kids2

Ikea Carpentary

Has anyone has any experience using the ikea kitchen?

i would like to use solid pine which is more lasting and reliable.

Also, any experience with Impress21 Design & Build?

Just received a quotation from Henry for my resale HDB 3rm flat.

Basically, it's NOT cheap.

Care to share any view, anyone?

Cheers,

Cheers,

IKEA kitchen (FAKTUM series) is using particleboard,not solid pine...

my experience is that 10 out of 10 contractors/ID will tell u IKEA quality sucks because IKEA is using particleboard whereas contractors/ID are using 3-piece solid plywood...

nevertheless, there are good quality particleboard that are better than poor quality plywood... IKEA is giving 10 years guarantee on their kitchen cabinets made of particleboard... no contractors/ID will give u this kind of guarantee even though the contractors/ID are using plywood... :rofl:

Cheers,

i did ask them for quotation b4, their price is quite average leh.

depends on WHAT you want leh.

many shunned ikea kitchen - cos not lasting

i did ask them for quotation b4, their price is quite average leh.

depends on WHAT you want leh.

many shunned ikea kitchen - cos not lasting

thanks MaCe & redbottle

I sort of agreed with ikea stuff. Good for the small items

but definitely not the big items, eg. bed, TV console, wardrobe...

But just wondering if anybody has experience with ikea solid pine?

Is solid pine really that reliable?

I'm still sourcing for my contractor for my newly bought clementi

resale 3rm flat.

thanks MaCe & redbottle

resale 3rm flat.

go to the renovation firms section and source - do lots of reading.

quite a number of reputated contractors there.

thanks MaCe & redbottle

resale 3rm flat.

i have a ikea solid pine shelf

it's meant to be under the queen-sized solid pine loft bed which is out of production already

shelf been serving me well for the past 5yrs and no problem with my furry babies sleeping on it :dribble:

their solid pine is really good but the price also very 'nice'

you're paying for solid wood so dun expect the fibreboard price :dribble:

go to the renovation firms section and source - do lots of reading.

quite a number of reputated contractors there.

Thanks... i actually had someone in mind (Impress21 Design & Build).

But still do some "shopping" b4 finialising the deal.

Clementi (Blk320) is currently going through up-grading so i'm

going to let them finish their stuff before doing my stuff. Dont think

they will finish till mid Sep or early Oct.

My unit is done up by Henry. I must admit he is not the cheapest. But I must say his response is good. When he commit a time to finish the task, he will do it (so far he never fail me lah)

For eg. My washing machine base is done wrongly. I told him on Tuesday and he came to inspect the same day. I told him I want it to be fix by Friday. On Friday evening, his workers is fixing it and it was done pretty nicely.

If you want him to do your kitchen cabinet, I would advice you to get your sink, hob, hood and other accessories for his carpenter for him to measure. Like that if carpenter will have no excuse if he mess up the measurement.

My unit is done up by Henry. I must admit he is not the cheapest. But I must say his response is good. When he commit a time to finish the task, he will do it (so far he never fail me lah)

For eg. My washing machine base is done wrongly. I told him on Tuesday and he came to inspect the same day. I told him I want it to be fix by Friday. On Friday evening, his workers is fixing it and it was done pretty nicely.

If you want him to do your kitchen cabinet, I would advice you to get your sink, hob, hood and other accessories for his carpenter for him to measure. Like that if carpenter will have no excuse if he mess up the measurement.

Hi Mousehunt,

Actually my sis(yr2004), mom(yr2005), followed by my bro (yr2006) used Impress21 Design & Build.

But i just wanted to see if there is any better choices. So far, things seem to be ok.

And i have also recommended him to quite a few of my friends.