Find Professionals    Deals    Get Quotations   Portfolios
Sign in to follow this  
Topline

How Do Hotels Do It?

Hi, newbie here needs some guidance...

I noticed in many hotel rooms:

1. The TV, other than playing normal TV channels, can also play radio stations. How do they set that up?

2. The toilet has a speaker (hidden) with volume control, that plays TV audio. How do they set that up? I dun see any amplifier around... I managed to find a speaker recently though after hunting around, it was a single speaker hidden under the vanity counter.

Join 46,923 satisfied homeowners who used renotalk quotation service to find interior designers. Get an estimated quotation

You realised that your hotel room's TV is usually not hooked up with an antenna, and there is no digital box or whatever, how come got cable channels like discovery, animal planet, etc? Hotels usually subscribe for cable services as a whole building, so its all linked to one cable system, which also comes with radio channels. The channels are programmed into the setting of the TV and so you can browse just using the TV remote.

As for the speaker in the toilet, its really not difficult; just buy a TV with a 35mm audio jack and plug in the speaker! You can use any normal computer speakers to do this, no need for amplifier.

Edited by zirhk3355

Hi, newbie here needs some guidance...

I noticed in many hotel rooms:

1. The TV, other than playing normal TV channels, can also play radio stations. How do they set that up?

2. The toilet has a speaker (hidden) with volume control, that plays TV audio. How do they set that up? I dun see any amplifier around... I managed to find a speaker recently though after hunting around, it was a single speaker hidden under the vanity counter.