MaCe

Money $$$ Not $$$ Enough Blog

After some findings, PLC downlight cannot be use with electronic balast. Most PLC light bulb have only 2 pins and the starter is builtin to the PLC bulb. There are 4 pin PLC bulb but there are rare and much more expensive that the normal 2 pin PLC light bulb. On top of that, the light holder need to have 4 wires connected to the 4 pins PLC light.

So I decided to find light holder to horizontal screw type. The problem is most shop carried square downlight and not much round type nowdays. Some shop say it is not possible to have screw type in horizon layout.

I managed to find one shop in Jln Besar that have a similar size (round) downlight as mine. The sales guy is willing to modified the PLC to screw in holder (E27). Tested it with one of these modified downlight and it is working for me. Now the plan is to change the rest of my magnetic balast with PLC downlights to the builin electronic balast E27 downlight.

alright - glad to know another DIY-er :lol:

I have measured the power consumption with magnetic vs electronic ballast here is my result:

Magnetek 18W Magnetic ballast with 20W circular FL lamp

Watt measured : 30W

Philips 18W Electronic ballast with 20W circular FL lamp

Watts measured: 22W

How or rather what did you use to measure the difference in power consumption between Magnetic ballast & Electronic ballast?

I got myself a meter similar to this product called Kill-a-watt http://the-gadgeteer.com/review/kill_a_wat..._monitor_review

This device help me to measure the actual watts use. I have to wire my lights up using to a 3 pin plug to measure it.

a old bird engineer once told me -

any electrical appliance that is UNSTABLE, flickering, inconsistent - not having a constant smooth flow of electricity EQUALs to "eat electricity".

in this case - magnetic ballast.

in the past when electricity is cheap - of cos it means nothing for just some 0.00x cents per day but now when you add up the savings PER YEAR...no joking matter.

mace, can help ask your wife which brand of thermal cooker she using

now that electricity price is going up (AGAIN!) really got to get one of that liao :furious:

mace, can help ask your wife which brand of thermal cooker she using

now that electricity price is going up (AGAIN!) really got to get one of that liao :furious:

wife said BO brand type.....

this mth our bill $120+ (4 adults). :(

wife said BO brand type.....

this mth our bill $120+ (4 adults). :(

sure got brand one bah

endo or tiger nia mah

me heard tiger very good but went to check it out feels very filmsy leh :no: :no:

my bill hoevering around $180 for 5 adults

so yours is quite good liao wor :good:

ya, i is 2 adults and 1 kid, $120 oso le.

sure got brand one bah

endo or tiger nia mah

me heard tiger very good but went to check it out feels very filmsy leh :no: :no:

really BO brand NOT B&O - Bang and Ofulsen :lol:

then can help ask where to buy

really need to get one asap :(

just now flip it over and saw the scary words - Made in Bangladesh..... :(

really a BO brand... i remember was a housewarming gift given by wife's relatives.

tink 120+ considered quite ok...

the culprit is my old PC + last mth super hot weather(on aircon)......or else wont be more than $100.

ya, i is 2 adults and 1 kid, $120 oso le.

hmm...aircon always on?

anyway - any amount around or below $150 is considered good.

my colleague 3 room = $220 a mth... :jawdrop::dunno:

the culprit is my old PC + last mth super hot weather(on aircon)......or else wont be more than $100.

hmm...aircon always on?

anyway - any amount around or below $150 is considered good.

my colleague 3 room = $220 a mth... :jawdrop::dunno:

:jawdrop:

for us, 3.5 adults + 1 toddler + 1 dog ~ $170 to $180 :(