hyacinth266

Chen & Hu's House

:bangwall: I started late... It is now only less than one month before I collect my key and I just start looking for contractors...

Asking friends around me and realized that some even started 3 month before completion!~

For local Singaporeans, it is always easy to find referrals from relatives or friends. For new immigrants like me, I can only depend on my handful friends and internet.

Thanks to RenoTalk and MyContractors.sg. Very soon, I have got few contacts and some progress:

1) GQ & R Designs - referred by one housing agent

Shanti - An western culture educated Indian lady with a very nice accent. Talking to her over the phone, you will think that you are talking to a British lady. Frank, professional and caring about her clients. However, she just started her own company for few months and in my view, it means she has not built a strong enough team. She has lots of experience for Condo projects for Indian home. Thus, she doesn't have workers for HDB and the taste is a question mark.

Quote is slightly higher than average.

2) Surfacesolutions - referred by friend

William - it was my first meeting with contractor together with my hubby. As we didn't know what we want, thus this meeting was a mess. But mainly my fault, not his.

Still waiting for quote and will let the numbers talk...

3) Id Home Plus & Services - through MyContractors.sg

Teo - Sounds experienced and frank, however, also can tell that he is very good at sales and telling us what we want but not what we need.

Quote came but Teo missed few things that we want to do. KIV and let the numbers talk...

4) Designer Guy - through RenoTalk

Lim Jie & Andrew - Very professional, experienced and frank. Engineering trained, logical. Giving the quote on the spot. Really shows his ability in his job. However, we will be under Lim Jie, Andrew's apprentice and Andrew is a very busy guy. A little bit concern about quality control.

Quote is resonable.

5) IDEE Interior Design - MyContractors.sg

Eunice - Friendly guy. Few years in the industry, not that much experience. He kept showing us the laminate floor tiles and we even thought he is a salesman...

Quote is higher than Designer Guy.

6) Wild Angle - referred by friend

Jacky - Currently overseas, haven't met

7) Henry from ID Note - Referred by RenoTalk

Henry - hearing a lot from this forum. Just received his contact. Haven't met yet.

8) IntraDesign - referred by RenoTalk

Angeline - my project is too small, they don't want to take my case.

9) ** - referred by RenoTalk

Planning to talk soon

路漫漫之修远兮,吾将上下而求索。Still seraching and searching... Praying that God will give me a good contractor to build my little nest...

Edited by hyacinth266

Welcome to RT~ :)

actually hor, sometimes even for local SGreans, it's not easy to get referral from friends and relatives... that's why all ended up in Renotalk :lol:

Good luck for your reno journey~ :yamseng:

actually hor, sometimes even for local SGreans, it's not easy to get referral from friends and relatives... that's why all ended up in Renotalk :lol:

this bit is quite true.. :lol:

whenever i asked my friends or relatives, they will surely either say they forgot the contractor/id company or the service was bad so they better not recommend.

anyway welcome to RT hyacinth266 :yamseng:

Welcome to RT~ :)

Good luck for your reno journey~ :yamseng:

:sport-smiley-018:

Thank you!~ We really need to thank RenoTalk's founder...

Good luck for your reno too!

Whoever it is, choose a good one. It will save you a lot of headache later :)

Thanks!~

Headache already begins... ... Is this like "No Pain, No Gain"? :furious:

I am very detailed oriented and numbers sensitive. My hubby likes to show off his understanding in space planning and colours. Workigng together to build our first home is really tough... ...

this bit is quite true.. :lol:

whenever i asked my friends or relatives, they will surely either say they forgot the contractor/id company or the service was bad so they better not recommend.

anyway welcome to RT hyacinth266 :yamseng:

:rolleyes: That's why we like RenoTalk and sharing all the info here.

Reading the journey of other ppl's house is also quite fun!

:thumbs up:

LOL yea indeed... when i asked my friends, it's either they had bad experience with their contractors/ID, or it's simply too expensive for us ... :jawdrop: maybe i have rich friends~ :P

I am very detailed oriented and numbers sensitive. My hubby likes to show off his understanding in space planning and colours. Workigng together to build our first home is really tough... ...

if you are not in a hurry to move in, maybe you can spend more time in detail planning before starting reno.... haha yea i enjoy reading t-blogs too, so interesting to see all the transformation of homes~!

yup. fun and at the same time can get to know of good recommendations and sales etc :sport-smiley-004:

LOL yea indeed... when i asked my friends, it's either they had bad experience with their contractors/ID, or it's simply too expensive for us ... :jawdrop: maybe i have rich friends~ :P

if you are not in a hurry to move in, maybe you can spend more time in detail planning before starting reno.... haha yea i enjoy reading t-blogs too, so interesting to see all the transformation of homes~!

spending more time to plan can save time and money!

actually I got no problem to recommend "my contractor" to friends :P ... lol .

But I also got friends kena reject by him b4 due to peak period and he know he can't handle liao . lol

LOL that's how i became your "friend".

heehee :P

*heheh*

Welcome to an exciting journey :dancingqueen:

full of Ups... and downs :o

The only advice I have is:

Be firm in your ideas and voice dis-pleasures as early as possible

Wishing ya a Fantastic Successful Reno :good:

Sent my floor plan and request to Henry liao.

Waiting now... ...

Sent my floor plan and request to Henry liao.

Waiting now... ...

Pm me if you wish to get my contractor for a quote, reasonable price & good workmanship.... got big showroom at Leng Kee :)

寒舍 Floor plan

Floor%20Plan%20HDB%204rm%20@%20Bishan%20

Due to limited budget, my hubby and I decide to spend the money on the places we mostly ues.

1 Living Room/Study Room

a) Supply and install double sided gypsum board L-shape partition

with Aluminum Skirting on both sides

b) Supply and install Solid Nyatoh door frame ( Qty: 1)

c) Supply and install classic door with locker (Qty: 1)

2 Master Bedroom

a) DisMantle existing partition wall between MBR and Bedroom 2

b) Construct solid cement wall using hollow block wall

c) Plaster smooth wall on both sides

d) Fill Air‐con hole with hollow block

d) Hack existing door frame

e) Supply and install solid nyatoh door frame

f) Supply and install classic door with locker

g) Supply and install laminate flooring at MBR

h) Supply and install insulation underneath laminate flooring

3 Master Bathroom

a) Supply labour and raw material to overlay wall tiles

b) Supply labour and raw material to overlay floor tiles

c) Construct shower kerb

d) Provide Labour to install WC

e) Provide labour and pipes to run new piping for MBR bathroom

f) Provide labour to install basin and taps

g) Install 10mm thick tempered shower screen (1 fixed pane & 1 swing)

h) Intall accesseries

i) Instal mini spray?

j) Supply and install bi‐fold door

k) Supply and install vanity cabinet under and top with mirrior

l) Install heater

4 Common room Bathroom

a) Provide Labour to install WC

b) Provide labour to install basin and taps

5 MISC

a) Nippon 5000/Easy Wash for all internal wall & Celling ( 4 colour)

b) Haulage and debris removal charge

c) Polish existing broken marble in 2 common bedrooms and living room

d) Acid wash

e) Window cleaning

Edited by hyacinth266