momo13

A Small High Flat In Tomato Land

question here, if i am looking to lay cat5e cables to all my rooms (mbr 1 pt, bedroom 1 pt and utility rm 2pts)

Is the estimated quote here reasonable? and what is the meaning of termination with face plate?

1 point = $120

2 points = $180

3 points and abv = $75 per point (depends on no. of points)

Cables will be hidden else they will be laid using PVC trunking.

Termination will be RJ45 head (normal network cable head), if request to terminate with face plate, addition $3/point.

alternatively cables of various length can also be provided based on request

question here, if i am looking to lay cat5e cables to all my rooms (mbr 1 pt, bedroom 1 pt and utility rm 2pts)

Is the estimated quote here reasonable? and what is the meaning of termination with face plate?

1 point = $120

2 points = $180

Termination will be RJ45 head (normal network cable head), if request to terminate with face plate, addition $3/point.

Bro why do you need to lay RJ45 cable for your whole house ? if you just like to have wire access for your place i would recommend you use this instead.

http://www.aztech.com/sg/homeplug_hl105e.html

Oh and faceplate is something like this

25136296.jpg

1 point = $120

2 points = $180

Hi momo13,

I am not sure about the face plate and prices cause my hb was doing liaising with the electrician. I just noticed that you are putting 2 pts at utility room. Are you having more than 1 pc at the utility room? Actually you only need to have 1 pt at the utility room, just need to get a 'switch' where you can plug your pcs into it for the connection. This is the brief understanding that I got when my electrician is explaining to hb (because hb also want 2 pt at a particular room).

You might want to check with your electrician. :)

1 point = $120

2 points = $180

face plate looks like this

face%20plate(1-port).jpg

Bro why do you need to lay RJ45 cable for your whole house ? if you just like to have wire access for your place i would recommend you use this instead.

http://www.aztech.com/sg/homeplug_hl105e.html

Oh and faceplate is something like this

25136296.jpg

erm, cos the utility room will house 2 pcs, mbr will to have internet acess, bedroom 1 will house a htpc/pc lol, hence looking at this configuration and some advice from friends.

the aztech adapter was in consideration but some feedback that it is not stable as wireless.. considering the long distance to the utility room so considering a more stable connectivity.

so just ask for a quote on laying of cat5e cables.

thanks for the info on the face plate.. :)

Hi momo13,

I am not sure about the face plate and prices cause my hb was doing liaising with the electrician. I just noticed that you are putting 2 pts at utility room. Are you having more than 1 pc at the utility room? Actually you only need to have 1 pt at the utility room, just need to get a 'switch' where you can plug your pcs into it for the connection. This is the brief understanding that I got when my electrician is explaining to hb (because hb also want 2 pt at a particular room).

You might want to check with your electrician. :)

a switch? erm something i learn, always thought 1 pt to 1 pc lol. will that split the connection too?

can ask ur hb on it?

the quote i had is not by my electrician but another vendor who is specialise in doing this :)

erm, cos the utility room will house 2 pcs, mbr will to have internet acess, bedroom 1 will house a htpc/pc lol, hence looking at this configuration and some advice from friends.

the aztech adapter was in consideration but some feedback that it is not stable as wireless.. considering the long distance to the utility room so considering a more stable connectivity.

so just ask for a quote on laying of cat5e cables.

thanks for the info on the face plate.. :)

I'm using it now in fact the signal nvr drops leh moreover by using the homeplug, you will shift your point as and when you like it

oh btw if you're lying cables do test the link to ensure that the cable is working :)

a switch? erm something i learn, always thought 1 pt to 1 pc lol. will that split the connection too?

can ask ur hb on it?

the quote i had is not by my electrician but another vendor who is specialise in doing this :)

By "splitting" the connection from 1 to many (eg. using a router), you will unlikely to feel the difference internally but ultimately all the connection within your house (wired/wireless) will be sharing the bandwidth from your service provider thus you might feel the constraints.

I'm using it now in fact the signal nvr drops leh moreover by using the homeplug, you will shift your point as and when you like it

oh btw if you're lying cables do test the link to ensure that the cable is working :)

erm like that ah.. per plug is how much ah?

can ask ur hb on it?

dun worry, your pc and switch thru'put should be either 100mbps or 1000mbps. even if split many ways still should be more than what your internet connection is. the bottle neck will still be your internet connection.

erm like that ah.. per plug is how much ah?

Eh 1 pair not cheap i think cost about $60 each and you need two to work

dun worry, your pc and switch thru'put should be either 100mbps or 1000mbps. even if split many ways still should be more than what your internet connection is. the bottle neck will still be your internet connection.

Yup Yup Yup agree agree :good: :good:

Eh 1 pair not cheap i think cost about $60 each and you need two to work

Yup Yup Yup agree agree :good: :good:

ya lor cos i was looking at the HL109EP think is 129 each. guess have to wait till sitex then see how. considering the price is more or less the same as laying of cat5e cables lol.. my ideology comes in again..

Hahahaha bro no need so high end lah since our ISP will nvr reach 200 Mbps :D

We're not saying laying cable no gd but just giving you alternatives to it, no doubt laying cable will look neater and nicer but you cannot shift once you moved house leh so there's always pro and cons in whichever you choice you make ;) ;)