sunnytan31

Diy Whole House Electrical

Anyone care to share some knowledge on Electricial Wriring?

How amp DB breaker should I used, for....

- 13A 3-pin sockets

- 15A air-con 3-pin socket

- Instant Water Heater

- Lightings

- Ceiling Fans

Thanks...

Anyone care to share some knowledge on Electricial Wriring?

How amp DB breaker should I used, for....

- 13A 3-pin sockets

- 15A air-con 3-pin socket

- Instant Water Heater

- Lightings

- Ceiling Fans

Thanks...

You got license or not? Cable size or MCB size at the ELCB panel with all the fuses...32A enough.

-13A - 2.5mmsq, contractor cheated like to use 1.5mmsq

- 15A - 2.5mmsq for abt 27,000BTU ompressor.

-Instant heater (say 2000w) - 4mm sq

- Lighting (6-10A)- 1.5mmsq

-Ceiling fan (say 56") abt 180W, 1.5mmsq enough already.

You got license or not? Cable size or MCB size at the ELCB panel with all the fuses...32A enough.

15A for air-con right? my electrician said must use 4mm one...

4mm for instant heater, I thought 2.5mm can go up to 3.5kw? Anyway, thanks I will note it down.

1) 13A 3-pin socket, by book can loop to 3 socket, use 13A or 20A breaker?

2) 15A 3pin socket 1 to 1, use 15A or 20A breaker?

3) Instant Heater outlet 1 to 1, 20A breaker?

4) Lighting, by book loop to 10 lights, use 6A or 10A breaker?

5) Ceiling Fan, 44", plan to loop to 3 fans, user 6A or 10A or 13A breaker?

Edited by sunnytan31

4mm for instant heater, I thought 2.5mm can go up to 3.5kw? Anyway, thanks I will note it down.

1) 13A 3-pin socket, by book can loop to 3 socket, use 13A or 20A breaker?

4) Lighting, by book loop to 10 lights, use 6A or 10A breaker?

5) Ceiling Fan, 44", plan to loop to 3 fans, user 6A or 10A or 13A breaker?

Sorry, mistake, 2000/230 =9A, 2.5mmsq can already. Electricians ususally use HO5VK cable, see current carrying capacity table below:

cabletypeh07vkpage3.jpg

Sorry, mistake, 2000/230 =9A, 2.5mmsq can already. Electricians ususally use HO5VK cable, see current carrying capacity table below:

cabletypeh07vkpage3.jpg

Bro, can guide what breaker ampere is required for the following...

1) 13A 3-pin socket, loop to 3 socket, use 13A or 20A breaker?

4) Lighting, loop to 10 lights, use 6A or 10A breaker?

5) Ceiling Fan, 44", loop to 3 fans, use 6A or 10A or 13A breaker?

Bro, can guide what breaker ampere is required for the following...

1) 13A 3-pin socket, loop to 3 socket, use 13A or 20A breaker?

4) Lighting, loop to 10 lights, use 6A or 10A breaker?

5) Ceiling Fan, 44", loop to 3 fans, use 6A or 10A or 13A breaker?

Install 5 breakers to each circuitry? You are referring to "switch" or "MCB"?

1. 13A//3, 20A breaker can already. MCB has "thermal trip" function built-in, once it senses excessive heat over the contact, it will trip automatically as safety feature. "Switch" will not trip, it will "burn" until it is open circuit.

2. 15A 3pin, use 20A mcb.

3. Heater got 1000W, 2000W, 2200W....worst case 2500W. 2500/230(pf=1) =10.9. 15A mcb is enough.

4. 10A mcb

5. One ceiling fan is abt 180w, 180x3 = 540w.540/230(0.8) = 3A. 10A mcb is better.

Install 5 breakers to each circuitry? You are referring to "switch" or "MCB"?

1. 13A//3, 20A breaker can already. MCB has "thermal trip" function built-in, once it senses excessive heat over the contact, it will trip automatically as safety feature. "Switch" will not trip, it will "burn" until it is open circuit.

2. 15A 3pin, use 20A mcb.

3. Heater got 1000W, 2000W, 2200W....worst case 2500W. 2500/230(pf=1) =10.9. 15A mcb is enough.

4. 10A mcb

5. One ceiling fan is abt 180w, 180x3 = 540w.540/230(0.8) = 3A. 10A mcb is better.

Paiseh, I referring to MCB.

Jus check online, the instant heater i planned to used is 3.6KW so base on calculation, 3600W/230V=15.65A, must use 20A MCB?

How about HDB standard MCCB, 30A or 40A? Main incoming wires are 10mm rite?

Paiseh, I referring to MCB.

Jus check online, the instant heater i planned to used is 3.6KW so base on calculation, 3600W/230V=15.65A, must use 20A MCB?

How about HDB standard MCCB, 30A or 40A? Main incoming wires are 10mm rite?

- Wow, super "heavy duty" instant water heater, correct 20A. Like runnung a 27,000BTU air con! I guess you'll regret get such a high power heater. My present 2200w, I already found "too big".

- HDB incoming, so far, max is 40A. So estate only 32A.

-Ceiling fan calculate wrongly, should be 540x (0.8)/230=1.9A, 6A mcb ok

- Wow, super "heavy duty" instant water heater, correct 20A. Like runnung a 27,000BTU air con! I guess you'll regret get such a high power heater. My present 2200w, I already found "too big".

- HDB incoming, so far, max is 40A. So estate only 32A.

-Ceiling fan calculate wrongly, should be 540x (0.8)/230=1.9A, 6A mcb ok

Dunno leh... I also quite shock on the instant heater wattage. But my current house is using Champs and happen to know it 3kw.

Just wondering, if ceiling fan use 6A, why lights use 10A?

For mine, I think incoming is 32A bah, resale and not upgraded.

Edited by sunnytan31

Dunno leh... I also quite shock on the instant heater wattage. But my current house is using Champs and happen to know it 3kw.

Just wondering, if ceiling fan use 6A, why lights use 10A?

For mine, I think incoming is 32A bah, resale and not upgraded.

I believe you are talking about those 1 pole mcb,

-Lighting can "loop" = 1 incoming can loop to lighting for kitchen, tiolet, hall, room...

- Must have individual for:

-- Instant heater

-- Aircon

-- Built-in oven, depend on electrical size.

-- Induction cooker, depend on aize. 2200w can use mormal 13A 3-pin outlet.

- Fan can share those "lighting".

- Power point usually splited into 3-4 groups:

-- Kitchen

-- Hall

-- rooms

Personal advise: better buy heavy fire insurance, water heater "too big"- cables under stress, max 70 deg C, constant under stress break the cable insulation, pvc becomes soft at first then "harden" and "chip off" when voltage "jump over", may catch fire over the cables, if ELCB not function.

I believe you are talking about those 1 pole mcb,

-Lighting can "loop" = 1 incoming can loop to lighting for kitchen, tiolet, hall, room...

- Must have individual for:

-- Instant heater

-- Aircon

-- Built-in oven, depend on electrical size.

-- Induction cooker, depend on aize. 2200w can use mormal 13A 3-pin outlet.

- Fan can share those "lighting".

- Power point usually splited into 3-4 groups:

-- Kitchen

-- Hall

-- rooms

Personal advise: better buy heavy fire insurance, water heater "too big"- cables under stress, max 70 deg C, constant under stress break the cable insulation, pvc becomes soft at first then "harden" and "chip off" when voltage "jump over", may catch fire over the cables, if ELCB not function.

So to avoid "heavy fire insurance", better to run 4mm for heater and aircon?

Just to confirm, for lightings, let say I got 30 2x18w downlights, I need to use 3 x 10A mcb or 3 x 6A mcb?

wiring diameter is based on the amperage of the MCB. if your MCB is 20A, your wiring shld be able to support more. if you are unsure, please get the CP5 book and see the specifications there, there is a standard increment to use, its been so long so i can't really remember whether its 10% or 20%.

the thicker wiring is because, the MCB will not trip until your current exceeds 20A, thus, your wiring if its only rated for 13A, will be taking excessive stress from 13A to 20A before the MCB trips the supply. if the system is drawing 15A, the MCB will not trip and your wiring will be constantly under stress.

Suggestion is, if you are not a licensed electrician, get someone to do the job. Its very very dangerous if the wiring is not done properly

So to avoid "heavy fire insurance", better to run 4mm for heater and aircon?

Just to confirm, for lightings, let say I got 30 2x18w downlights, I need to use 3 x 10A mcb or 3 x 6A mcb?

- Not a wise decision to have "heavy duty" electrical appliances at home, unless no choice. No matter how "thick" the cables are or how big the rating of the mcb is.

- "Central" storage hot water system/heater requires 3-5kw, but not instant heater ! With modern thyristor-controlled power, a 2000w is very much more than enough. With less than 10 seconds, you can get the required "hot water" to your taste.

- 3.6kw water heater is for high water flow rate, hotel, bathbed.

- For future expansion, use 10A, no harm.

- Better test the 20mA Earth Leakage Circuit Breaker whether in working condition.

Cable's insulation material(H05V-K) is sensitive to heat as well as UV light. Many house/shop caught fire because of this constant over-stressed of cable.

To tell you more:

- I was given a 16-day MC last May, right palm (4 fingers, top portion) badly burnt by instant extreme high heat caused by short circuiting. Exposed to heat less tha 2 seconds, I dared to say. 50mm sq cables caught fire and melted immediately. Wrote a report to MOM.

- Almost some 12 years ago, I was "shocked" by 22kv, 60hz in S.Korea, fainted. Sent to hospital immediately. Now, still holding the hospital card as "present".

- Not a wise decision to have "heavy duty" electrical appliances at home, unless no choice. No matter how "thick" the cables are or how big the rating of the mcb is.

- "Central" storage hot water system/heater requires 3-5kw, but not instant heater ! With modern thyristor-controlled power, a 2000w is very much more than enough. With less than 10 seconds, you can get the required "hot water" to your taste.

- 3.6kw water heater is for high water flow rate, hotel, bathbed.

- For future expansion, use 10A, no harm.

- Better test the 20mA Earth Leakage Circuit Breaker whether in working condition.

Cable's insulation material(H05V-K) is sensitive to heat as well as UV light. Many house/shop caught fire because of this constant over-stressed of cable.

To tell you more:

- I was given a 16-day MC last May, right palm (4 fingers, top portion) badly burnt by instant extreme high heat caused by short circuiting. Exposed to heat less tha 2 seconds, I dared to say. 50mm sq cables caught fire and melted immediately. Wrote a report to MOM.

- Almost some 12 years ago, I was "shocked" by 22kv, 60hz in S.Korea, fainted. Sent to hospital immediately. Now, still holding the hospital card as "present".

Your cases sound scary. :o I will rather pay more for a experienced electrician to do the house wiring than have people injured at home or fires happen at home.