booksntoys

Sharp Inverter Aircon - Super Noisy

If you're very particular 'bt noise, esp. when sleeping when you're in your bedroom,

DO NOT BUY SHARP AIRCON.

We bought it as it was highly recommended by the Gain City's salesperson.

But little did we know that it's super noisy - when it's switched on/off, and when u increase the fan speed.

The noise is like airplane taking off!

My spouse could not take it and complained to Gain City twice.

First time

they came and inserted rubber btw air con & aircon frame.

Result - not as noisy as b4, but still can be heard.

Reason for this - when the manufacturers tested the aircon in M'sia, it was on the ground. They didn't know think that the aircon will be installed in high-rise buildings in S'pore. :dunno:

Second time

they came and inserted big piece of cotton foam btw aircon & the board on the wall.

Result - not as noisy as the 2nd time, but still can be heard.

Reason for this - all inverters all like that :jawdrop:

They asked us to test the aircon at night (when it's quieter)

and if the noise is still bothering us, they'll ask their Boss to come.

I told me spouse to just forget it la

If you're very particular 'bt noise, esp. when sleeping when you're in your bedroom,

DO NOT BUY SHARP AIRCON.

But little did we know that it's super noisy - when it's switched on/off, and when u increase the fan speed.

First time

Reason for this - when the manufacturers tested the aircon in M'sia, it was on the ground. They didn't know think that the aircon will be installed in high-rise buildings in S'pore. :dunno:

Second time

they came and inserted big piece of cotton foam btw aircon & the board on the wall.

So in the end did Gain City manage to solve the noise problems?

Is the blower or compressor noisy?

Gain City also installed the Panasonic non-inverter aircon for us & the gas running sound is loud with weird whining noise. Also the blower seem to create vibrating noise (we set at medium fan speed)

So in the end did Gain City manage to solve the noise problems?

Is the blower or compressor noisy?

Gain City also installed the Panasonic non-inverter aircon for us & the gas running sound is loud with weird whining noise. Also the blower seem to create vibrating noise (we set at medium fan speed)

compressor's noisy.

we left it as it was after they came the 2nd time.

like what i've stated, hubby wanted to complain all the way, but i didn't wanna pursue it.

do contact Gain City regarding the noises that you're facing

cos after warranty period, complain = pay pay pay.

If u can take it, complain until you're satisfied with everything.

hihi, we also have a Sharp Inverter from Gain City few months back and it's not nosiy at all...

no noise like aeroplane taking-off when u turn on/off the air-con

and/or when u increase/decrease fan speed?

ours is one compressor to 3 aircons

compressor's noisy.

we left it as it was after they came the 2nd time.

like what i've stated, hubby wanted to complain all the way, but i didn't wanna pursue it.

do contact Gain City regarding the noises that you're facing

cos after warranty period, complain = pay pay pay.

If u can take it, complain until you're satisfied with everything.

Did you re-use old pipings?

For our case we use old pipings. We told the sales b4 purchase our MB previously fan coil is 12,000 btu & if there will be any problems if re-using old piping. The sales told us no problem.

Hence we got discount of S$50 for each room for re-using old pipes. On the day of installation, Gain City so called in house techincians (i suspect they are sub-cons) never did mention

anything abt if they flare our old larger gas pipe to panasonic new smaller gas pipe will cause any problems or not. It is only until the noise problems being detected then we knew abt

the difference in pipings for different btu fan coil.

But their so-called in house technicians are not that professional or skillful enough to solve problems. In actual fact when the noise sound is really quite loud & high pitch, we actually advise them

to extend/lengthen the outdoor piping & insulation, sure enough it manage to solve a bit of the sound but not totally because i think it is still not long enough extension.

The technician say will discuss with the other technicians to see if can hv better ways to solve the problems completely. But after waited for more than 1 month plus, not a single call fm him.

Hence we decided to call up Gain City again & ask if they could send other better or responsible techicians.

Guess what they say they hv to send back the same technician & they say to change the piping size to match the panasonic ones & going to charge us S$200.

no noise like aeroplane taking-off when u turn on/off the air-con

and/or when u increase/decrease fan speed?

ours is one compressor to 3 aircons

ours oso 3 aircons to 1 compressor. no noise thru out the night, whether we increase/decrease speed, on/off etc.

Do u live in HDB flat?

Cos the technician from Gain City told us that

that was the main reason why the compressor is noisy.

Do u mind giving me your model number?

thks

Edited by booksntoys

Do u live in HDB flat?

Cos the technician from Gain City told us that

that was the main reason why the compressor is noisy.

Do u mind giving me your model number?

thks

Ops... I jus realized u r referring to the compressor while I'm talking abt the aircon unit itself. Haha... paisay.

Compressor does have a bit of sound but to us still acceptable, furthermore, I'm the type who cannot stand noisy places.

Guess there are a few issues here...1) Aircon, 2) Installer. Its best to get a more reliable aircon brand like Daikin or ME to enjoy peace of mind. They are by far the most recommended brands among my friends and colleagues. With regards to the installer, isn't it undertaken by the respective brand's installer? If not, then it's best to buy from places like Best instead. But then again, the cost will be higher than normal neighbournood estates.

DO NOT BUY SHARP AIRCON.

First time

Second time

Hi, has your aircon unit problems been solved already?

Another forum user mention that for inverter aircon is it more quiet & since yours also the same should be quiet too? Or is it something wrong with the compressor? Did you ask Sharp technicians to verify what's the problem?

For my case is non-inverter aircon so it is quite noisy.

Hi, has your aircon unit problems been solved already?

Another forum user mention that for inverter aircon is it more quiet & since yours also the same should be quiet too? Or is it something wrong with the compressor? Did you ask Sharp technicians to verify what's the problem?

For my case is non-inverter aircon so it is quite noisy.

NOT RESOLVED.

Compressor still noisy esp. when No.2 & No.3 air con switched on.

Hubby escalated the issue to both Gain City & Sharp.

Both sent their technicians to our place a couple of times.

Sharp technician thought that it's not a problem & could be resolved.

He did something to the bracket BUT the noise became worse - compressor became noisier even with only 1 air-con switched on!

Then Sharp technicians came for the 3rd time. They took out the entire compressor & air-con bracket, added/modified somethings.

STILL, no change to noise level at all!!!

Finally, Sharp engineer came. DENY DENY DENY.

Not a problem at all, he said.

Inverters' compressors are all noise, he said.

Non-inverters' compressors even noisier, he added.

Funny thing is: technicians from Gain City all admitted that this new Sharp model's compressor has noise problem.

BUT, everybody from Sharp denied the problem.

There'll be a final meeting at our place with both ppl from Gain City & Sharp.

Dunno when that'll be.

Dunno what's gonna happen.

Very bad customer service from Sharp.

We're gonna boycott their products from now on!!

Can I asking your sharp air cond is correct inverter type?

How many BTU for compressor I can't find the catalogue from internet.

But how come inverter compressor will be noisy and vibration?

Maybe it is the recon 2nd hand compressor they change it for you.

If brand new would be have vibration when you switch on 1 or 3 units.

I saw in Singapore is very seldom ppl are using it sharp model.

Event hitachi is lesser also.

NOT RESOLVED.

Compressor still noisy esp. when No.2 & No.3 air con switched on.

Hubby escalated the issue to both Gain City & Sharp.

Both sent their technicians to our place a couple of times.

Sharp technician thought that it's not a problem & could be resolved.

He did something to the bracket BUT the noise became worse - compressor became noisier even with only 1 air-con switched on!

Then Sharp technicians came for the 3rd time. They took out the entire compressor & air-con bracket, added/modified somethings.

STILL, no change to noise level at all!!!

Finally, Sharp engineer came. DENY DENY DENY.

Not a problem at all, he said.

Inverters' compressors are all noise, he said.

Non-inverters' compressors even noisier, he added.

Funny thing is: technicians from Gain City all admitted that this new Sharp model's compressor has noise problem.

BUT, everybody from Sharp denied the problem.

There'll be a final meeting at our place with both ppl from Gain City & Sharp.

Dunno when that'll be.

Dunno what's gonna happen.

Very bad customer service from Sharp.

We're gonna boycott their products from now on!!

Actually Panasonic technicians also say same thing, their machine are like that one. If u explain the sound to them, everytime they came say don't hv but Gain City supervisor can hear leh.

But Gain City supervisor finally manage to persuade them to change a new condenser unit for us because the supervisor say can hear the noise very clearly in the morning not to mention

the quiet night. And our case already dragged on for 4 months plus and we as customer got no choice to abandon masterbedroom & sleep in common room. The supervisor say it is compressor faulty. If after change still same problems, then Gain City will find other ways to help solve our problems.