but quoted for wrong dimensions for TV feature wall and console

- Meeting again at their factory to observe workmanship and discuss specs and quote again

Verdict: Shortlisted but will need plenty of handholding wrt design and specs

Nick, Ideal House ID

- recommended by a few RT posters

- Didn't say much and noticed didn't write anything down during on-site mtg. Got photographic memory, meh?

- No news (is good news...??)

Verdict: ????

Mr Lau, Roheleton ID and Contractor

- Another recommendation from a RT-er.

- didn't say much at on-site meeting but look to be v experienced. Also own Closet Design.

- No follow-up from him yet.

Verdict: Maybe out leh if he never contact me by Thu.....

Lastly is Cynthia from 1 Inch Square Design, another ID recommended by posters coz she can do 3D drawings even without confirm contract. Couldn't get in touch with her on time for onsite viewing on 25th but have emailed the floor plan and list of work to her. Meeting up with her on Sunday afternoon.

So, that's the top 9 of my Renovation IDol search. Don't think I want to look for some more coz very tiring.... :)

But today I going to IMM, so mbe can visit 1 or 2 more companies and see if anyone can give me good quote.

So far, am getting good vibes from the ID peeps, but hv to look at their prices first.

Edited by Umaisarah

Hi Umaisarah,

its me porcupine :)...i'll continue our chat here. Nice to hear you have 3 kids too :). We were contemplating a 4 bedder too. Its size vs location, in the end, location won and we got a 3 bedder. Also I prefer to be maid free, cannot get a big unit n kill myself with the hsework :P. but of coz, now i see the benefits of getting a bigger unit lol.

If all my kids are of the same gender, I'll put them in 1 bedroom n convert the other into a nice study. But i hv both gals and boy..so cant do that :(. I want to build bed on bay window too to save space!

i'll be following your blog closely :)!