steelze

Sims Drive 5i

Hi Steelze, you mentioned about door frame. Are the previous door frames from hdb ones (steel ones). Any suggestions on whether to change or not? Mine are all steel ones. Thanks

ya ya.. hdb original one. made of steel. they are hard to paint and may be slanted against the floor. i dunno abt ur door frame condition, but i only realised mine is slanted when everything is done! too late. given a chance, i will just replace all. see if u can ask ur id /contractor to foc or at most $80 to $100 each bah.

thank you all for the good wishes. even now when i am in office now, my mind is thinking about my new home and writing down my shopping list! haha..

hafiizh, i am glad that my reno journey has given you some needed boost in confidence in your upcoming /WIP reno. when i was doing my reno halfway last few weeks, the end of journey was always blur and dark. every time when I saw the ID's face, i feel like whacking him. but on the very last moment during handover, all hard feelings were gone. although there are still small minor things to touch up, generally the place is a good living condition as compared to my previous rented room.

bare with me for this week as i need to decide which ISP or internet plan to go for. Also to unpack stuffs and move in new furniture. Tentatively, i am thinking of getting M1 Optic fiber plan of 10mbps @ $59/mth + $2/mth for the residential gateway rental. anyone using optic fiber plan current? good or not? or i should stick to conventional and stable network like ADSL or cable.

still hard to believe that the previous owner's house is entirely gone! or may i should say 99% gone because i reused 2 of his door frames which i truly regretted. hahaha.. just $100 each i also wanna save, now one of the bedroom wall and floor laminate were slanted because of old hdb slanted wall. lesson learnt. =p

Meatime, i'll try to create a before-after pics of my place asap. stay tune!

haha your view about whacking your id is so funny. Really understand how you feel, must be boiling everytime rite. Glad for you that it is over. Still waiting for mine to handover. Some touch up gotta wait after cny as most workers has stopped taking job. Sigh.. my house too has slanted wall, slanted door frame.. slant here and there

ya ya.. hdb original one. made of steel. they are hard to paint and may be slanted against the floor. i dunno abt ur door frame condition, but i only realised mine is slanted when everything is done! too late. given a chance, i will just replace all. see if u can ask ur id /contractor to foc or at most $80 to $100 each bah.

Wah so cheap... I have not looked at the door frame yet, but I called my contractor, he told me changing the door frames cost 200 plus each... Not sure yours is only the price of the frame itself or with labor. He told me need hacking and stuff... So I probably not changing them. Sigh...

mine is quoted $100 for the frame and of course labour to install lah. haha.. $200 chop people leh... my other lousy quotations mostly $100 to $120. dun kena chop by him pls!

Completed Reno - Before & After (Part 1)

As promised, here are the before and after pics. Too bad i didnt take many photos of the previous conditions, if not will have more contrast for u guys to see. My current place is pretty messy though as we have already placed a lot of practical daily household stuff ard. sooo, dun expect a WOW interior design. kekeke...

Living room #01

LivingRoom01.jpg

Living room #02

LivingRoom02.jpg

Living room #3

Living03.jpg

Foyer

Foyer01.jpg

Dining area

Dining01.jpg

Master bedroom

wife's stuffs are scattered around. i got no permission to take for now. :dunno:

*reserved for future upload*

Baby's room

Baby sleeping soundly. Don't wanna on the light and wake him up.

*reserved for future upload*

Common bedroom 3 (spare room)

CommonBedroom3.jpg

Master bathroom #1

MasterBathroom01.jpg

Master bathroom #2

MasterBathroom02.jpg

tt's all for now. sorry for the ugly barang barang lying around the whole house. no choice, family with kid will understand me. haha.

yea, i learnt a great from this fourm. just doing my part in contributing info back to new reno-ers as much as i can. =)

good luck to urs as well!

yea, i learnt a great from this fourm. just doing my part in contributing info back to new reno-ers as much as i can. =)

good luck to urs as well!

Very nice! Like your toilet... Those shelves to put shampoo etc.... Good idea....

yea... courtesy to ossify and thattrader for inviting me to their house warming before my reno started. the moment i saw that shower shelving, i knew i am going to do exactly like his. firstly, it brings convenience to me as i no need to buy accessorices rack. secondly, the erected hollow block wall help to flush with the original protuding half height wall underneath the sink, so that the whole bathroom wall look straight. thirdly, the recess area above the sink can put mirror and my facial wash n etc. hahahaha. both my wife and myself love this master bathroom a lot!

Hello,

I seen your t-blog in renotalk forum and the posts are really useful. Thank you for sharing with us.

Can you pass me the contact for your curtain? and also share with me your experience that you have with them?

Thank you very much and have a nice day ahead!!!

Someone PMed me abt curtain contact. but i accidentally delete the message and didnt get your nick. anyway, here is the reply to your question:

My curtain from Alvis (9-1-0-1-7-2-4-2). He is from JB, Malaysia. But his SG phone is always on, and he is very responsive to calls and sms. I paid a total of $1100 for my entire 5i unit with 5 sets of windows (all day & night full length). if u asked me, i think it was a super good deal. of course i chose the reasonable material with only 95% block out sunlight. if u want higher end (99%), the price will be steeper.

His customer svc is very good too. he made a total of 3 trips for me. 1st trip to discuss and measure. 2nd trip to install all runner tracks and hooks. 3rd trip (after my general washing) fix up all curtains so that wont dirty my floor.

let him know u r referred by owner from Sims Drive. Hopefully he can quote u my price. good luck!

hey bro congrats!! can see that you're really excited~ enjoy your new home! :yamseng:

thanks marshmallow. yea, indeed. everytime alight from bus after work , i am practically running back. though the distance from the nearest bustop to my place is abt 400m... kakaka.. :sport-smiley-004: cant wait to go back and enjoy the homely feeling.

yea... courtesy to ossify and thattrader for inviting me to their house warming before my reno started. the moment i saw that shower shelving, i knew i am going to do exactly like his. firstly, it brings convenience to me as i no need to buy accessorices rack. secondly, the erected hollow block wall help to flush with the original protuding half height wall underneath the sink, so that the whole bathroom wall look straight. thirdly, the recess area above the sink can put mirror and my facial wash n etc. hahahaha. both my wife and myself love this master bathroom a lot!

Someone PMed me abt curtain contact. but i accidentally delete the message and didnt get your nick. anyway, here is the reply to your question:

My curtain from Alvis (9-1-0-1-7-2-4-2). He is from JB, Malaysia. But his SG phone is always on, and he is very responsive to calls and sms. I paid a total of $1100 for my entire 5i unit with 5 sets of windows (all day & night full length). if u asked me, i think it was a super good deal. of course i chose the reasonable material with only 95% block out sunlight. if u want higher end (99%), the price will be steeper.

His customer svc is very good too. he made a total of 3 trips for me. 1st trip to discuss and measure. 2nd trip to install all runner tracks and hooks. 3rd trip (after my general washing) fix up all curtains so that wont dirty my floor.

let him know u r referred by owner from Sims Drive. Hopefully he can quote u my price. good luck!

if i am going to do that, i am gg to incur extra costs again. aahhh.....

oh, incl runner tracks and hooks for abt $1100? that is very good pricing leh.... then i will sms him when i get my keys. won't be too late, right?

if i am going to do that, i am gg to incur extra costs again. aahhh.....

oh, incl runner tracks and hooks for abt $1100? that is very good pricing leh.... then i will sms him when i get my keys. won't be too late, right?

ur reno only stats in march. by the time u can fix curtain should be mid or end april bah. still so long! hahaha.. confirm can la. i confirmed with him on the start of thr 7th week of my reno. on the hand-over date (8th week), his guys completed the installation of all curtains le. very fast de. no worries!