priyalok

Renovation Quotation - Reasonable?

what is the current renovation pricing?

My ID is quoting the following. Is it reasonable?

- kitchen cabinets (pfr) - $105

- solid tops for kitchen cabinets (pfr) - $75

- granite top for kitchen cabinets (pfr) - $110

- kitchen cabinet base (lumpsum) - $350

- bedroom wardrobes with casement door (pfr) - $220

- study table (pfr) - $200

- bookshelf (pfr) - $200

- shoe cabinet (pfr) - $150

- false ceiling (pfr) - $15

- hacking one wall and patching - $580

Edited by priyalok

- bookshelf (pfr) - $200

my ID quote me

solid top = $60 PFR

Study table - $140 PFR

Wardrobe - $198 PFR

Kitchen Cabinet - $ 94 PFR

Cabinet base for 10ft is - $200

the rest i cannot compare cos I didn't ask for the quotation...really happy with my ID...alot of transparency compare to those ID with package price where you do not know what is the exact pricing...

- bookshelf (pfr) - $200

Hee ... did you call the contractor that I recommended you? How much did he quote? Can give us a comparision? :dribble:

Just want to check out if he's really the cheapest or not. :unsure:

My contractor (not finalised) is quoting me following for L shaped ganite top for my kitchen. Total length should be around 15 ft.

- china granite - 110 pfr

- india granite - 180 pfr

Is it reasonable?

Hi, I'm a newbie here. Just want to know what's the current renovation cost?

I will be living with my future hubby at his current place, which is a 5-room point block. We intend to do some renovations and would like to know the current cost for the items below:

1) kitchen:

- cabinets

- solid top for the kitchen cabinets

- small cupboard in the toilet to put toiltries

- change the current water pipes to new ones

2) Bedroom:

- wardrobes with casement doors

- bookshelf

3) Living room:

- tv console with cupboards

- shoe cabinet

4) Balcony:

- flower/plant rack

Our budget is around $14K, is it enough?

Appreciate any valuable inputs. Thanks! :)

Granite Detail needed to justify here people.

Don't be surprise granite can be very expensive. For showroom worktop can command 3X the average and i have done this. It must be good to the detail-pattern, lines, texture, porosity, polish level, speckle etc. Most of the time HDB owner never get to this grade and when compare many cry over their poor quality.

Bottom line is granite is natural stone, better ones cost a lot more and more rare.Sellers of stone are not stupid to sell them to you at cheap price when they are getting at higher price. Ponder over this.

Sharing my experience...

Go for Corian Solid Surface if you can afford it. Slightly expensive then the others but it comes with the following:

- 10 yrs warranty

- Allow you to re-polish the surface and maintain the same texture (it will look like brand new one as what you have newly installed.)

My ID actually dun recommend me that solid surface due to the high price. But I learnt from my friend and decided to give it a go. I always told my ID I scare my corian surface got spoil by water, blah blah blah~~ he replied:"Corian surface leh~ Scare of Water?!?" :sport-smiley-004: Heehee... I feel like I made a right choice for my white corian solid surface as my ID always =.="' when I told him I scare this or that.

Think of long term run. Kitchen is "woman's heaven". Therefore is a worth investment. I also choose to make a "concrete" kitchen (bottom)... Not those normal wood type cardboard. Water-proof~~

They will start work in Nov. Pray hard everything goes smoothly and I can move in before christmas...

My experience with my ID is great. Most of my design plan changed after visited one of his customer site.. Because his idea on his past project looks much more professional than what I plan to have. His price is also very reasonable (I asked my friend to go thru his quotation for me). Good luck for your renovation~! :good:

think the contractors quoting nowadays are mostly Chinese granite

average price maybe around 100-110 pfr but pls dun quote me

but if u are comparing to solid surface, also depends on wat brand that is

cos solid surface may come as low as 60-70 pfr.

so ur choice lor..

Indian granite not sure but my contractor said its much more ex.

cos when u get the granite, they still need to cut it according to the measurements. then told me, get indian if u can afford it but seriously i nt expert and cant tell the diff.

just scared that chinese granite quality only

for more info i tink quite alot of the pioneers have already discussed this

just search can liao

gd luck

wat does pfr stand for??

Getting my resale flat next mth..

My buddy told is much cheaper to go ikea and look for those DIY cabinets and then seal up with silicon..