mud3210

Basic Things To Know Abt Renovation

my ID charges me $490 for a 5x5 ft false ceiling, sommore not painting my false ceiling for me!! WHY why why!!!! T_T :(
Perhaps the ID is the best person to enlighten on this costing? That said, I take my hat (& some hair) off to you on the amount of research you done. You are easily one of the most hardworking & involved home owners I've seen around in RenoTalk! :thumbs up:

Hi MUD...saw your signature about your platform bed, exclude the mattress? What is the dimension? From your id?

yes it is excluding mattress and everything, the platform bed i bought frm a shop, it was love at first sight but i kinda regretted buying it coz it is too big for my rm :( i dunno hw big it is but i only know i am left with 30cm "pavement" at each side of the bed after i put in. btw, i may wan to sell at original price heee :rolleyes: , but the bed is not yet delivered to my hse., my reno havnt even start yet >_<

Perhaps the ID is the best person to enlighten on this costing? That said, I take my hat (& some hair) off to you on the amount of research you done. You are easily one of the most hardworking & involved home owners I've seen around in RenoTalk! :thumbs up:

i am not hardworking, i am driven-by-poverty hee :P

Edited by mud3210

1) For hacking of walls, ur contractor only need to get u to pay a 1 time payment ,

the contractor will have to go through someone called a PE (professional engineer) to do it for u.

after the PE apply the permit, the contractor only can do the hacking and smoothening of the wall.

wat i know is: NO MATTER HOW MANY WALLS U HACK THE PRICE IS THE SAME.

some hacking of wall no need apply for PE endorsement, only those walls with metal-bars inside will need, is usually for flats in new estates.

Price i know is fr $280 for applying the permit alone.

hacking + smoothening is ard S$250-300. for a door-size wall

I have this following quotation:

To hack living room + 1 bedroom floor tiles - $700

To hack masterbedroom + 1 bedroom for laying laminate - $500

To hack kitchen floor tiles - $350

To hack kitch wall tiles - $550

To hack 2 toilets wall & floor tiles - $900

Supply labour to demolish existing store room & clear include 1 bedroom partition wall & erect 1 new hollow block wall c/w plaster finish - $780

Total damage costs - $3780

The contractor verbally said this is inclusive of cement screed and clearing of debris. (very noob here, do I need to pay for sand & cement separately?)

Any advice how to negotiate for the hacking fees? Or is it considered reasonable for the work done? =O

...Any advice how to negotiate for the hacking fees? Or is it considered reasonable for the work done? =O
I heard frm a few contractors telling hacking is cheap but building up a wall is more ex.

For the clearing of debris, some contractors tell me, the more u hack/the more rubbish they got to clear they will charge u more for removal... BUT i saw somewhere in this forum, u only need pay town council a flat fee of $260 to remove ur debris.

my ID sums up my chemical washing and clearing of debris amount together and it cost $350 (Btw, i only hacking a doorsize wall) it nt very ex to me, so i didnt check with town council. maybe u wan to call ur town council to check and can let us knw the outcome ? :)

Oh, just to highlight to forummers, One of the ID lied to me saying if i hack my whole wall, i will have to pay for them to buy the tiles frm HDB to patch up the side wall tiles and floor tiles, BUT HDB may not have stock liao since i do my reno so late than others.. tell u wat, my UNcle work in HDB says they will keep stock for the tiles for 2 or 3 years! so dun worry they sure will have stock. (i wonder wat is my ID trying to do, maybe tell me HDB no stock liao, then can charge me higher for the tiles uh.. :furious: )

Edited by mud3210

I heard frm a few contractors telling hacking is cheap but building up a wall is more ex.

For the clearing of debris, some contractors tell me, the more u hack/the more rubbish they got to clear they will charge u more for removal... BUT i saw somewhere in this forum, u only need pay town council a flat fee of $260 to remove ur debris.

trying to do, maybe tell me HDB no stock liao, then can charge me higher for the tiles uh.. :furious:my ID sums up my chemical washing and clearing of debris amount together and it cost $350 (Btw, i only hacking a doorsize wall) it nt very ex to me, so i didnt check with town council. maybe u wan to call ur town council to check and can let us knw the outcome ? :)

I just called up my area Town Council, they do not provide haulage removal services. Mine is resale flat at Serangoon, I think only applicable to new HDBs bah. *sad*

[Just to rant, we can't install City Gas also because no gas pipes in our area!] :bangwall:

oh, that was quick, maybe i am too kiasi, but if i were u i will re-write my own quote in simple terms and email it to as many IDs as possible lol

Example:

1) Labour cost for Haulage, loading and unloading works of ALL materials

2) To supply labour for transporting materials to stated address, labour for installation and supply all materials needed for renovation

(just a suggestion :P)

Edited by mud3210

honestly, even if u owners know the cost price of the items does not matter to many ids out there

u are paying for our services to make your life easier and the after service

we dont really care if u know the cost for example false ceiling is $1.8-2.5psqft

i can sell up to 8 dollars

u all can go ahead compare prices, get 10 over quotation just dont cry when the contractor run away before work start, half way thru, 180 degrees turn in attitude and higher end compaines cost from the sub con will be higher than those low end compaines that just started

thats my one cent for u all as an id

the lesser work u do with me the more i mark up

else waste so much time and earn so little

Edited by edmwerID

thats my one cent for u all as an id

the lesser work u do with me the more i mark up

else waste so much time and earn so little

It will not be a surprise if your earnings are of similar amount as your 1 cent remarks. I doubt u get any referral business. Far too many amateurs call themselves id when they are just contractors. Knowing how to design makes not one an id. id is interior decorator not Interior Designer.

Interior designers are persons qualified by training and experience to plan and supervise the design and execution of interiors and their furnishings, and to organise the various arts and crafts essential to their completion. The professional interior designer provides a full consultancy service.A designer is a person, qualified by education, experience and recognised skills, who identifies, researches and creatively solves problems pertaining to the function and quality of the interior environment; and performs services relative to interior spaces including programming, design analysis, space planning, aesthetics, and inspection of work on-site, using specialised knowledge of interior construction, building systems and components, building regulations, equipment, materials and furnishings; and prepares drawings and documents relative to the design of interior space.

Definition of an Interior Decorator

An Interior Decorator can give advice on entire decorative schemes, including furnishing and furniture, but will not enter into building contracts or supervisory contracts.

honestly, even if u owners know the cost price of the items does not matter to many ids out there..

well, ppl with little budget will hav different way of doing things frm ppl who hav too much $ i guess. i do feel very miserable when i realise that we do not have enough budget to do even some basic things that everyone else is having for their hse.. so the very least i can do for my new hse is more research.. in the hope of saving some $..

we all have our own fustrations to deal with but venting it in here is not gg to change the way things work around us, isnt it.. might as well spend our time on other more constructive things.

Edited by mud3210

ROFL NO REFERRAL??!??!?! 1 CENT EARNING?? I CAN ONLY LOL AT YOU

THIS IS SINGAPORE NOT U.S

It will not be a surprise if your earnings are of similar amount as your 1 cent remarks. I doubt u get any referral business. Far too many amateurs call themselves id when they are just contractors. Knowing how to design makes not one an id. id is interior decorator not Interior Designer.

Interior designers are persons qualified by training and experience to plan and supervise the design and execution of interiors and their furnishings, and to organise the various arts and crafts essential to their completion. The professional interior designer provides a full consultancy service.A designer is a person, qualified by education, experience and recognised skills, who identifies, researches and creatively solves problems pertaining to the function and quality of the interior environment; and performs services relative to interior spaces including programming, design analysis, space planning, aesthetics, and inspection of work on-site, using specialised knowledge of interior construction, building systems and components, building regulations, equipment, materials and furnishings; and prepares drawings and documents relative to the design of interior space.

Definition of an Interior Decorator

An Interior Decorator can give advice on entire decorative schemes, including furnishing and furniture, but will not enter into building contracts or supervisory contracts.

Hi all

i just got my flat and would like to share wat i know with ppl who are also doing their renovation at this time.

(PLEASE correct me if i m wrong on the below info :)

1) For hacking of walls, ur contractor only need to get u to pay a 1 time payment ,

the contractor will have to go through someone called a PE (professional engineer) to do it for u.

after the PE apply the permit, the contractor only can do the hacking and smoothening of the wall.

wat i know is: NO MATTER HOW MANY WALLS U HACK THE PRICE IS THE SAME.

some hacking of wall no need apply for PE endorsement, only those walls with metal-bars inside will need, is usually for flats in new estates.

Price i know is fr $280 for applying the permit alone.

hacking + smoothening is ard S$250-300. for a door-size wall

2) Cost for permit to install window / window grills

*more info in the updated post below* Permit is FOC

3) False ceiling price is ard S$2 per sq feet / sq meter ???

L box is ard S$2 per foot run

(im trying to find out more, can someone advise me? thks.)

4) Kitchen cabinets. Per-Foot-run price ranges from S$90.

USUALLY inclusive of free :

a) stainless steel dish rack,

b) fork and spoon tray (matching color with ur cabinets),

c) 2 top cabinet height frosted glass cabinets + 1 frosted glass cabinet for 2 rows stainless steel dish rack

(solid top with backsplash ard $70 per foot run)

5) Casement Shower screen for bathroom costs ard $400

usually casement shower screen cheaper than sliding by S$50-100

my house is a premium flat at buangkok only 90sqm. actually government has done up almost everything, so, no need major reno at all. so i planning to do only the following:

hack 1 kitchen wall (door-size)

kitchen cabinets,

bomb shelter tic-tac door with a mirror

Living room feature stone wall (like bricks kind)

master bedroom wardrobe,

master bedroom false ceiling

master bathroom shower screen

service yard sliding window (no grills)

and some other small stuffs that shouldnt be costing more than $200 each.

our last quote was actually ard S$7K, but becoz that ID firm die-die dun wan to allow me to hack the kitch wall, i decided i should just find a construction company willing to help me do it the way i want.

anybody living near me or budget is close to mine wan to further discuss. pls drop me a message thanks!

for list of Registered renovation contractors pls checks for urs at :

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/bn25/isos118p.nsf/BN...RCHome?openform

dont anyhow sign up with un registered companies and pay deposit with them!!

hope this helps. :yamseng:

Can i have yr quote lawrencejamsine@yahoo.com.sg and which are yr contactors?

Let me share mine just in case some of you may want to do hacking works.

We decided to DIY, and it was not easy for me, and its driving me up the wall :(

1) We engaged someone to help us submit for HDB approval. It costs abt $150.00.

2) HDB does not approve, so we have to get pe to endorse on my layout and a SED0514 form. Costs me $300.00

3) My HDB license person who help me submit did not respond to me. I really went crazy because I had paid him. Called him finally and he cut off my line!

4) I cried when I spoke to HDB and they help me to submit cause I cannot reach that HDB license holder.

5) Finally gave HDB the layout with endorsement and the form, but, we need elevation dwg. endorsed by the PE. (Glad my colleague who knows, and she helps me to draw, otherwise, gonna spend $ again)

6) Finally approved! But. HDB needs the contractor (Who is MISSING) to submit the date for hacking works! And I had already engaged the PE to go to the site (Had to pay $250 for his trip) and the hacker, BUT CANT! Because of that MISSING HDB LICENSE HOLDER WENT MIA :furious:

I am so messed up and stuck now. I really dunno what to do anymore. The whole process has been gng eversince 28 May! :(

1) We engaged someone to help us submit for HDB approval. It costs abt $150.00.

2) HDB does not approve, so we have to get pe to endorse on my layout and a SED0514 form. Costs me $300.00

3) My HDB license person who help me submit did not respond to me.

4) HDB help me to submit cause I cannot reach that HDB license holder.

5) Finally gave HDB the layout with endorsement and the form, but, we need elevation dwg. wat is dwg?? perspective drawing? endorsed by the PE. (Glad my colleague who knows, and she helps me to draw, otherwise, gonna spend $ again)

6) Finally approved! But. HDB needs the contractor (Who is MISSING) to submit the date for hacking works! And I had already engaged the PE to go to the site (Had to pay $250 for his trip) and the hacker, BUT CANT! Because of that MISSING HDB LICENSE HOLDER WENT MIA...

oh dear, that sounds quite complicated, but frm wat i know, we have to engage a HDB lisenced reno contractor to hack hse wall, u can use their PE (usually they will charge $100 comission) or u can get ur own PE. the cheapest PE i found is ard $250 - $380 but depending on ur hse location.

but hw can ur contractor be missing? dont they have a shop where u can look him up? is he not registered with HDB?

oh dear, that sounds quite complicated, but frm wat i know, we have to engage a HDB lisenced reno contractor to hack hse wall, u can use their PE (usually they will charge $100 comission) or u can get ur own PE. the cheapest PE i found is ard $250 - $380 but depending on ur hse location.

but hw can ur contractor be missing? dont they have a shop where u can look him up? is he not registered with HDB?

I am so messed up... sorry for MIAed... My hse totally messed up because I could not find that bloody contractor.

Sorry, dwg is 'drawing' in short.

I engaged a HDB licensed person to help me submit for permit, paying him $150.00. So, after helping me to submit, he totally MIA because mine has to re-submit with the p.e endorsement drawings and layout!

When HDB finally helped me to re-submit, I need that bloody contractor to help me re-submit the date for demolition.. But he was no where to be found. So, HDB called him, and questioned him why he took my money and not submit anything for me, and we had HUGE arguments. Haiz.... (the contractor and me)

Long granny story....

Finally, and finally. he is scared because he is the HDB licensed holder. He finally help me to re-submit the date for demolition when my officer called him and chided him....

His shop? Its always close...... Definitely cannot find him when I go down to his shop....

Really glad that the whole saga is over.....