terrywei

Tv In Front Of Living Room Window?

my id proposed placing the tv infront, middle of the window...

I have my concerns about the sun n rain... scared may damage the tv n console prematurely...

anyone with such design to share comments?

Beside danger of electric short-circuit from rain, it's also glaring to the eyes. In the long term, people in the house will need thicker spectacles.

my id proposed placing the tv infront, middle of the window...

I have my concerns about the sun n rain... scared may damage the tv n console prematurely...

anyone with such design to share comments?

Quite unusual.....

i'm staying in a corridor unit. currently, my tv is placed right in front of the window. i believe exactly like wat ur ID proposed.

dun hv any problems wif rain, even though my block has un-blocked view frm that corridor window.

but do face the problem of glare frm sunlight. but this is regardless whether u're watching tv or not. so long as it's daytime, u open tt corridor window, and u're sitting facing tt window directly, ur eyes will get the glare and feel strained aft a while. solve the problem by not opening the windows all the way. my windows are still the old, louvre type so i can control hw much i open them.

nite time, no such problem at all. can watch tv in comfort. no glare frm corridor fluorescent lighting.

good thing of this position is all heat generated by ur tv is easily ventilated thru the window.

overall, i'm neither for nor against such a placement. i wld place my tv depending more on layout's restrictions than anything else. other factors can overcome. rain, glare etc....dun open the windows lor.

If 3rm corridor unit, most of them place the TV near to window.

But try not in the middle of it. Or else

1. you can't open the window

2. how to wash the window

3. sunlight

4. instead of watching window, you are watching ppl walking at the corridor

3. sunlight

can install at the wall between the maindoor and common room door oso... or as a partition-cum-tv console....

Is yours a 3-room terrywei?

I did explore the possibility of doing this as well;

-Sun/ Glare can be resolved with curtains & Blinds- (with that in mind, your windows would likely

be closed like manutd1972 mentioned. -resulting in loss of ventilation)

-Rain should not be much of an problem, if so, it's the windows issue rather than anything else.

If these are still your worries, you can errect a partition away from the window leaving a gap

as a foyer.

Else, get your ID to give you more alternatives; make him work for his money :thumbs up:

3. sunlight

can install at the wall between the maindoor and common room door oso... or as a partition-cum-tv console....

I had this dilemma before

I tried placing away frm the window, on the main living wall with the sofa directly opposite on the common room wall.

It somehow made the room looks so narrow and congested... unless;

1. To put the sofa by the side.

2. Buy mini size furnitures

3. No sofa/ coffee table

Finally i decided to place the TV like what yr ID sugguested. :)