OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

Hey I got back liao from Balestier.

Damage = $1700 for lightings.. the main culprit is the hanging mbr light.. **** nice and coool.. $700

hehe i just got back from balestier too

so if u less away ur mbr light, ur damage is abt $1000 right?

i feel that my total lighting cost is abit exp leh.. do u find that the price ok for u?

do u have dining area hanging light?

i just bot my lights last sunday:

- 1 ceiling fan with 4 lights and remote control

- 3 square glass bedroom lights (can switch to warm lights)

- 3 "bun" lights for toilets n HHS

- 2 4ft tubes for toilet (above mirror)

- 2 "french loaf" lights for kitchen

- 1 ice cube for foyer

- 2 small "S" glass lights for passageways

no hanging pendant lights wor... total damage is $986. dunno if it's reasonable?

i just bot my lights last sunday:

- 1 ceiling fan with 4 lights and remote control

- 3 square glass bedroom lights (can switch to warm lights)

- 3 "bun" lights for toilets n HHS

- 2 4ft tubes for toilet (above mirror)

- 2 "french loaf" lights for kitchen

- 1 ice cube for foyer

- 2 small "S" glass lights for passageways

no hanging pendant lights wor... total damage is $986. dunno if it's reasonable?

hi xiao xiin, so ur living room will have the 4lights on the ceiling fan only? how abt PLC lights?

we din do any L-box or false ceiling. !!

last time when we went to ikea, we saw this row of hanging lights that can be dimmed by "touch". intending to buy this for dining area. very cheap only....

mine is

- 12 PLC lights (10W,double) - cost abt $30/per

- 1 "square cake" in mbr

- 2 "pizza" in 2 other rooms

- 2 "buns" in 2 toilets

- 2 "burger" in kitchen

- 1 "drumstick" in bomb shelter

damage $920..is it reasonable?

Hi sam07

thanks for your reply

i tot of using the electic storage type like joven or ariston, however id said have to add installation charges per point come up to 600-700 plus excl the price of the heater ($200+)So total have to spend 800-900 to install the storage heater type, even though have all the hot/cold water pipings in our new flat

then went to city gas and heard that they are giving out FREE gas water heaters, but have to open a city gas account...As i am using a vitroceramic hob(electric) hob, thus a bit silly to use gas for heater right?

PROs of gas is that : it is free and water heating is instantaneous, as long as no one is bathing using hot water, the kitchen tap or other points can have hot water as well. CONs is that my parents told me sometimes gas might leak and might have gas poisonning! i so scared cos might be alone at home sometimes and sound suicidal!

PROs of electric is that it can supply to all water points, CONs is that the cost of installation is high and heating up the water takes time like 10-15 mins.

or do u suggest those individual electric type attached to bathroom like 707 brands ones...

Please help and advise

hi fatbear,

do u mean if i install gas heater, we have only 1 bathroom using hotwater at 1 time?

the gas leaking thingy... i think not so suay arh.. singapore govt safety standard shud b trusthworthy...

re the heat emitting.. is it really bad?

i bought the storage tank 15L at $180 but the tank MUST BE installed on the wall outside common toilet...i really wish to change to gas heater leh..

anybody can share their view on use of gas heater? I am using rain shower head, does it affect? :bleah:

mine is

- 12 PLC lights (10W,double) - cost abt $30/per

- 1 "square cake" in mbr

- 2 "pizza" in 2 other rooms

- 2 "buns" in 2 toilets

- 2 "burger" in kitchen

- 1 "drumstick" in bomb shelter

damage $920..is it reasonable?

you very cute leh!! pizza, buns, burgers, cakes n drumsticks... makes me hungry! keke...

dunno abt plc lights. but think the rest should be ok. ard the same as mine. my ceiling fan+light kit+remote costs $328. the uncle says our acrylic buns are not like plastic, so wun turn yellow. but acrylic is a type of plastic loh. kekeke...!!!

Update on Keys collection & Renovation firm & Progress:

BLK 25A

- redbottle (Collected) - loobhlinda (Collected) - pert (Collected) - scorpy (Collected) - gadgetgal (Collected, Impress21,0% progress, HDB to Cement Screed) - elflinks

BLK 25B

- Linggie & KhooK - MsBean - h4happy (No news) - marksng12 - Dtkiddy & yun11

BLK 26A

- crazycar & lovey

BLK 26B

- dunkmycar - noellechua - lynnnie - dorcas - Vacis + moonbell - owens_avenue & genevie - skysheep

BLK 26C

- elaine1205[ collected, sourcing for renovation contractor] - ZLia (Collected/sourcing for ID still) - Cindy Monkeybone(Collected/Classic Design) - chewy - kitseng - xiao xiin (Collected) - garbagex (Collected / A&D)

BLK 26D

- OnePostWonder (Waiting/G'Plan) - jj2 (Collected) - Princess Momo - rommie - binzz (Collected / *****) - kriegs - wonsen - Velynn - Simpleboi (collected/sourcing for ID/Contractor) - jazznpop (collected) - Peng*Ling (collected) - Vitamin C - draught (Collected) - prodigic (Collected/Frontier Concept) - Vicin (collected / I-Bridge) - 9up and Fly "Wifey" mama (Collected)

BLK 27A

- xlan (Collected / HomeGuide) - nemofc (Dec, actively source for ID/Contractor) - bchew - Yang Guo (Collected / Baroque) - Seafaith - chaq - Jasch (collected,Earnest Design) - glaminn (Collected) - dashe - saeran - almatador - sparey - osjusti - nitehwk (Collected) - Sam07 (Collected/HomeWorkz) - fat bear

BLK 27B

- VinceDelfino (Collected) - Beejoy (Collected, Gim Wee Renovator)

you very cute leh!! pizza, buns, burgers, cakes n drumsticks... makes me hungry! keke...

dunno abt plc lights. but think the rest should be ok. ard the same as mine. my ceiling fan+light kit+remote costs $328. the uncle says our acrylic buns are not like plastic, so wun turn yellow. but acrylic is a type of plastic loh. kekeke...!!!

ya our price are abt the same hehe

I heard that a lorry loaded with cabinet arrived in JM

The lorry was from malaysia.

Some id actually do the carpentry work in malaysia??

Is the material the same as in Spore?

Anyone verify this matter?

Think most ID/contractor do carpentry work in m'sia.

S'pore oso dun haf raw material...import best choice oso m'sia..haha...

Can't verify on which is better, but i felt that m'sian have better handicraft skills than those in s'pore..Juz a personal thought.. (btw, i dun come from there).

hi

this is fat bear 27A, gotten keys. m troubled whether to get storage electric heater or free fr city gas... what is your stand

hi fat bear

i hv pm you. can share your unit?

My colleague juz went over msia to purchase furniture for his new house. Total damage is SGD10k, inclusive of beds, dining table, wardrobe/cabinets, TV console, sofa, coffee table, study table (most of it using solid wood)... inclusive of delivery.

If do not worry abt lost in "transition", then it shd be a good deal. Anyway, think he only pay deposit & will only pay full when actual goods is delivered.

Anyone interested?

Edited by draught

hi fatbear,

do u mean if i install gas heater, we have only 1 bathroom using hotwater at 1 time?

the gas leaking thingy... i think not so suay arh.. singapore govt safety standard shud b trusthworthy...

re the heat emitting.. is it really bad?

i bought the storage tank 15L at $180 but the tank MUST BE installed on the wall outside common toilet...i really wish to change to gas heater leh..

anybody can share their view on use of gas heater? I am using rain shower head, does it affect? :sport-smiley-004:

hi sam07

sorry have been real busy

i was contemplating gas but decided against it as i heard that it is costly.

and gas heater only one point will be hot at one time, say if u are bathing in bathroom, kitchen cannot on hot water, if not bathroom 's water will be cold...

and i checked with a friend who recently shifted into the coris, he said the smaller storage electric heater is sufficient

i think he bought the big one from ariston. and he said heating is a few minutes not 10-15 mins as what others said. so a lot of different views from different people.

u can call city gas they will be pleased to help u. i went to city gas gallery at 111 somerset and they even have a dryer run by gas.