kenmura

Home Sweet Home

Since I typed it out for Odie, I thought might as well share with all you experienced people in here.

Basically this is the quotation I got from my ID:

A) Professional Services

Space Planning and Furniture Layout

Design Consultation

Furnishing Consultation

Perspective Drawing on Carpentry Works

Materials and Colour Proposal

Warranty with Guaranteed after Sale Service

B) Masonry Works

Laying of 600mm X 600mm Polished Homogenous tiles floor c/w skirting **** and dining

Laying of HDF Laminate Flooring c/w skirting at bedrooms

Construct 50mm cabinet base

Construct 50mm washer base

Construct 50mm fridge base

Construct shower kerb at bathrooms

Construct main entrance kerb

Alteration of existing main gate

C) Plumbing Works

Replacement of standard copper piping

Labour for installation of storage or instant heater

Labour for installation of bathroom accessories

Labour for installation of kitchen sink

Laying concealed drainage pipe for kitchen sink

Laying concealed drain pipe for washin machine

D) Ceiling Works

Construct false ceiling at foyer area

Construct false ceiling at bedroom passageway

Construct L Box light holder **** area

Construct L Box light holder at dining area

Construct 2 rolls L Boc light holder at MBR

E) Carpentry Works

Design and fabricate 20ft kitchen cabinet in ABS trimming door c/w

Plywood postform worktop; designed handle and cutlery tray

Supply and install stainless steel dish rack

Labour to install cooker hood and hob

Stainless steel panel backing at cooker hob

Design and fabricate 8'L X 8'HT feature wall c/w laminate / veneer finish at household shelter

Design and fabricate 6'L suspended TV Console @ living area

Design and fabricate 6'L X 6'HT feature wall in laminate / veneer finish above TV console

Design and fabricate 6'L wardrobe in laminated door finish at MBR

F) Misc

Supply and install 10mm tempered glass shower screen @ master toilet

Painting of whole house unit's walls and ceilings with ICI emulsion paint

Painting of all pipes, doors, door frames and gate with ICI gloss paint

Painting or revarnishing of existing main door

Laying of floor protections after completion of flooring

Chemical washing for whole unit

General cleaning upon completion

Haulage

G) Additional

Laying of 300mm x 300mm matt homogenous floor tiles c/w waterproofing for kitchen

Top up for Kitchen cabinet 5 ft

Change to Solid Surface worktop

65 sqf Frameless Mirror at Dining Area

Top up for Wardrobe 0.5 ft

Wooden Pillars for standing features

Total 19K.

Sounds ok so far right?

ya, if u buy from shops it will be much cheaper... i wanted to buy those entire bedroom set at first but wifey wans to hav WIW but our MBR design dosen't really allow it so we gotta settle for a Built in one instead... according to her mum.. a full height wardrobe got no 'gaps' (behind and on top) so wun trap dust, easier to clean... and then u wun have to worry abt dust collecting on the top of the wardrobes also...

my wardrobe is abit on the ex side but it's done by Ho Bee.. one of the pricey ones but they are recommended by many forumers here..so far they have been good...the quality of their work is also good..

Honestly speaking a built in one looks nicer...

we've been around many furniture shops and ikea... one wardrobe of our length and ht is roughly also 1.5k+.. ours is around 7ft...

i think i took some pics.. it's at my blog... u can click the link on my signature...

capentry work usually cost quite a bit...so if u wan to reduce the quote, u have to reduce the amt of capentry u need lor...

alot of things are good-to-have not must-have...

for me and wifey, we just wan a simple and cosy place...

Wow bro,

the workmanship does look really good.

And you're absolutely right about it being from ceiling to floor. Really makes cleaning much easier.

You're almost done mate!

That light at the end of the tunnel is getting bigger by the day huh?

Out of curiosity, do you or your wife go down to look at the progress of your flat daily? As in while the reno contractors are still there?

Wow bro,

And you're absolutely right about it being from ceiling to floor. Really makes cleaning much easier.

You're almost done mate!

Out of curiosity, do you or your wife go down to look at the progress of your flat daily? As in while the reno contractors are still there?

we haben updated the pics yet... there's more stuffs done now.. one thing(reno) done but still got lots more... like furniture, electrical appliances ...wah... not out of the tunnel yet...

when they just started work, i (only) went down abt 3x a week, mon, wed, fri... after work lor.. the reno workers usu start work early in the morn and stop @ 5pm during this time we are working so cannot go 'monitor' them...

see if there's any deviation from our requirements.. if there is i can immediately feedback so that they can do the necessary correction work mah.. but now most things have been done liao so no need to go down so often... but we still go cc every sunday lor.. just to check the progress... we did not engage an ID so we gotta be more 'hardworking' go down and see see ourselves ... but i think even if employ ID we still gotta go down.. just to make sure there's no 'deviation' ...

Since I typed it out for Odie, I thought might as well share with all you experienced people in here.

A) Professional Services

Design Consultation

Furnishing Consultation

B) Masonry Works

Laying of 600mm X 600mm Polished Homogenous tiles floor c/w skirting **** and dining

Laying of HDF Laminate Flooring c/w skirting at bedrooms

C) Plumbing Works

D) Ceiling Works

E) Carpentry Works

Design and fabricate 8'L X 8'HT feature wall c/w laminate / veneer finish at household shelter

Design and fabricate 6'L X 6'HT feature wall in laminate / veneer finish above TV console

F) Misc

Haulage

G) Additional

Laying of 300mm x 300mm matt homogenous floor tiles c/w waterproofing for kitchen

Total 19K.

Sounds ok so far right?

your quote looks fine... but u gotta buy ur own cooker + hob + sink u noe right?? cos ur quotation only states labor to install only not supply...wat abt water heater?

Yeah, I'm aware of that. But if I'm not wrong, most of the IDs also only provide the labour for installation right?

We're still looking at several brands of hoods and hobs. My fiancee's credit card has a substantial discount on Meyer products, so that's definitely a brand we're interested in looking at. But kitchen stuff, I tend to leave to her. It's her domain. I'm not being sexist - she really loves cooking. In fact, she used to own her own cafe when she was still an undergrad.

Water heater we're looking at getting those instant water heater types.... but also nothing confirmed yet. Still exploring the possibility and doing our sums on a nightly basis to see if we can squeeze certain things in.... heh. the woes of a homeowner without sufficient money.....

A) Professional Services

Design Consultation

Furnishing Consultation

B) Masonry Works

Laying of 600mm X 600mm Polished Homogenous tiles floor c/w skirting **** and dining (Ask them hw much per title?

Laying of HDF Laminate Flooring c/w skirting at bedroomsHw much per title?

C) Plumbing Works

D) Ceiling Works

E) Carpentry Works

Plywood postform worktop; designed handle and cutlery trayWat Material did they give u? Is it top & bottom cabinet? Hw much per ft?

Design and fabricate 8'L X 8'HT feature wall c/w laminate / veneer finish at household shelterHw much per Ft?

Design and fabricate 6'L suspended TV Console @ living areaHw much per ft?

Design and fabricate 6'L wardrobe in laminated door finish at MBRHw much per ft?

F) Misc

Painting of whole house unit's walls and ceilings with ICI emulsion paintHw many colour can u paint?

Haulage

G) Additional

Total 19K.

Sounds ok so far right?

Wow bro,

You're almost done mate!

U can also ask them wat hinges provide to u, or Blum system for ur kitchen cabinet FOC.

Then did they provide electrician fitting???

U can also ask them wat hinges provide to u, or Blum system for ur kitchen cabinet FOC.

Then did they provide electrician fitting???

*Lost*

Sorry bro, but your post left me going woah...

Ok, we're super backwards coz we didn't even ask how much per tile and that sorta thing

Blum system for kitchen cabinet is.......?

Kitchen cabinet is top and bottom

Electrician fitting? I THINK they said that they would recommend...

*Lost*

Sorry bro, but your post left me going woah...

Ok, we're super backwards coz we didn't even ask how much per tile and that sorta thing

Blum system for kitchen cabinet is.......?

Kitchen cabinet is top and bottom

Electrician fitting? I THINK they said that they would recommend...

Sorry Bro, I nt veri good at posting. Err....

1) Ask them wat price for the title is easy for u to compare & knw wat range they give u. (Avg $2.50)

2) Hw much per ft? Tis is for u to bargain if u wan to shorter or extend it in future when u get ur key.

3) Kitchen cabinet wat material do they give u?

4) Painting ask hw many colour can u paint thru the wall nt hw many colour can u choose. (They can be tricky sometime)

5) Blum system is quit common in the kitchen cabinet (nt sure spelling correct) :notti:

6) Electician fitting may cost up to $2k and above (depend hw many lighting point u install, some ID give 15 pts free)

7) Maybe u can ask for Stainless steel backing at ur kitchen washing point. FOC

Hopefully I do some help to you. :good:

Edited by Cantona7

Sorry Bro, I nt veri good at posting. Err....

1) Ask them wat price for the title is easy for u to compare & knw wat range they give u. (Avg $2.50)

2) Hw much per ft? Tis is for u to bargain if u wan to shorter or extend it in future when u get ur key.

3) Kitchen cabinet wat material do they give u?

4) Painting ask hw many colour can u paint thru the wall nt hw many colour can u choose. (They can be tricky sometime)

5) Blum system is quit common in the kitchen cabinet (nt sure spelling correct) :notti:

6) Electician fitting may cost up to $2k and above (depend hw many lighting point u install, some ID give 15 pts free)

Hopefully I do some help to you. :good:

aiyo bro, please don't say that. You and all the other lao jiao forummers in here are taking time out to provide a xiao di like me with help.... i'm super grateful to all of you, esp pple like odie and sunboi

well..... all 7 we didn't ask.... heh

but i'm going down tmr evening to talk to G Plan to see if they can come up with a better quotation....

blum hinges? i dun think they will provide lor... 1 blum hinge cost $6-8 liao leh... 1 cabinet door needs 2... so if u got 10 cabinet doors need at least 20 liao..which is $120 at least... it can easily go up to 30 also...

btw blum hinges are special hinges with hydraulic fittings (as an attachment so it looks like a normal hinge with a hydraulic piston attached).. so that when u slam the door close it wun just go "boom" after a certain proximity to the cabinets, it will slowly close all the way...

hope the explanations helps... there are also blum drawer threads as well... but they are more ex... $70 a pc ...

for me i just take the basic ... no pt taking so much... cos for me i need around 60 of them... my kitchen is long and my feature wall has alot of hidden compartments as well... so i need alot.. save $$ bo pian... these are so-call "good-to-haves".

I think s/s backing is included in the quote already right?

the feature wall for the HSS also ..wat type is it? any design? or just a piece of wood? for my feature wall it's a display cabinet cum cabinets ... if i take a normal design ..just a door then the cost will be much lesser...

the solid surface worktop... how long is it? the whole length of the cabinet? or just a small part?

is ur quote part of a package?

A) Professional Services

Design Consultation

Furnishing Consultation

This is usually FOC.. most of the ID will give u FOC.. if they charge u, just get rid of them..

Warranty - How many years? It will help quite abit if they are 3 years and above..

E) Carpentry Works

did they upgrade to solid surface top for you? usually would do... erh.. 20Ft for bottom only? Ur kitchen looks bit long.. might need to add more if u want to have top cabinets.. but lesser cabinets can save abit..

do ur wife have alot of clothing.. 6ft might not be enuff.. :good: but depends on their design.. hee hee

F) Misc

Haulage

haha i love this part how many colours they will provide u? as many as u want? hee hee.. :P ask them how many colours they can give u... if i am not wrong, its usually six colours.. maybe 8... more might have to have additional cost..

G) Additional

how many sqft they giving u? $2.50 or $2.00 sqft? ask them for minimum $2.50 sqft.. for the dinning area and living area ask for $3.00 sqft tiles...

kitchen cabinet extra 5ft? hmmm

how much for additional items did they quote u outside the package? mind sharing?

its quite a standard package.. the other rooms u are not going to do much for them?

hope it helps abit... sorry was busy until now.. anyway.. good luck.. if going for Gplan - the famous Kelvin :)

Edited by Odielim

This is usually FOC.. most of the ID will give u FOC.. if they charge u, just get rid of them..

Warranty - How many years? It will help quite abit if they are 3 years and above..

did they upgrade to solid surface top for you? usually would do... erh.. 20Ft for bottom only? Ur kitchen looks bit long.. might need to add more if u want to have top cabinets.. but lesser cabinets can save abit..

do ur wife have alot of clothing.. 6ft might not be enuff.. :bangwall: but depends on their design.. hee hee

haha i love this part how many colours they will provide u? as many as u want? hee hee.. :jawdrop: ask them how many colours they can give u... if i am not wrong, its usually six colours.. maybe 8... more might have to have additional cost..

how many sqft they giving u? $2.50 or $2.00 sqft? ask them for minimum $2.50 sqft.. for the dinning area and living area ask for $3.00 sqft tiles...

kitchen cabinet extra 5ft? hmmm

how much for additional items did they quote u outside the package? mind sharing?

its quite a standard package.. the other rooms u are not going to do much for them?

hope it helps abit... sorry was busy until now.. anyway.. good luck.. if going for Gplan - the famous Kelvin :notti:

Oh no... you guys are going to think that I'm such a newbie kid...

this is quite embarressing to admit but i don't know most of the answers to be frank. We've only met him once so far, and like i said, that first meeting took hours cause he was proposing to us what he had in mind and we were counter proposing what we were looking for. until my fiancee and i were so tired we didn't check some stuff like -

1)Warranty. I don't know how long sia...

2)Kitchen cabinets changed to solid surface top already.

3)Wardrobe to be honest, we're not that fussed. in fact, we were wondering if it might be better to just take it out of the package and buy our own coz when it comes to clothes, we don't have that many. Yet.

4)How many colours I also don't know. *ashamed*

5)Cost of tiles I also don't know.... *super ashamed*

6)Additional items to be fair to them, they didn't push anything in the first place. Jan and i were the ones who asked for certain extra things like the ceiling to floor frameless mirror on the feature wall and the wooden pillars to act as dividers...

Other rooms not planning to do too much... especially not the guest room. but i'm gradually getting poisoned by this forum... am wondering if i can squeeze more out of whichever ID i get to make either the study room or the MBR a bit nicer.... :good:

My fiancee just talked to Kelvin from GPlan and she got quite upset...

Because Kelvin was very nice enough to point out to her that it's not nice to "Qiang" other people's business, esp since we have already paid a $100 deposit which we might have to forfeit. Apparantly if they turn nasty too, we might incur up to 30% in damages.

Sigh

He didn't understand that we're not being fickle minded. It's just that after reading so many bad experiences and having been ignored by them ourselves, we're getting a little skeptical about them. We're actually very easy going people so it takes quite a bit to rankle us - and we're gradually getting a bit rankled by their ignoring us. Sigh. What to do? We small fries with tight budgets... :curse::jail:

wah...didnt know you just join here...me also newbie.

I too find this forum is of great help. at least help me got my honest contractor.

if you know what you want to do - get a contractor

if you are tight on budget - get a contractor

if you have plenty of $$$$ and everythingalsodontknowdontcare attitude - then get a ID.

$100 is nothing compare to all those horror stories in this forum.

most ID has no time for pple like us (lessthan20k).

Edited by MaCe

$100 is nothing compare to all those horror stories in this forum.

that's precisely our thoughts at first.

but now kelvin say if we voluntarily cancel, might incur up to 30%. that's why he's hesistant....

sigh

play by ear lor....

wah...didnt know you just join here...me also newbie.

I too find this forum is of great help. at least help me got my honest contractor.

Newbie?

With 500+ posts?

rofl

ok bro... whatever you say bro....

I'm the newbie.

You're the old bird. :curse::jail::(

Hello there,

hmm interesting kelvin would say that... didnt know Kelvin personally but he is highly recommended in the forum.

anyway, my friends in the forum had done that before, the deposit can exchange for other things or give up. its very common... if they find that they prefer other IDs or they give a better deal. its actually a customer world to choose the IDs now.. but seriously u dont need to tell the ID u went for other IDs for quotation. the main thing is to get quotations to compare and understand the market rate..

sorry to hear that.. but u can approach other IDs for quotations.. dont worry so much.. if u paid 10% deposit of the reno amount, usually u would not go for another ID already..

anyway, there is a lot of IDs out there.. slowly find.. no rush.. u can find a lot of information from the forum and learnt some thing or two.. :curse:

if u see a few quotations, u will know what to look out for... :jail:

usually meeting up once with the ID and signing up with them is quite rare unless they are recommended by friends or family.. dont commit urself so fast.. its quite tiring but do abit of homework will help u in the long run..

dont forget, u must feel comfortable with the ID and can tell them if u dont like something, i want to change it... not feel paiseh with them.. like that things will be much easier to work with when things went wrong ...

that's precisely our thoughts at first.

but now kelvin say if we voluntarily cancel, might incur up to 30%. that's why he's hesistant....

sigh

play by ear lor....

what do you mean "might incur up to 30%"? you need to compensate them???

Newbie?

With 500+ posts?

rofl

ok bro... whatever you say bro....

I'm the newbie.

You're the old bird. :curse::jail::(

aiya still new lah....ehehehhehe

look at odie's posts....