MaCe

Money $$$ Not $$$ Enough Blog

Cannot leh.

I've heard abt Acetone in your prev pgs. But lazy to go thru the pages to see where to buy... Where huh? :deal:

paint shops - as well as big time hardware shops in jalan besar.

Bro MaCe, got a chinese name for this Acetone or not?

I ever asked Patrick what to use to wipe off the paint on my aluminium windows frame, he said "Spirit", or in chinese "Fire Water". Is Spirit the same as Acetone?

MaCe,

Any advise on how to prevent the stainless steel shelves for the shower from rusting? Bought the corner shelves from Hoe Kee and after using for less than 2 weeks, I discovered rust spots already!! :(

Must be lower grade of Stainless Steel... :( Paid double to get the SS shelves when compared to the chrome plated ones to avoid the peeling and tarnishing and now, it's rusting away...

Must remember to wipe the shelves dry after showering each time now....

MaCe,

Any advise on how to prevent the stainless steel shelves for the shower from rusting? Bought the corner shelves from Hoe Kee and after using for less than 2 weeks, I discovered rust spots already!! :(

Must be lower grade of Stainless Steel... :( Paid double to get the SS shelves when compared to the chrome plated ones to avoid the peeling and tarnishing and now, it's rusting away...

Must remember to wipe the shelves dry after showering each time now....

mine one also have....just use KLEEN KING powder to brush it off lor.

Okay, will look for the KLEEN KING powder at NTUC then... :)

2 weeks and rust appear liao... :(

mine one also have....just use KLEEN KING powder to brush it off lor.

Most probably.. Don't know if the stainless steel is 18/10 or 18/8... :( Maybe it's 18/8 bah....

apprye how come ah?

the stainless steel quality is not good?

since its 18/8, possible to use those rust removing agents?

will it help?

something like WD40 kind

actually i asking cos this problem persists in my parents home as well

so i am hoping to avoid same thing for my place

Edited by SmartFool

Lemme get the Kleen King and I'll update... :) Quite sad to see the shelves rusting away after 2 weeks

will it help?

something like WD40 kind

ok thanks for the update

cos i think most of us face the same problem nowadays

esp since sales people may also tell u its 18/10 and its only 18/8

and if u pay for 18/10 the pxs may be even more hefty

Bro MaCe, got a chinese name for this Acetone or not?

I ever asked Patrick what to use to wipe off the paint on my aluminium windows frame, he said "Spirit", or in chinese "Fire Water". Is Spirit the same as Acetone?

Acetone ; speek a la hokkien style = AH SEE TONE

those paintshops that sells ONLY PAINT definitely have this.

any hardwareshop sells fire water / huay jiu. though some will give you THINNER instead.

Spirit is not as strong as acetone...acetone can melt plastics.

never use it on plastic/fabrics/painted surface.

will it help?

something like WD40 kind

WD40 don work on rust removal. use the kleen king powder form.

if you guys like those stainless stell kitchen baskets, consider the Song Cho brand, I used them for my old house and after 10 years, no rust no discoloration at all! They're a bit pricey but you won't face this problem again.

apprye, try stainless steel polish (3M brand) to protect your stuff