KittyJems

Modern Country Living

After 3 years at our current unit and a growing family, we realised that the current cabinets and space allocation was not fully utilised. So we decided to give it a simple make-over. The new style for our home will be a modern country style - no dark woods and overly ornate carvings. We are opting for a bright, cheerful and cosy country style with an modern twist to it. Having to incoporate several pieces of current furniture into this plan will be challenge. Hope everything goes as plan. Here we go......

List of renovations works to be carried out:

1) Kitchen --> Major overhaul. Hack and demolish everything except wall tiles as condition still ok. Will re-use to save $$$.

2) Bedroom 1 --> to convert from study cum store into bedroom for eldest daughter

3) Bedroom 2 --> to dismantle build-in cabinets. Maximise space for 2nd daughter and baby gal. (Yup... I got 3 beautiful princesses. :D)

4) Master bedroom --> to dismantle build-in cabinets. Convert to daddy & mommy's sanctuary. (Finally..!!)

5) Living areas remain untouched largely due to super tight budget. Only will do painting. Hopefully.... can polish up the marble flooring (depends on available $$$ left).

6) Painting of whole house

For this home project, I have opted to go with a Contractor. However, as not many contractors know how to do Country style kitchens, I have to selected an Country kitchen specialist for that area. All other areas will fall under the care of my main contractor. Unless I find a better deal elsewhere.

Edited by KittyJems

Tile selected for kitchen flooring. A beautiful beige colour. We purposely selected the glossy type of tile rather then matt tiles as our kitchen area ia rather dark. So the refelction of sunlight will make it apear brighter and more airy.

See the flash from my camera bounching off the tiles. Nice!

img0077eu.jpg

Edited by KittyJems

BEFORE pics of Kitchen area:

Erm... the condition of the cabinets are much worse that what the pics show. The sink, hob and hood all in terrible state. hahahah.

img0079jy.jpg

img0080bf.jpg

DAY 1: Demolishment works..!!

Let's start with the kitchen area.

img0083sb.jpg

img0099lp.jpg

Edited by KittyJems

DAY 1: Demolishment works..

Now for the bedrooms - removing the build-in cabinets. Notice the "X" written on the cupboards? That's how my contractor indicates to his workers which wardrobes to remove. :P

Now you see it....

img0081bx.jpg

Now you don't....

img0093rm.jpg

Aaarrgghh..... the wall behind the build-in cabinet is not smooth. And the wood skirting is MIA!! Think the condo builders have cut short my materials. Now I gotta spend more $$$ to plaster the walls and get new skrting up. Sigh.... :curse: :curse: But at least the parquet flooring still have.

Removing the master bedroom build-in cabinets.... Hub and me need separate wardrobe spaces. Going to get a 2-door wardrobe for him and 3-door wardrobe for me. *hiaks-hiak* :notti:

img0082ja.jpg

img0095ua.jpg

Looking to get wardrobes from Ikea. I know some people dun like Ikea stuffs. But I've never had major issues with the cabinets I have purchased from them. Many in my house are already 3+ years and still going strong. Even with the 'abuse' the poor cabinets go thru with 3 kids slamming on the drawers. Anyway, I also like the option of changin my furniture 5-years down the road for a more updated feel. Another good thing about Ikea cupboards (besides being affordable and having 10-years warranty) is that I can straightaway see and opt for the designs most suited for our life-style needs. :sport-smiley-018:

Edited by KittyJems

Wardrobes for my 3 princesses.

To prevent fights and messes that were plentiful with the previous sharing of 1 miserable build-in wardrobe, they will now each have their own 2-door kids wardrobe.

Major organisation skills required when it comes to kids clothes, toys and all the knick-knacks they accumulate thru the years. With limited wardrobe space, mommy (that is me) will be forced to spring-clean their cupboards consistently. :help:

img0020rp.jpg

Edited by KittyJems

Wardrobes for my 3 princesses.

To prevent fights and messes that were plentiful with the previous sharing of 1 miserable build-in wardrobe, they will now each have their own 2-door kids wardrobe.

Major organisation skills required when it comes to kids clothes, toys and thousand and one knick-knacks they accumulare thru the years. With liited wardrobe space, mommy (that is me) will be forced to spring-clean their cupboards consistently. :help:

img0020rp.jpg

It would be nice if you use a farmhouse sink in the kitchen!

wAHH sYIOK LAH ..3 years do reno again.!

Got photos of before ? ..can share?

Hhaaa... actually when I shifted in, did very minor renovations only like painting, changing downlights and bedroom doors. We used back the kitchens and build-in cabinets that came with the condo unit. Btw, I'm the 2nd owner. 1st owner had rented out the place for about 4+years before I bot over.

After saving for 3-years, finally got enough $$$ for some upgrading works'. Paiseh... did not take much "BEFORE" pics other than the ones I have already uploaded.

Edited by KittyJems