xmac2006

Resale Unit, Canberra Road

Hi, overlaying the existing tiles in the toilets and kitchen?

Yes and no. We hacked the existing floor tiles in the toilet and kitchen, but we overlaid the bathroom wall tiles while we are just plastering and painting over the existing kitchen wall tiles.

It's nice to see something new every time we drop by to see how things are progressing. Today, the first thing that caught our eye was the feature wall going up. Here's where the TV is going to be mounted. Soon, soon:

2806269260063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Also starting to see where the cove lighting is going to go. We're using cove lighting to illuminate walking spaces, or at least create a sort of lighted pathway effect.

2797346760063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

2161394890063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Decided to make it easy for guests to remove their shoes inside our entrance. We 're using an outdoors-y slate tile in place of laminate flooring here.

2834685820063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Decided to make it easy for guests to remove their shoes inside our entrance. We 're using an outdoors-y slate tile in place of laminate flooring here.

2834685820063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Good Idea! :good:

Hi, overlaying the existing tiles in the toilets and kitchen?

Whoa! Just overlaying the bathroom wall tiles was a big mistake on our part. Because of a double layer of wall tiling, the toilet bowls we originally bought will not fit into the space any more as the drainage hole and the bowl outlet cannot be aligned.

Had to get a refund on our original purchase and source for another model that can fit the now smaller-than-budgeted-for space. We bought new bowls today, more expensive than the previous. Sigh.

hi hi...congrats!

wow,.....hse is progressing very well leh.

how much u spent in total reno?

Hi Jessie

Yeah, progressing well, much to our satisfaction.

I'd say we'd have spent about $60K in total for everything by the time we move in. Still working on the breakdown of expenses as, like today, the odd unexpected expense keeps cropping up.

Some quick pix:

All surfaces in the kitchen are done, now ready for carpentry, painting and appliance installation:

2775586200063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

And a couple of views of the dining and living room space, just 'cos it's a nice, open space now, compared to the original layout done by the previous owner:

2329456720063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

2618337550063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Edited by xmac2006

hi hi...congrats!

wow,.....hse is progressing very well leh.

how much u spent in total reno?

Hi Jessie,

Following is the breakdown on how much we have spent on our house reno:

ID contractor, Linewerkz - $39,000

Air con, Toshiba Sys 3 (Inverter) Model RAS3M 20SACV from Gain City - $2,945

Laminate Flooring (3 bedrooms, living + dining), Vohringer - $4,290 + $90 cutting the bottom of the doors.

Master bedroom wardrobe, Closet Design - $1,800

Electrician, Maxpower - $3,300

Lightings, Premier Lighting Centre - $2,800

Following items from Indulge Bathroom Concept - $2,865.25

Hood, Fujioh FG793SS + Hob, Fujioh FX900

Kitchen sink, Franke GEX 620C

Kitchen sink tap, Water heater, Jovan 35L

Master bedroom toilet basin, tap, rain shower set

Common toilet basin, tap, shower set

Toilet bowl, model A010 (soft closing) x 2 from Eestilo De Vida - $920

Wrought iron gate, Pang Giap Enterprise - $481.50

Dining Table (1+4) model A74T+801C from Morris Lifestyle - $1,499

Sofa L shape, full leather model Traviz from Morris Lifestyle - $1,599

LCD TV, Hitachi L42X02 42", Samsung HTXQ100 home theatre, Samsung Fridge RT58EAMT from Mega Discount Store - $3,479

Oven, Ariston FZ62c.11X + 2 extra oven trays from Mayer - $919

Total: $65,987.75 :~

Hi Jessie,

Wow.... $920 for 2 toilet bowl.... I have to find a chance to try on it liao.... he he he :notti:

Move house is like that one, use up a lot of your money... but if you average out the time you will stay there, its one of the most well spend investment!!

Spend already then don't think too hard, I also spend a lot when reno my house. Look forward for your new place!! I'm sure it will be cosy and nice!! :-)

Edited by Brainstorm

Hi Jessie,

ID contractor, Linewerkz - $39,000

Air con, Toshiba Sys 3 (Inverter) Model RAS3M 20SACV from Gain City - $2,945

Laminate Flooring (3 bedrooms, living + dining), Vohringer - $4,290 + $90 cutting the bottom of the doors.

Master bedroom wardrobe, Closet Design - $1,800

Electrician, Maxpower - $3,300

Lightings, Premier Lighting Centre - $2,800

Following items from Indulge Bathroom Concept - $2,865.25

Hood, Fujioh FG793SS + Hob, Fujioh FX900

Kitchen sink, Franke GEX 620C

Kitchen sink tap, Water heater, Jovan 35L

Master bedroom toilet basin, tap, rain shower set

Common toilet basin, tap, shower set

Wrought iron gate, Pang Giap Enterprise - $481.50

Dining Table (1+4) model A74T+801C from Morris Lifestyle - $1,499

Sofa L shape, full leather model Traviz from Morris Lifestyle - $1,599

LCD TV, Hitachi L42X02 42", Samsung HTXQ100 home theatre, Samsung Fridge RT58EAMT from Mega Discount Store - $3,479

Oven, Ariston FZ62c.11X + 2 extra oven trays from Mayer - $919

wah. ur quote is as high as mine. after seeing urs, i suddenly felt i'm not the only one spending so much on reno :unsure:

This week we're looking at painting and we're in discussions to finalize the carpentry.

The living room's got its first coat and the feature wall doesn't look so bare any longer:

2167670310063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Don't think I've even posted a view of the bomb shelter before. The door will be covered by another feature wall so we'll have something like a 'secret door'. Heh, panic room.

2357583250063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

The kitchen walls have got this nice light-brownish shade of hazelnut:

2655828470063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

And we have water now! Basic plumbing work complete.

2089271300063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

:jawdrop: what a NICE budget u hv there! So envious :(

anyway, as long as u both r happy, can liao lah

money can always earn back de.

keep those pictures coming! :dancingqueen:

hi hi

wow,....nice budget leh....keke :)

it's ok lah.....now use the $ to do up your hse nice nice,.....den start saving up again lor........can always earn back the $ one lah :)

looks like your reno is progressing very well leh!

keep the pix coming in.... ;)

hi hi

wow,....nice budget leh....keke :)

Hi rdnest, koikoi and jessie

You're right, of course! From the development we've seen so far, we do think that our budget has been quite well spent.

Thanks so much for your encouragement and support! :sport-smiley-004:

And lo, today Xmac discovered switches on the wall, and when he flipped them, they bade Light come forth, and from the darkness came there Light. Behold!

2502017510063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

2206212170063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

In the meantime, the kitchen's ready to start cooking with gas:

2283060120063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

And this existing wardrobe door in the guest room seriously needs replacing:

2363675350063074167S425x425Q85.jpg