Find Professionals    Deals    Get Quotations   Portfolios
Sign in to follow this  
Bananapunk

Attic to Loft conversion in a walk-up apartment

Hi all!

I've recently purchased an old (60's) 1078 sqft walk-up apartment between Little India and Serangoon. I'm planning to completely hack current layout and fake ceiling, install a 300 sqft loft and access to the flat roof on top of the kitchen (another 200 sqft). I've seen an apartment in the neighborhood that did juts that (they claim all legally). I also have a second private access in the back, I'll be building a wadding pool/jacuzzi there. I wanted to start this thread as I'll be documenting the process from start to finish and also hope to gain some advice. I'm a designer, working in the film industry and an artisan, skills I'm planning to partially utilize for this project.   I'm not planning on employing an ID firm, instead will go with an architect or main builder directly. I'd like to present you my preliminary design. I realize some of it won't be doable on my budget, maybe I'm just crazy, but I need a place to start, so my new layout is an ideal case scenario. The style I'll be going for is a mix of mid-century modern mixed with good ol nostalgic Singapore, known from old apartments in Katong and Tiong Bahru. Mostly going for minimal, non pretentious look and raw materials. Cement screed, exposed brick, wood and plain white paint.

You can find the plan in the attachment, also foollow the below link

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B9_NMEc2cSqJLTBJS2xabG9QVXM?usp=sharing

You will find there:

-walk through through the current state of the property.

-the video visualization of hacking the walls, installing new layout, adding an attic floor etc.

-mood boards/look  for certain apartment features.

What's next? I'm currently looking for an architect or main contractor with a history of similar projects. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!