marvin

Bad Attitude Agents

My agent Glen Ong specialist in Sengakang Punggol area, very lousy one.

First didnt help us to negotiate,

tried to postpone HDB first appointment dates,

and when the deal is complete, no co-operation for the inspection.

In all, very bad experience.

DO NOT Deal with Chester Kay from Global Real Estate!!

He is truly an unethical agent who took our check/offer to purchase a flat he is representing. Takes the cheque and there is no answer from him regarding whether the seller is agreeing to sell or not; he later returns the cheque to us more than a week later. I have no doubt that he took our cheque to try and get another better offer for the flat which I find absolutely unethical and unacceptable.

Anyway, too many other horrible details to list regarding him. Just beware if you happen to chance upon him.

bad agents plenty....

good agents almost extinct.

hope government install new protocols to weed out the bad ones...

usually i find new agents more humble and willing to run extra to close the deal.

old ones just want to hit and run...close easy deals.

usually i find new agents more humble and willing to run extra to close the deal.

old ones just want to hit and run...close easy deals.

This is quite true new Agents typically have no listings...so they'll give 101% effort to your case....but the tradeof is that they are inexperienced...may make mistakes

Old Agents may have many cases on hand...and are very busy...sometimes may overlook certain things...

so theres pros and cons for both...

Edited by Plastic3

The list of people in this world not worth trusting...especially in the Singapore context are as follows :-

i) Grassroot leaders/Govt officials

ii) Insurance agents

iii) Property agents

iv) Your Boss

I have given up hope as far as (i) is concerned. I would have tied insurance and property agents in the no. 2 spot but decided that insurance should be no. 2 since many sell things that they do not understand themselves !

Property agents...they are a bunch of people that make easy money out of innocent people who need a roof over their head. Many have a good education background in engineering, business and social sciences. They take the easy option in life by taking other people's money by producing nothing.

When I saw my DWG agent's photo recently in the ST's big advertisement being the top 50 producers, I asked my wife, what did this guy do for us ? The answer : Nothing much. After paying him $6K for agent fees, I told myself never to pay another person for a simple job that I could do myself. We learn from our mistakes and I advise forumers to follow HDB clear guidelines and sell/buy the flats themselves. Save the money for the renovations.

To the property agents reading this : Go and get yourself a real job !

The list of people in this world not worth trusting...especially in the Singapore context are as follows :-

i) Grassroot leaders/Govt officials

ii) Insurance agents

iii) Property agents

iv) Your Boss

I have given up hope as far as (i) is concerned. I would have tied insurance and property agents in the no. 2 spot but decided that insurance should be no. 2 since many sell things that they do not understand themselves !

Property agents...they are a bunch of people that make easy money out of innocent people who need a roof over their head. Many have a good education background in engineering, business and social sciences. They take the easy option in life by taking other people's money by producing nothing.

When I saw my DWG agent's photo recently in the ST's big advertisement being the top 50 producers, I asked my wife, what did this guy do for us ? The answer : Nothing much. After paying him $6K for agent fees, I told myself never to pay another person for a simple job that I could do myself. We learn from our mistakes and I advise forumers to follow HDB clear guidelines and sell/buy the flats themselves. Save the money for the renovations.

To the property agents reading this : Go and get yourself a real job !

Hi asoon88,

I used to have a "real" job, worked very hard OT almost everyday...I thought my effort and hardwork would be rewarded as my (iv)Boss has acknowledged that I work harder and was more efficient than my colleagues, I asked him if theres a possibility of a promotion or a rise as my job scope had grew to include many duties that my colleagues were not doing because somehow my Boss trusted me more so he preferred that I did them instead of others....after a discussion with his superior he returned and told me there was no quota and there was nothing he could do...

After awhile, I was disillusioned, I couldn't understand why I was doing more but getting less than some of my colleagues just because they were more senior...

I left that company because a smaller one made me a better offer....I was quite happy at my new company because my Boss was a great guy, he really shared alot of his experience and knowledge with me and treated me not only as another member of the staff but also as a friend...till today I am grateful to have gotten to know him...

Unfortunately, the financial crisis affected my company so much that it had to cease operations...even my Boss lost his job...

I joined Real Estate after a friend of mine recommended it, I had never thought of it before...as I don't really have the give of the gab, when I first started I was screwed by alot of older Agents...they were very aggressive and didn't follow the procedures that I was taught during my Real Estate course...some tried to close the case directly with my Seller and Landlord wanting to cut me out of the case entirely...fortunately my clients called me up to tell me..as they knew I had already spend a good amount of time, effort and money to market their property..

It is clients like this that keep me in the business, 1 client who used to be a property agent himself has also decided to let me handle his own flat rental he rather pay me than deal with all the hassle himself...

I agree with many that they can sell their own property, you can sell your own car, used electronic equipment, even your pet...why not sell your own house?

Let me use the example of movers,

If you wanted to move house, you can either move all your furniture yourself or you can engage a professional mover company to handle it, it is your choice...

if you do it yourself you waste your own time, energy and some money (have to think of how to pack different items so they don't get damaged during the transfer)

if you engage someone, you pay them to do a professional job for you while you are free to concentrate on something else..and you're not as emotionally involved

I guess it boils down to each individual's opportunity cost of DIY

for those who have decided to do it DIY, I have consolidated some useful information regarding past valuation/transacted price, rules & regulations that might aid your selling process in my blog, you may email me if you require other information, I'm not a lawyer I do not charge for answering questions :)

I'm sorry to have written my life story of the last few years, I didn't plan to write so much!

Edited by Plastic3

Hi asoon88,

I used to have a "real" job, worked very hard OT almost everyday...I thought my effort and hardwork would be rewarded as my (iv)Boss has acknowledged that I work harder and was more efficient than my colleagues, I asked him if theres a possibility of a promotion or a rise as my job scope had grew to include many duties that my colleagues were not doing because somehow my Boss trusted me more so he preferred that I did them instead of others....after a discussion with his superior he returned and told me there was no quota and there was nothing he could do...

After awhile, I was disillusioned, I couldn't understand why I was doing more but getting less than some of my colleagues just because they were more senior...

I left that company because a smaller one made me a better offer....I was quite happy at my new company because my Boss was a great guy, he really shared alot of his experience and knowledge with me and treated me not only as another member of the staff but also as a friend...till today I am grateful to have gotten to know him...

Unfortunately, the financial crisis affected my company so much that it had to cease operations...even my Boss lost his job...

I joined Real Estate after a friend of mine recommended it, I had never thought of it before...as I don't really have the give of the gab, when I first started I was screwed by alot of older Agents...they were very aggressive and didn't follow the procedures that I was thought during my Real Estate course...some tried to close the case directly with my Seller and Landlord wanting to cut me out of the case entirely...fortunately my clients called me up to tell me..as they knew I had already spend a good amount of time, effort and money to market their property..

It is clients like this that keep me in the business, 1 client who used to be a property agent himself has also decided to let me handle his own flat rental because he doesn't want to deal with all the hassle himself...

I agree with many that they can sell their own property, you can sell your own car, used electronic equipment, even your pet...why not sell your own house?

Let me use the example of movers,

If you wanted to move house, you can either move all your furniture yourself or you can engage a professional mover company to handle it, it is your choice...

if you do it yourself you waste your own time, energy and some money

if you engage someone, you pay them to do for you while you are free to concentrate on something else..

I guess it boils down to each individual's opportunity cost of DIY

I'm sorry to have written my life story of the last few years, I didn't plan to write so much!

Hi Plastic3,

Thanks for sharing !

I attended a real estate course myself 10 years ago. I paid the course fee to the agency but turn down their offer to refund me the money since I did not join them as an agent. I told the CEO that the amount should help defray the cost of refreshments and materials supplied. People tell me that I can do property but I turn them down. What irked me was the way some 'lies' had to be told in the selling process inorder to sell houses and close deals ! This was a big No-No for me because we are talking about collecting a 2% commission from day-day folks. Lying = 2%. Don't lie , no 2%.

Probably that was why almost all agents who bumped into me last year (when I sold my house and bought another) had a hard time dealing with me because I know my stuff.

I am not against anyone being an agent of some organisation. What I want to impress upon real estate agents is that the 1% ~ 2% they get is easy money. The time spent on the job, transport and associated costs does not even hit 10% of the 1% commission in many instances. This is unlike the example of a mover. People need movers because no one will buy a lorry to move house and later sell off the lorry. Being a mover requires manpower and that equals money. However, how much do we pay movers for the strenuous 2 ~ 4 hour job ? Probably 20% of the 1% commission paid to a real estate agent. See the difference in work done vs money paid ?

I would say real estate agents are worth their buck if they charge like what lawyers or doctors charge. Time base or symptom base consultancy /treatment fee. That way, it is more equitable. Only sincere, honest agents will remain offering tip-top service in industry.

By the way, I don't have a cushy job. My income is irregular because the company's cashflow is not good. However, my colleagues and I are cracking our heads every day to find new prospects local and overseas. We make computer systems for hospitality industry which are entirely designed and manufactured by ourselves.

Edited by asoon88

Hi Plastic3,

Thanks for sharing !

I attended a real estate course myself 10 years ago. I paid the course fee to the agency but turn down their offer to refund me the money since I did not join them as an agent. I told the CEO that the amount should help defray the cost of refreshments and materials supplied. People tell me that I can do property but I turn them down. What irked me was the way some 'lies' had to be told in the selling process inorder to sell houses and close deals ! This was a big No-No for me because we are talking about collecting a 2% commission from day-day folks. Lying = 2%. Don't lie , no 2%.

Probably that was why almost all agents who bumped into me last year (when I sold my house and bought another) had a hard time dealing with me because I know my stuff.

I am not against anyone being an agent of some organisation. What I want to impress upon real estate agents is that the 1% ~ 2% they get is easy money. The time spent on the job, transport and associated costs does not even hit 10% of the 1% commission in many instances. This is unlike the example of a mover. People need movers because no one will buy a lorry to move house and later sell off the lorry. Being a mover requires manpower and that equals money. However, how much do we pay movers for the strenuous 2 ~ 4 hour job ? Probably 20% of the 1% commission paid to a real estate agent. See the difference in work done vs money paid ?

I would say real estate agents are worth their buck if they charge like what lawyers or doctors charge. Time base or symptom base consultancy /treatment fee. That way, it is more equitable. Only sincere, honest agents will remain offering tip-top service in industry.

By the way, I don't have a cushy job. My income is irregular because the company's cashflow is not good. However, my colleagues and I are cracking our heads every day to find new prospects local and overseas. We make computer systems for hospitality industry which are entirely designed and manufactured by ourselves.

Hi asoon88,

Yes my example not very suitable....that was off the top of my head...hehe

I guess what i'm trying to say is that most people engage Real Estate Agents because of their professional knowledge, experience & excess to information/network, most people can gain some of that knowledge themselves by learning and reading up...with the advancement of technology alot of information is readily available online (to a certain extend)

Unfortunately, some Agents armed with the knowledge that they have, choose to cheat/lie to their clients for their own benefit as many of you here have encountered...I have faced some clients who see me as a liar even before they get to know me just because I am an Agent, I have come to accept that as part of my job because clients do that due to their past experience with other Agents...it is nothing personal...

Thanks for sharing your point of view, I have learn alot regarding the public's view of Agents since joining this forum...

I actually joined just to learn more about the latest design & renovation trends...I don't know that much about design, sometimes clients ask my opinion on how to redo the new home they bought and I got nothing to say abit pai seh... :P

I wish you all the best with your company, working on a project of your own is never easy!

Edited by Plastic3

Hi Plastic3,

Thanks for sharing !

It is not easy to be a real estate agent too. You can negotiate comm with them directly if you decide to use them. If you decide not to use them, you can turn them down. They are also fellow people like us, trying to make a living.

Yup, my mentor had cases before...where she had verbal agreement with clients (who she personally knew) to sell their home in return 1% commission but after the deal they refused to pay, as it wasn't in black & white even if she went to small claims tribunal also may not win...in the end she worked for free....

Also cases where Agents have their mobilephones stolen by "clients"...haiz the things people do...

Yes, Agents can get cheated too!

Edited by Plastic3

Yup, my mentor had cases before...where she had verbal agreement with clients (who she personally knew) to sell their home in return 1% commission but after the deal they refused to pay, as it wasn't in black & white even if she went to small claims tribunal also may not win...in the end she worked for free....

Also cases where Agents have their mobilephones stolen by "clients"...haiz the things people do...

Yes, Agents can get cheated too!

There are good owners and bad owners just like there are good agents and bad agents. After all, agents and owners come from the same human pool. I don't think that there is such thing as eg. agents are bad, doctors are good. In general, the good and bad part are in the character of the person, not the profession he is in.

Some people think that it is easy money to be agent. While it is true to some extend, I also know of many agents who struggle to make a living. Imagine not closing any deal for 3 months and have to support family? Nothing is easy.

ok lah, there are good agents and bad agents....

i was unlucky to kanna a bad one.... worst still, his company don't respond to my queries and simply just bill me for commission... sent email to saea also no use, the replies were all neutral and political... haiz... what's singapore coming to in housing agents governance... and it had been so many years that somebody said that something would be done...

easy money for agents.. zero protection for buyers/sellers

i wonder when this would catch up with the insurance industries where there are proper goverance and dispute resolution agencies offering proper advice and help for free at the basic levels...

and it had been so many years that somebody said that something would be done...

Last time they say say only...now very likely will happen soon, perhaps in the next few months...

Edited by Plastic3